Explorer of the Seas

Explorer of the Seas Reviews

View Cruise Deals
3.8
Based on 95 reviews
Cabin
3.8
Service
3.8
Excursions
3.7
Dining
3.8
Activities
3.8
Value for money
3.8
Entertainment
3.8

I was extremely disappointed with RC it's been some years since I last cruised with them and I won't be again. Good job I knew I could change the tipping situation 14 and a half dollars on every order a complete RIP off. I ordered a tonic water 3 dollars that would have cost 17 and a half dollars had I have been naive. The dress code has gone out the window out of ten nights formal was suggested 3 times and people were allowed into dinner anyway they liked even in shorts spoiling the sense of occasion for those that made an effort. Wouldn't have been allowed at one time . RC definitely a no no in future

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Jun 2019

Usual friendly,helpful crew.My wife has a nut allergy and RCCL were very attentive at all meal times.Ice-Skating was excellent as usual.Not too keen on own production shows,some of the smaller venues excellent entertainment.Take That tribute band were very good.

Verified customer
1 cruise
31 May 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our Cruise to the Canary Isles, Madeira & Vigo. Lots of sea days but things to do on board. The food was excellent in main dining room but could have been better in the Windjammer . Staff in all departments were wonderful and couldn't do enough to keep you happy. Ports of call were okay only if you did an excursion. Interior of Ship was good but the bars were very small which made getting a seat for quizzes and entertainment difficult. Theatre was great and casino quite big.. overall a good experience

Verified customer
1 cruise
31 May 2019

Just had a 10 day cruise to the Canaries. A lovely ship with the Royal Promenade being a wow feature with shops, pubs and café. Food and entertainment was excellent. Medical care was great too. My only negative comment was that they do not do lectures from people of interest.

Verified customer
1 cruise
26 May 2019

Overall this was an excellent cruise from Dubai to Barcelona. There were naturally a few little things but we would highly recommend this cruise. Iglu did an excellent job with the organisation and we would also recommend Cruising Excursions for onshore activities. The ship itself probably needs further upgrading but the staff were excellent. The food on board was of high quality overall with a number of different restaurants to choose from. One very niggly thing was the way that RCI staff constantly tried to 'Upsell' the speciality restaurants from the moment we got on board. This is the last thing you also want when taking breakfast in the Windjammer. The entertainment in the afternoon and evening was generally of a high standard and there was good variety to satisfy all or most of the guests. One suggestion is to look carefully at whether a 'Drinks Package' is the best value. Drinks are expensive on board but understand that you have to consume a lot of alcohol to make this option good value. So to summarise, being our first cruise for 40 years, based on the experience we had we plan to take at least 1 cruise per year. We may try different cruise lines as we are given to understand that the Explorer of the Seas was less sophisticated than others but book through Iglu if we can fin the right cruise. The one we really wanted for September 2020 is already sold out.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2019

First time on RC and liked the ship very much. The staff were all lovely and the food was very good. Did not take to the cruise director and some shows were a little same same. Overall we had a lovely holiday apart from getting bronchitis which seemed to be all over the ship towards the end of our stay.

Verified customer
1 cruise
14 May 2019

Already booked. What should be done next.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Apr 2019

Excellent clean ship run by a very professional crew. Food and entertainment first class. The only let down was the Casino in which smoking was allowed and deemed a smoking area. Hence all the smokers used the casino to smoke and not gamble. With the casino being a main route through the ship it had to be walked through and hence one exited smelling of stale smoke. This let down an otherwise excellent ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Sep 2018

You had a review from a Shelley Larkin about this ship, it is evident from what she has said that she has either never been on the ship or that she is telling gross lies. if she knew what was on each deck she wouldn't have made the comment about deck 5, also what on earth is she on about 4 buffets. AS I said I don't think she's even been on this ship.

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Sep 2018

Responding to an IGLU on solo cruise experience. Oct 2016 did the 24 day Pacific repositioning. Have been on many other lines with their one meet and greet, or a couple of lunches or the morning tea!! But had the best ever recently on Explorer of the Seas.Every sea day solo travellers could lunch at 4-5large tables by the windows of the main dining room. I don't know if this is usual on Royal or thanks to the initiative of a staffer DaveMac facing an unusually long voyage. As an older solo traveller on a larger ship, I found it very pleasant

Verified customer
1 cruise
12 Nov 2016