02038483604
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Closed

Columbus Reviews

A great range of Columbus reviews written by our customers. To write your own Columbus review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 22 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (9)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (8)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (2)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (1)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Columbus Reviews

123>
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 01 Jan 2018
Summary:  Returned to Tilbury on the 14 Dec from a 46 night cruise. I am a solo traveller. The cabin was very large with loads of space for clothing. The ship is beautifully clean and the staff are lovely and helpful. The food is good. You won't go hungry.. I have been on several cruises but found this one excellent value for money and would definitely use Cruise and Maritime again if they keep their single passenger prices reasonable. Overall I was delighted..
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 Dec 2017
Summary:  This was our second cruise. We went on a cruise to Canaries and Madeira. The ships crew, service and its cleanliness was amazing. In common with some other passengers we did not get our booked dining time, even though we booked 11 months previously. We were told on board that the ship is just given the passenger information by head office. Head office told us "There is a 'mutual understanding that this (dining) is not done on a guarantee basis". We find this appalling when relatively easy computer programmes can be designed to guarantee desired siting. If you are infirm then check VERY carefully gangways that the ship may use (whether its the decision of the ship or the ports). We went to Lisbon where a ramp was use with many steps. At all other ports the gangway was obstruction free. In addition the port at Lisbon is being modernised with low cost labour laying cobbles which as not bedded in correctly. This is NOT CMV's issue. But, take note for the future ! The food was generally far better that what we experienced on the Oriana (P&O), but beware of tasteless/textureless sausages, crab salad with NO crab (it's 30-40% white fish with added crustaceans). We will definitely consider Cruise and Maritime again, but will do more homework before booking
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Nov 2017
Summary:  I returned from my 3rd cruise on Columbus this year, at the end of October, I am a solo passenger, and was given 5 star treatment from ALL staff. It was my birthday whilst on the ship and of course along came the cake in he restaurant along with the waiters singing happy birthday. As if that was not enough after my meal as always I visited Taveners bar where the waiters naming a few Yuliya, Ellina, Olesya and Ther had organised the singer and everybody else to sing happy birthday to me, what a moment will never forget it. I then again as always went to the Dome night club at about 10.30pm, just as I sat down Arasee the young lady waitress walked up to me and wished me happy birthday and brought me my usual drink, it did not end there she then brought to my table the biggest birthday cake I have seen and once again the singers sang happy birthday to me. I am told this was Arasee's first cruise and for a young lady to go to the trouble and organise such a thing for me was truly remarkable she provided plates and even cut the cake and shared with other passengers and bar staff for me, other passengers commented at what a lovely surprise given by this young lady this is what makes C&M SPECIAL and I will never forget and truly hope to see her on my next C&M Cruise. All staff were brilliant but the ones I have mentioned make me want to come back and back and back. THANK YOU
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 01 Nov 2017
Summary:  Mu mum and I returned from a 12 night cruise on the 14th October, it was my first cruise, and it was truly fantastic! The quality of food in the cafeteria was superb, but the restaurant was 5* in my opinion. The waiters and the service staff made it even more special. The entertainment in the evening was outstanding, the singers, dancers, Violinist, everything was what you might expect in a London show. I never dreamt I would see this quality of entertainment on a cruise ship!The staff throughout the ship were excellent, the cabins superb. There is only one criticism, not enough time in some on the ports of call, but I guess you book a cruise for the ship experience first and foremost? This trip will stay with me forever, I am 47 and was one of the youngest on this ship! Although most passengers were quite a lot older, I will always remember the how friendly everyone was,my mum and I met some wonderful people with some fantastic stories to tell! I hope to go on another cruise sometime in the future, but this one will take some beating.
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 14 Oct 2017
Summary:  We have returned today from our cruise on columbus.It was fabulous. Staff could not do enough for you. Cabin lovely and clean. The evening shows were overall excellent. One or two not our cup of tea but still very good. The entertainment cast and band put everything into it and appeared to enjoy it all. What energy they have. Small gripe the tannoy announcers did not speak very good English and you couldn't understand a word.
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 Sep 2017
Summary:  We had a delayed start of 6 hours owing to storm Aileen, which meant that we were unable to call at Copenhagen. This ship has been recently refurnished and has less passengers than the larger cruise ships. The food is very good in both the main restaurant and buffet and all bars and other areas are clean and fresh. In addition there is an outside alfresco grill serving burgers, salads and fries and drinks were normal UK pub and restaurant prices. Please note there are no tea making facilities in the rooms on deck 8 and below. The best outside area was the "Club Oasis" with hot tubs on level 8 at the rear of the ship. There are not many guests artistes however the resident band, singers and dances keep you entertained. This cruise line does not appear to dock in the best places for instance it called at Nynäshamn for Stockholm and not Stockholm itself therefore there was little time to get to the Capital and back and include sightseeing. Overall the cruise was good value for money being nearly half the cost of some other cruise lines.
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 14 Sep 2017
Summary:  Arrived at Tilbury on time and got direct access to the ship. Cabin was on 9th floor and had been sold as partly obstructed , but was higher than the lifeboats and gave good vision. Cabin was large with a dedicated wardrobe and lots of hangers and the cabin was filled with drawers of all sizes. Ship was very good, had a good layout with a lot of seating areas both inside and outside. Palladium Theatre was slightly too small for the number of passengers and we noticed that many passengers went into theatre as first show finished to get a decent seat. Upper level was not good. Production numbers 7 out of 9 nights and was very good. Unfortunately on second night 1st sitting guests ( some elderly with sticks etc) were left standing outside restaurant for 30 minutes and eventually moved into take their seats. No staff around, no-one in the restaurant foyer explaining what the delay was caused by and eventually after 45 minutes staff appeared and evening meal was started. At no time during or after the meal, nor for the rest of the cruise did anyone explain or apologise for the delay apart from a tannoy whist dinner was actually being served, but this was not transmitted into the restaurant. We were on a table of 6 and whilst our waiters were charming and smiling the service was not good. On several occasions the food served was not what had been ordered, and on others four people were served but the other two meals did not arrive for quite some time. The waiters only spoke a very little bit of English and you could not talk with them..they definitely need some further training. Apart from the matters that I have referred to the ship was very good. Lively entertainment in the various bars. We only had one day at sea and entertainment team arranged various lectures and activities, and because of a 8 hour late late arrival back to Tilbury because of storms they also arranged various activities to keep everybody amused. Disembarkation was simple...you can have Express Disembarkation where you take your own bags off the ship, and the normal procedures were in place for all others. Because of the delay in arrival most people were getting frustrated by this time ..but in essence all really smooth. I would not hesitate to recommend cruising on Columbus - but would ask the management team to work on general communication and have officers around the ship to talk with passengers
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Aug 2017
Summary:  Our group of 8 people in total has sailed on 4 August to Norway. I would like to say that we absolutely loved everything. This is my first experience cruising and I cannot compare, but my opinion is that the service was superb, our cabin steward was most helpful, polite and pleasure to talk. Waiters in restaurants were brilliant, so polite and smiley, working so fast as well. Entertainment was brilliant, every night was a different excellent show. It was incredibly sad to say good bye at the end of our journey. I would definitely recommend Columbus and would be happy to sail again on her. Thanks to all the staff on that ship!!!
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 07 Aug 2017
Summary:  Welcomed from the moment we arrived at Tilbury and this continued for the whole trip as the staff could not do enough for us. Excellent Junior Suite, so spacious and lovely balcony where we could relax to and read or have early evening drinks and free canopies supplied every evening. Restaurants were excellent, but it is best to pick off peak times in the buffet as it does get busy with it's excellent choice on offer. The ship is a delight to be on with spacious common areas and well organised staff. Thank you Columbus and CMV for an excellent cruise.
Ship: Columbus
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 06 Aug 2017
Summary:  Just returned from the Baltics and have had a wonderful time on Columbus. Dining. In the Waterfront waiter service restaurant the food was amazing. Lots of choice and served promptly. The self service restaurant on deck 12 can get very busy and it is quite difficult to find a table. The food here is great with lots of choice. Cabin. I had a single inside cabin on deck 10 which was huge! Two single beds and a separate area to hang clothes, lots of hangers too. A good sized bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. My cabin steward was excellent. Entertainment . First class shows which were probably the best I've seen on a ship. Several entertainment venues offering different types of music...something for everyone. The only let down was the guest comedian. Quizzes , crazy mini golf, and other participation games held every day. I will definitely be sailing on this ship again!
123>

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Magellan Vasco da Gama
Astoria Marco Polo

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Price Match Guarantee
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say


"I think your company is exceptionally good at looking after the interest of passengers both before and after their holidays and your help has been very much appreciated. I have sung your praises to my friends and I hope this will lead to many more bookings for you including more from me."

Ethel
(March 2018)

"I just want to thank you for making the changes to our upcoming cruise. You have enabled us to achieve exactly what we wanted."

Michael
(January 2018)


Read more feedback