Celebrity Eclipse
star star star star half star

Celebrity Eclipse Reviews

View Cruise Deals
4.4
star star star star half star
Based on 103 reviews
Cabin
4.4
Service
4.4
Excursions
4.4
Dining
4.4
Activities
4.4
Value for money
4.4
Entertainment
4.4
star star star star star

This was our first time on a Celebrity ship having been on three other cruises with another cruise company. This time we were on a cruise of the Baltic. We were very impressed with the ship and it's modern decor, We were also blown away by the quality of the entertainment which was varied and featured several singers who had performed in top-rate West End Shows such as Les Miserables. The Cruise Director had obviously worked very hard to secure such first class acts and she was highly talented in her own right. The quality of the food at the evening dinners was very good and was quite varied. Our cruise deal included a Classic Drinks Package and this was excellent, providing us with unlimited drinks without having to worry about the cost. This included excellent coffee and cakes in a very good coffee bar (and, boy, did those guys know how to make brilliant coffee). The staff on the ship, from our stateroom attendant to the more senior staff, couldn't do enough for us. Our stateroom and balcony were spacious with a very well laid-out shower room which was always kept well stocked, by our attendant, with toiletries such as shower gel, shampoo etc. The only criticism of the stateroom was that the storage space for clothes was rather limited compared to our other cruise experiences and some of it was not so easy to access as it was above the bed. In general, the cruise represented good value for money except for the optional shore excursions which were very expensive and seemed much more so than our previous cruise experiences. Because we didn't take that many shore excursions we would still rate this ship as Excellent and better than the previous cruise ships we have travelled on. We would certainly travel with Celebrity again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
5 Jul 2017
star star no star no star no star

Oh dear. Whilst this ship is undoubtedly very well appointed, with good size cabins (and surprisingly big bathrooms), the customer service and food standards were variable to say the least. This is our fourth cruise, and having travelled before with Cunard, Holland America and MSC, our worst experience by a country mile. We travelled on a Baltic Cruise from Southampton at the end of May this year. On day two, having had an almost sleepless night due to the awful thumping above us (it was a cabin not the engine) in our balcony cabin on deck 8, I went to 'Guest Relations' and was told to 'let them know if it happened again'. Feeling thoroughly fobbed off by this appalling and unsympathetic response, I (in tears) made my complaint again in writing. The response was to explain that it was pointless to move us as we would undoubtedly experience the same problem elsewhere!!! I suggested if that were the case then the room soundproofing was a universal problem but that was dismissed out of hand. Although we received apologies eventually, the problem was not resolved, and I experienced noise and vibration (from the next room) for the duration of the cruise. We received 'compensation' in the form of future cruise vouchers, but as we are unlikely to travel again with Celebrity this was woefully inadequate. Other problems? Well the Guest Relations department needs an overhaul as their customer service and attitude was poor. The ability to cook fish in the Moonlight Sonata and the Tuscan Grille was debatable, with 'dry' being the order of the day, although we experienced very good quality food in both the Murano and Qsine restaurants, and also found ourselves preferring the fight for tables in the cafe, where at least the food on the whole was absolutely excellent, fresh and cooked to order! Last of the main gripes was the constant 'hard sell' of drinks package upgrades; speciality restaurant 'deals' and other offers. It had the feel of a north African Souk at times, and the constant need to either ignore the approach or just say 'no' was extremely wearing. We had never experienced this before, and were really surprised. Having already paid a substantial amount for the cruise (it really wasn't cheap and was meant to be a holiday of a lifetime for us), to have this hard sell made us feel uncomfortable and definitely marred our enjoyment. Without the noise problem in the room, we might have been more forgiving of the other problems, as in general, the staff were lovely (as they usually are on a cruise), our cabin steward excellent, and the ship itself really beautiful with an amazing atrium the full height of the ship. Unfortunately, one bad experience leads to other criticisms, and the way our complaint was managed, along with inconsistency of the general quality and service throughout the ship, especially in the light of our other cruise experiences is the reason why Celebrity for us, will not be our choice of future cruise.

Verified customer
1 cruise
29 Jun 2017
star star star star star

We have had three cruises on this ship, we have always found it to be the best ship we have been on, and always look to see if a new cruise is what we want. Staff always good and we rate it 6.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Jan 2017
star star star star no star

We had a cruise on this ship in oct/nov across the pond and ended up in Miami the cruise and points of call Boston, New York, Bermuda, Bahamas were all great the problem came when we reached Miami to pick up the car we had booked, we had booked extra days in Orlando to visit friends when we eventually reached the Alamo Rental pick point ( at the airport ) we found out the car that we had booked wasn't available so we had to choose the next best to accommodate all our luggage ( 8 Cases ) after what seemed a lifetime at the Alamo desk we where given a big enough car for all our needs, the only problem was that we had to pay for the upgrade that turned out to cost another $600 we where left with little choice but to except. After our return I e/mailed iglu to question why we had been charged the additional as we had already paid for 2 cars in the package and promised a big enough car at the time of booking so paying the extra meant that we had in effect paid for 3 vehicles. We are absolutely delighted with the response from Customer Care at Iglu who understood the problem and within days refunded the additional cost I would recommend to all who do something similar challenge the car hire people before signing on the doted line as it could be costly and consult the care team who relay do CARE.

Verified customer
1 cruise
22 Dec 2016
star star star star star

As my birthday is 4th July, US Independance Day, I wonder if I would ever reach that country. The prospect of long distance air travel to the US had troubled me as I had imagined short seat pitches. The IGLU website presented the prospect of a Transatlantic cruise to Boston, New York, Bermuda and Bahamas, plus two extra days in Miami thrown in. The initial personal contact with London was reasurring. Subsequent questions were readily answered by the team. My seat pitch worry, and a few others concerning the various connections involved, were made so much easier by the care given by IGLU. Confirmations and Information came in due course and etickets about a fortnight before the start date. The cruise was fine. With pre-paid vouchers, transport in Miami between ship and hotel and then hotel to airport were easily confirmed by phone. The United Airlines connecting flights home were actually very comfortable. I would have no hesitation in booking with IGLU again. 10 out of 10.

Verified customer
1 cruise
18 Dec 2016
star star star no star no star

Just come back from Russia and Scandanavia on the celebrity eclipse, this was our second time on this ship and although the ship it's self is lovely and clean and the staff very polite and helpful, we were very disappointed, we found that the food was very same, same every day and night, not must change and very very dissappointed with the entertainment it was not to our taste. On previous cruise lines the ships company (singers and dancers) came on, in the theartre a lot more and there was much more variety, But our main concern was kids running up and down the decks all hours of the night banging on the cabin doors. One night I looked at the clock it was 2.05am. I ask my self where were the parents? Also the ship had a problem with oil, or diesel coming out of the funnel, so if you sat on the lawn deck you got covered with oil all over your clothes.

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Aug 2016
star star star no star no star

On board at present and dozens if not hundreds of passengers hit by norovirus. Mananagement say that staff are not affected but staff indicate otherwise. Massive steps being taken to control outbreak but we missed our 2 day excursion in St Petersburg. Since Celebrity seem to be at the top of the league for these infections we are unlikely to sail with them again

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Jun 2016
star star star star star

This was our second time on Eclipse after our Canaries cruise in Sept 14 which we thoroughly enjoyed. We wanted to be away on holiday at Christmas and therefore chose the 9 night southern Caribbean cruise plus we chose to spend 3 nights prior and after the cruise in Miami itself. The ship was as impressive as ever and boarding at Port of Miami was quick and painless. We soon settled down to lunch after boarding and not long after found that our suitcases were already outside our cabin. We watched the ship slide silently out of the port surrounded by the dusky lights of Miami backdrop and into the sea off Miami beach. Our balcony cabin on deck 9 was excellent and our stewards were attentive and pleasant. We previously had had a consierge cabin on deck 10, but didn't feel it warranted the extra money this cruise. Food at all meal times was excellent and the choices of cuisine were enormous even for anyone's taste. In the evenings we like to sit at a table for 6 in Moonlight Sonata and converse with other guests and nationalties at 8.30pm dining. All of the waiters and staff in here we're welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them at all. The only moan that I have really is the fact that Celebrity have chosen to drop formal nights in favour of Evening Chic and this meant a certain dressing down of attire for some cruisers. We did spot a few baseball caps and shorts and complained to our MaitreD and he assured us that checks were made on dress code as people entered the restaurant. Theatre entertainment was very good and the ariel perfomers were stunning. The group music in bars etc., we found to be a bit poor, girl singers were quite weak in voice which was disappointing. The excursions we tried were really good value for money and we loved the glass bottomed boat tour on Bonnaire as the guide was informative and interesting. ABC islands are definately worth a visit and the weather during all of our cruise was superb. So all in all another fantastic cruise with Celebrity and hopefully we will be looking out for our next cruise shortly.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Mar 2016
star star star star star

Southern Caribbean 16th November 2015 Cabin 9236 -  Speedy terminal check in and quick delivery of luggage to stateroom We found the crew to be fantastic. Food and entertainment were very good. Only cricicism wifi and laundry services way to expensive.

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Dec 2015
star star star star star

13 nt canaries cruise sept 2015.ship was great.spotlessly clean.staff very attentive and friendly.food fabulous.glass shows excellent. good value for money.would cruise with them again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
24 Oct 2015