Caribbean Princess

Caribbean Princess Reviews

View Cruise Deals
3.9
Based on 33 reviews
Cabin
3.9
Service
3.9
Excursions
3.8
Dining
3.9
Activities
3.9
Value for money
3.9
Entertainment
3.9

Very poor choice in buffet , ship clean , and staff friendly . Would not use again and we have done over 40 cruises and this was the worst on food , also sanitising hand was not monitord , neither were sanitise station or staff present at the entrance to restaurants .

Verified customer
1 cruise
2 Jun 2015

The Caribbean Princess is an average ship with all the facilities you would find on an american ship this size. The majority of the passengers were of a mature age and mainly British. The Ports were a good choice but the first 3 days at sea were a bit tedious. The buffet restaurants were okay and served good variety of food. Unfortunately, the restaurant dining did not cater much for vegetarians. I felt that the waiter service at the buffet restaurants was kept to a minimum compared to their other ship Ruby. The entertainment was excellent and the production team for the shows were fantastic. The movies were of excellent choice. All in all, I enjoyed the cruise on board this ship but felt that the first 3 days at sea could have be broken with another stop.

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Jun 2015

A wonderful cruise. The staff on board made this cruise. The Cruise Director, Corey was the best Cruise Director we have ever had. He hosted entertainment and went round the ship talking to passengers every day. The entertainment was very good, varied and lots of it. Some nights you were spoiled for choice for where you wanted to go. Can't wait to sail with princess again.

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Jun 2015

I thought the excellent points were, everything from parking at Southampton, the service on board, the smoothness of the intinery, food was probably the best of our 5 cruises. Disappointed by the cruise director and his assistant, i enjoyed some of the shows , 2 of the 3 comics were great, Austin Knight on the other hand had older jokes than Charlie Chaplin! A Denmark trio of singers, that didn't sing in English wasn't a good idea, The tribute beatles were great,Tommy Mcphee was an excellent choice on the piano, but I was never able to sit and relax to watch him, as he was put on in the smallest area, whilst I enjoyed everything about our holiday, i personally book my cruises on its entertainment package, and I found P&O far more superior.

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Jun 2015

The ship is fantastic, and in good decorative order. Most of the staff on board are very attentive to your needs with a good service on deck during the daytime. And now for the bad stuff ! Boarding the ship took 4 hours, this is the longest time that we have ever waited on any cruise line , and the safety drill was 2hours overdue meaning that me and my wife had to deal with a very upset 1 year old baby waiting for them to get started ( this was very stressful and a very bad start to our holiday) Most of the public Toilets were unusable during our cruise , and a new shower on deck was being installed during our cruise (this took 4 days of angle grinding/drilling and welding) around the Neptune pool and bar area, and made relaxing very difficult!  The buffet restaurant at breakfast and lunchtime had people sitting reading books and drinking coffee so no spare tables to sit and eat food. Movies under the stars is a great idea if you can stop people that don't want to watch the films from stealing all the comfy loungers for sunbathing (we missed all the films due to selfish people hogging the area. The booze onboard is the most expensive that I have ever seen ! @ 9 dollars a pint £6 pounds roughly .... They also add a gratuity of 15% to this for the service , plus they add £11.50 per day per person for Gratuity ( way overcharging for the service) a rip off if you ask me (and once again the most expensive sevice that I have ever seen. The food onboard is very good albeit very limited and very same same, the burgers by the pool are good but you must check that they are cooked through, as me my wife and my son all had a few very raw undercooked ones given to us. Please also be aware that if you are a night owl and use the nightclub , you will be unable to get food after in the so called 24hour international cafe as it is not 24hours for food as suggested in the brochure, when I complained about this they said that's the way it is and call room service if I wanted food, a very poor answer if you have young children that you don't want to wake with someone banging on the door at 2 am , and a misleading advert that the cafe is 24 hours. Take Dollars or Euros with you to save money as the machines onboard that change the money charge an extra £4.50 per 200 to change ( another stealth charge from princess cruises. Check all receipts that you are given as me and my wife were overcharged for items that we purchased , sometimes by up too 30dollars ! The ship photos are very good but very costly WE paid £200 for 6 photos (they offer no photo packages like all the other cruise lines do) The cruise card loyalty scheme is a joke! We recieved nothing for having a ruby card (with p&o cruises we would have received a discount on the final bill but with princess we were offered a discount on the cruise video) In short We have cruised extensively with p&o / ncl / and royal Caribbean and will never cruise with princess again as they fall far short of the standard that is expected with this kind of holiday for the price that you pay.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 May 2015

Whole ship a tad dowdy and down market worn or cheap fittings. No tea or coffee making facilities in rooms. Worn holy bedding on beds. Worn mattresses. No changing facilities at any of their pools.Very lacklustre entertainment in theatre more akin to club circuits. Poor veggie choice on their daily dinner menu. Skylanders facility no drinks until after 4pm every day. And lastly who are they kidding trying to add such massive tips to everyone's daily bills. I noticed many English people in queue ahead of me to have it taken off the bill. We pay tips only for good service to us at an amount that we decide is correct

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 May 2015

Great itinary, the weather couldn't have been better. We thought the shows in the theatre were short, just got settled when the show ended. Difficult to find seating in some of the bars. We had inside stateroom on Baha deck and was quite spacious, plenty big enough for two. Would have been nice to have coffee/tea making facility in the stateroom. The waitors were very attentive in the Coral restaurant. Had to regularly check the bill, as mistakes were made, but soon rectified. My husband had a drinks package, he drinks Lager top, it was difficult to explain how it is made and on occasion was charged for the lemonade, as they treated it as separate drink. All in all a good cruise. Worthing.

Verified customer
1 cruise
25 May 2015

29th June, RoundBritain and Ireland. This was our second trip on this lovely ship as we had been in New England last October. It took an inordinate time to check us in, the best part of two hours plus! A long time to stand when we had been travelling from 4 o'clock in the morning. Many of the Americans on the tour had just come off transatlantic flights and were also very weary. This is something Princess must address. We tried anytime dining for the first time and I must say enjoyed meeting different people each evening. The food was its usual high standard although my sister, being a vegetarian, got the short straw. Four nights in a row all she could eat was the signature dish of pasta with cream sauce.(Nice though it was, who wants this four nights in a row when your sister is enjoying five star dining?). We didn't take the tours as they were exorbitantly priced but were able to make our way to most places using public transport and taxis e.g. In Greenock the ship asked for $75 to go to Glasgow. We got a bus right outside the dock for less than $ 10 return. Edinburgh was $169, this same bus did it for $20.

Verified customer
1 cruise
1 Aug 2013

Wonderful ship, good for kids aged 10 and up.

Verified customer
1 cruise
8 Mar 2013

We sailed on the Caribbean Princess and we were pleased that we had booked a balcony room. The room was pretty big for us and was enough for two persons. The service of our cabin steward was excellent. The traditional dining and anytime dining were both very nice. The food was always very good with seafood available for the whole week. We were also happy with the number of swimming pools and hot tubs available and felt good that the pools had fresh water in them instead of salt water. The evening entertainment in the theatre was very good, especially the comedians.

Verified customer
1 cruise
19 Nov 2011