02038483600
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3600
We're Closed

Thomson Spirit Reviews

A great range of Thomson Spirit reviews written by our customers. To write your own Thomson Spirit review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 35 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (18)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (10)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (1)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Thomson Spirit Reviews

1234>
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 27 Dec 2016
Author: M Streets
Summary:  We have been to the caribbean now for the last 15yrs and this year decided to try the Discovery for a change,what a mistake that turned out to be.The flight on the Dreamliner was superb,the ship is a nice ship BUT hugely understaffed,the embarkation at Barbados was a disaster,machines not working so queued for ages to be told we would have to go to reception on the ship to register our card details.The cabins are decent but the small size of the shower means you are attacked by the shower curtain,no fridge so bottled water was always cold and unfit to drink and at £1-99 per bottle it is not cheap.There was always empty bottles and dirty crockery around the pool and people were drinking from bottles and glasses in the shallow end of the pool,when i mentioned this to a member of staff i was told he did not get paid enough to argue with people,then clearly he should have reported it to someone who does.The entertainment was superb, as it was the last time we sailed with Thomson's brilliant shows in the theatre, people always sitting around the bar meant it was difficult to get a drink and to find a waiter on the pool deck was virtually impossible unless you sat in the smoking area.I would liken this ship to Benidorm from what i have heard of Benidorm (never been ) and if this is the type of cruise you want then you will enjoy it. Mobility scooters were flying about and THEN you would see then at night get off their scooters and go dancing UNBELIEVABLE. Meals were very poor with not much variety but chips with everything.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Dec 2016
Author: Ann Rea
Summary:  I have just been reading the Spirit reviews. One in particular caught my attention. It was the one dated June 16 regarding a cruise on 22/5/ 16. In one way I agree with the comment re leaving the ship in certain ports, I was confined to the ship on 3 or 4 times as the steps from the fourth deck were impossible to navigate, they were too steep and were not steps as we know them. I did complain to Thomson but it fell on deaf ears. My husband complained on board and they said that the leaving of the ship is up to the port authority and not Thomson. As you will probably guess I am also disabled so I know how they felt. As far as the cabin goes the lady says that if you are disabled do not book this ship but I have no bother at all with the cabin aspect because I always book really early and request an adapted cabin and on that ship I am not sure if they have any twin adapted but we prefer twin beds but we get one which is a king size but made up as two which is as good as it gets on the Spirit but it is a big cabin at no extra charge, you only have to pass the criteria that allows such a cabin. So please try to book one of these cabins if you are disabled because they do exist.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Sep 2016
Author: Catherine Cannon
Summary:  Cruised on Spirit for 1 week in June with a friend. I had never cruised with Thomson before although my friend had. Everything was great. Had an outside cabin which was adequate for us, plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe, shower space dated but perfectly clean and adequate. Food was excellent and varied, entertainment was first class and all of the staff could not have done enough for you. Cabin was kept clean and staff were very helpful. Didn't take the drinks package as we are not very big drinkers but found the prices to be OK for wine and soft drinks. Would not hesitate to book another cruise with Thomson and Spirit suited us as it was not too big and less formal than some of the bigger ships.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 Aug 2016
Author: Ian Bengeyfield
Summary:  Second time on the Spirit and enjoyed it even more this time. Great service and crew. Cruise Director Lewis does a fantastic job, his enthusiasm is infectious. Fantastic shows every night. My only disappointment was the cabin; noisy when the ship came in to dock and awkwardly laid out with the beds arrangement. Other than that another great holiday . July 2016 Spirit of Iberia cruise
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2016
Author: Mark
Summary:  Just returned from a week on the Thomson spirit, great fun, the food was excellent, our waiters Kent & Joel were so professional yet fun and friendly, the entertainment was top class and the shows every evening were wonderful! Can't fault the cruise, well done to all and thank you!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jul 2016
Author: Jayms
Summary:  As others have said, Spirit isn't the most luxurious or largest ship but its homely and very relaxed. Food was fine (we preferred the waiter service at Compass Rose but there are buffet options), shows were mainly good, albeit catering for an older crowd, and staff are helpful. We had a very relaxing time and would go with Thompson again. Plus I'm now a fan of smaller ships - somehow less formal and friendlier. We had a balcony cabin so no complaints there and only advice I'd give is buy the drinks package beforehand if your a drinker (and if you don't get it free through booking early as we did).
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jun 2016
Author: Graham Parish
Summary:  Have been on many cruises with several operators. Thompson Spirit is one of the smaller but friendly ships. We had a balcony cabin which was close to the horizon lounge bar so easy to get coffee and drinks all day long. We bought the all inclusive package at £9.99 each per day and this was great value. The food is more like good pub grub than fine dining but you will never go hungry. The entertainment team work very hard and although the shows have the same performers each night, the West End Wonders show was probably the best show I have seen on a cruise ship ending with great extracts and performances from Les Miserables.
Thomson Spirit reviews
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 10 Jun 2016
Author: Judith Henderson
Summary:  Just returned from a cruise with Thomson spiriton the 22-5-16, please be mindful when booking cabins booked a deluxe cabin paid £300 Extra for space two females traveled together booked a twin cabin. On arrival i spent a day at reception trying to get this sorted as i was given a double bed. Staff did not care and i was given a pull down bed with poor mattress, so thin they caused pressure sores. I traveled with a disabled person, please do not book this ship if you have a disability you take your life in your hands when disembarking ship at ports mainly disembark on forth deck at ports step do not comply with health a safety regs so many disabled people on board at port spoiled our holiday.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 Mar 2016
Author: Joan Martin Smith
Summary:  About to return to Thomson Spirit for second time, and have been on all other Thomson ships, but none more friendly than Spirit, she is looking old but very well looked after, food great, entertainment good, so much to enjoy, give Thomsons a try, you wont regret it
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 02 Dec 2015
Author: Terry
Summary:  Done 10 Thomson cruises now and found them good value and the staff are excellent. The Spirit is one of the more smaller ships but it seems to add to the enjoyment. Have also done Royal Caribbean and Costa which were great but on board prices for drinks very expensive.
1234>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Happy New Year! Thank you for looking after us so well in 2016. You really are the best online travel agents! x  ”

C. T.
(January 2017)

Read more feedback