02038483628
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3628
We're Closed

Thomson Celebration Reviews

A great range of Thomson Celebration reviews written by our customers. To write your own Thomson Celebration review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 44 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (14)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (19)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (4)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (4)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (3)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Thomson Celebration Reviews

User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Jul 2017
Author: Tony Thompson
Summary:  Land of Midnight Sun Cruise, 11th. June 2017 First time on this ship but we have travelled on Thomson Cruises before. Boarded at Newcastle and first impressions were poor due to the almost chaotic arrangements at the port. However, the Celebration, although somewhat old immediately struck us as a "happy ship" with good, friendly staff. We had a cabin on deck 7, the cabin was large and very comfortable but we spoke to a number of people who were on the lower decks and they said it was quite noisy down there. Probably due to it's design, the ship does suffer from some shakes and rattles but after a couple of days we got used to them. The food on board was very good in both the waiter service restaurant and the Lido (buffet) restaurant. From the captain down all the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful with the exception of the Destination Services people who, in our opinion, at times did not seem to have much of an idea as to some of the ports of call. The entertainment was good, bearing in mind the limitations of size and reasonably varied. Summary..... a good cruise to interesting destination at a very reasonable price.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 04 Jun 2017
Author: Ian Downie
Summary:  Sailed 21/05/17 from Newcastle Baltic Explorer cruise, don't book these cabins on deck 4 namely 369 367 365, reason being there is a hydraulic pump in a cupboard next to cabin 369 and it is used to open a door on deck 2 to let Pilot onto ship.The noise is horrendous and lasts for ten to fifteen minutes.We were in cabin 367 and were wakened at 3am 3.30am 4.10 am 6am and 4.20am. Complained to reception four times, eventually 4 day's from end of our 14 day cruise thy mentioned changing cabins, didn't except as was to late. My cabin booking fee was refunded, they are aware of the noise problem they informed me, but can't do anything to stop noise as pump is needed to open door.Nothing on website to inform you of noise.But now highlighted.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2017
Author: Peter Lloyd
Summary:  Returned on Sunday from the Jordan and Mediterranean cruise, the last of its type, we found the Ship first class in every way, spacious cabins on deck 6, good variety of food in several restaurants,waiter service at the Meridian,always very busy, the self service Lido , both of them very nice. The Broadway Lounge ,basically a small Theatre, we saw all the shows and were very good and we enjoyed them, standing ovations for two of them. Reading some of the reviews you would think this lovely old vessel was falling apart, well it's not , the Captain was top class and brought in a helicopter evacuation for a very ill man, well done to him and Thomson going the extra mile. We would have no hesitation in rebooking on this ship, the staff were great, and the cabin was kept spotlessly clean.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 22 Jan 2017
Author: Phil Jones
Summary:  just returned from the cities of gold cruise fantastic week aboard great food entertainment and ports of call weather was great considering it was winter in dubai only downside was the constant vibration on the ship wich could be felt on all decks would recommend this cruise and ship to anyone added bonus was hardly any kids on board
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 07 Jan 2017
Author: Christine Opie
Summary:  Just come back from Cities of Gold cruise. Wonderful. Lovely hard working staff, excellent food varied entertainment.Only disappointment was the balcony we had booked. Expected a big 1 were i could lay on my sunbed, however only enough room for a table and 2 chairs
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 23 Nov 2016
Author: Len
Summary:  We returned from an Adriatic cruise on this ship and the cabin we were given on ship was 0904. The cabin smelt of fumes and there was engine noise and vibration and when it set sail was a hell of a lot worse that we couldn't sleep. After complaining 3 times and being offered earplugs and told to leave the door open all the time, we finally got moved to an inside cabin which was intended for a member of the crew! The crew on ship and the guest relations officer were not very helpful and tried to charge us £150 more for a spare delux cabin they had, but then sold it to someone else. We spent most of our first day trying to sort out this problem and waiting 6 hrs to see someone. They offered us £50 compensation which we did not accept. We complained to Thomson as soon as we got back on the 14th oct. Apart from an email to say looking into it we have not heard anything since and now it is nearly 6 weeks. We have been on 3 other cruises before with different companies and this is the worse we have been on and would not go with them again. It seems once you have paid they dont give a monkey, and to sell a cabin that is not fit for purpose is beyond words. Never have we been on a cruise and been offered earplugs to use our cabin! Thomson need to get their act together
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2016
Author: John & Celia
Summary:  Just returned from a cruise on the Celebration, to the Adriatic. We had a lovely time mostly. The crew are fabulous, they work so hard and are always happy and helpful. The entertainment is in my opinion second to none, we have been on many cruises and this one was of the best entertainment wise. Our cabin was disappointing as we ended up on deck 3, underneath the galley to the main restaurant, it was so noisy and we were woken at 4 A.M. every morning. The beds are set in an 'L' shape, and cannot be changed. There was a strong smell of diesel fuel outside our cabin, in the corridor, I presume we were near to the props or engines or whatever, it was noisy there too. We were disappointed with this but did not let it spoil our holiday. we visited some lovely islands and Venice - always super, but Albania was a bit odd. All in all a decent and enjoyable cruise, but the cabin horrid.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 May 2016
Author: Chris Taylor
Summary:  Just returned from a week in the Adriatic. This is my first cruise so was apprehensive. I really enjoyed it. Very health concious with hand gels all over the place( which is good) overall standard of hygiene is great. Food excellent and great variety even vegetarians and gluten free. Pay restaurants excellent service. Cabin was good ( I was below deck on floor one do almost level with the sea) but trip was smooth and slept like a log. Staff are great and entertainment is brilliant ( better than on land). There are plenty of fun loungers but still have to get in early to get one. Not good if your on a half day trip. It has given me food for thought for booking future cruises. I to t know if if this is common- the age group was the older generation so not a younger a cruise .
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Oct 2015
Author: Mrs List
Summary:  We have just returned from a cruise on the celebration well what can I say it was wonderful, the onboard food was excellent, all of the restaurants staff so helpful and always happy. We had a lovely person looking after us his name was Handit, who was so friendly. We were on deck 6 our room was great plenty of space to move around. One thing we would say is we thought the air con was to much we had a job to keep warm once out of our room perhaps it could be addressed.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jun 2015
Author: Philip Pollard
Summary:  Tidy and clean ship with excellent and very friendly staff. As silly as it seems the only issue that I had was that every 4 out of 5 hot desserts had dried fruit in them, and I hate dried fruit. The other issue is more general regarding excursions. We went to Messina on Sicily and the trip to Mount Etna should be avoided - It's a 3-4 hour round trip but with only a 45 minute stop when you get there, so not enough time to go on the cable car so I would advise not to book this trip. Another trip to avoid is the Valetta sight seeing, which they take you on a 10 minute coach journey then leave you to look after yourself for £30. We got the local hop on and off bus and went on both the north and south trips, saw the Blue Grotto and the Medina all for 10 Euros. There were dozens and dozens of complaints about these 2 excursions and of course nothing was done about it as they only want your money, so be very careful.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"Leighanne has been excellent dealing with my various queries this year. She has been kind and informative and obtained what i think is a good deal for me in October. She is persistent and very informative, so even when my 1st deal fell through I felt confident enough to approach her for this present Crystal cruise...”

I.G..
(July 2017)

Read more feedback