Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3613
We're Open

Riviera Reviews

A great range of Riviera reviews written by our customers. To write your own Riviera review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6 (from 13 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (10)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (3)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (0)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (0)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship

Latest Riviera Reviews

Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Aug 2016
Author: Jenny Meek
Summary:  Just returned from a cruise on the Riviera ship and have to say it has been the best holiday of our lives. The ship was fantastic, the staff were lovely and the food was beyond excellent in every restaurant, I cannot say a bad word about it, it was truly fantastic and a holiday of a lifetime. We had a concierge level verandah stateroom which for 3 people was a little tight when my sons bed was made-up but otherwise it was great, the verandah was spacious and had ample room for 3 of us. The bathroom was great with both a large shower cubicle and a bathtub. There was plenty of wardrobe space. The staff on board were all friendly and helpful and many of them new our names after the first couple of days, many of them made an extra special effort towards my 9 year old son and were happy to spend time talking and joking with him. I was pleased we had the concierge level as this allowed us access to the spa terrace which was lovely, they had double size sunbeds and a spa pool and it was never busy, (However I must say that bathing round the main pool was never busy either!) the spa terrace was just that little more luxurious and exclusive and very peaceful. We also had access to the Concierge lounge which was just a few doors down from our room and this was great to get a cup of tea, extra soft drinks, ice and lemon, sandwiches and cookies - my son loved going in there to get a cold glass of milk and a cookie when we got back on board the ship after an excursion! On behalf of Iglu Cruise, Ross Flanagan was the reason we booked the cruise. He was so helpful from the start, he listened to our requirements, he found the cruise that suited us and he was professional to the end. Even once the cruise was booked and paid for he was still helpful and always on hand to answer any questions we had. I will definitely be booking another cruise on the Riviera and certainly be booking it through Iglu and especially Ross Flanagan.
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Feb 2016
Author: Pete Redfearn, Iglu Cruise Sales Consultant
Summary:  Miami Mayan Mystique – Oceania Riviera 10 day Jan 2016 Excellent service from Iglu and your agent Tyler with a great package that went smoothly Riviera set the bar high and 800 staff for 1250 passengers gives the idea of the outstsanding service supplied. Food in all the restaurants was excellent, served politely and efficiently – and hot! Breakfast and lunch although buffet were again served by polite and helpful staff so no fighting over the last egg! Being able to dine in the speciality restaurants at no extra charge a wonderful “5 star” bonus (though not for the waistline!) Drinks are expensive though!! All staff from many nations always seemed happy and gave Oceania praise as an employer compared to other lines they had worked for and the cruise director often made a point of thanking various depts. In his daily broadcasts Cleanliness was again outstanding in our cabin and around the ship (I’m sure they repainted the anchor after a mooring day!) Touches such as the fresh towel liners on every lounger (replaced after every rain shower too) and always plenty of seating available with the attentive staff looking after your every need – the complimentary soft drinks/coffee and water another bonus. Communications were sufficient and port of call logistics well handled. We organised our own excursions as ship-board bookings are expensive (an easy thing to do on line or bartering on the quayside) Entertainment was very good aiming to suit all tastes but we felt there could have been more and the shows longer with an even higher standard considering the “5 star” aim of the company A wonderful ship with the focus on food, excellent staff and very relaxing with their “country casual “ approach to dress and the general ambience 5 stars for Riviera 5 stars for Oceania and 5 stars for Iglu
Riviera reviews
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 06 Oct 2015
Author: Nick Taylor
Summary:  Good stuff: There is no question that this is a beautiful ship containing beautiful people and excellent staff. Our cabin was fabulous and the cabin service was first class. The food generally was excellent and my wife and I even enjoyed the 'zoo' where there was no bunfight to be had and where civilised people got their food served by civilised staff and ate it in lovely surroundings. This is also an extremely comfortable ship; I struggled to find a chair or seat that was not blissfully comfortable; the sun beds and towel service were especially lovely. it is also very quiet with virtually no announcements apart from the twice daily drawl of our ever so american cruise director who always ensured we were 'having a nice day'. We liked the free soft drinks and really appreciated the copious supplies of water. I particularly liked the excellent library and coffee bar. Also we thought the reception staff were the best we have encountered. For me the highlight was the magnificent main pool - chlorinated seawater; it was warm, clean and very inviting and to my mind the best pool on any of the ships we have used. Overall this was a very relaxing, comfortable and high class cruise holiday. Bad stuff: But it was soooo dull. The entertainment is not brilliant and there isn't much of it. The 'entertainers' were a mixed bag. Some of the shows were ok (Paul Emmanuel was very good) but by and large everyone we spoke to thought that Oceania has a way to go before they are in the top drawer in this area. There is a real focus on food and eating is the main entertainment. Everything on board is staggeringly expensive (especially the drinks and the excursions) although we got wise to this quite quickly. There isn't much of an atmosphere, which on this occasion suited us. And you can tell that they watch every penny and look out for every opportunity to keep costs down and make a shilling. There were a lot of moneyed people around which made it a little pretentious at times (especially the Russian parvenues and their companions; but they did tend to behave) but this didn't ruin the holiday and made people watching more interesting. We would use Oceania again and certainly recommend the ship, but only if we want absolute peace and quiet, For more of a buzz, I think we'd return to an adults only P&O ship.
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Feb 2015
Author: Dennis Holt
Summary:  Crew, stateroom and food excellent.
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 03 Feb 2015
Author: Les Otty
Summary:  Excellent service from Lynne Bradshaw. The ship was amazing and everything about the experience was faultless. 1200 passengers and 800 crew says it all. Attention to detail was impressive and the food and service in all the restaurants and support outlets was second to none. The logistics of moving people at ports of call was very good. The entertainment was of a high standard and the cruise director had great communication skills and was a star in his own right. Can't wait for the next trip!!
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 01 Feb 2015
Author: A F Brown
Summary:  This was a very fine ship, offering the best possible cuisine. We have eaten in many restaurants across the globe and the Riviera is amongst the very best. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. Niggles - the wine is expensive especially after a service charge which seems hard to justify. It's very subjective but I didn't think the entertainment was great, but plenty of others did, so I'm happy to accept their opinion. The hotel you arranged (Intercontinental, Miami) was very comfortable and well positioned for embarkation. The "Supershuttle" however was woeful. On arrival at Miami there was a 20 minute wait (after a 10 hour flight and a 3 hour queue at immigration) and we stopped en route so the driver could fill out his time sheet. And he stopped for a lengthy chat with a colleague during the journey, which ended with a scary high speed drive to the hotel. It was impossible to get through on the phone from the hotel to arrange the pick-up to the ship because of the number of calls in the queue, and absolutely impossible to get through after disembarkation. The phone number on your disembarkation documentation was unobtainable, not just to us but to others trying to organize a pick-up. In both instances we grabbed a driver from their company who agreed to take everyone to the airport. I would suggest you use some else if at all possible.
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Nov 2014
Author: S. Holloway
Summary:  A real 5 star experience; spacious cabin with verandah, bathroom with shower and bath and 8 towels. Attractive public areas. The food was excellent; there are 4 speciality restaurants which are included in the price and only require table reservation. The staff were friendly and very competent. This is an American ship so expect high gratuites; the cost of excursions was exorbitant $300 for a day, but most ports had shuttle buses to the town or city centre. We had a marvellous last minute deal, could not afford to go with them on brochure prices.
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Nov 2014
Author: K And J
Summary:  We have now cruised 13 times this was our first time with Oceania we can only sat that this company is 100% First Class. The staff and crew were fantastic along with the the restuarants and food.
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 Aug 2014
Author: John Hercock
Summary:  We have just returned from a wonderful cruise with Oceania cruise line, from Istanbul to Venice. This was the first time we had cruised with Oceania & hopefully not the last. Riviera was lovely, a nice size just 1200 passengers of all ages, only a handful of children onboard. The cleanliness’ & service was outstanding so many smiling faces from the crew & cabin staff. Food was excellent in all restaurants plenty of choice & no problem finding a table. The only slight down side was the price of drinks quite expensive with a 18% service charge added to bill but this is an American company so this is to be expected, we are not big drinkers so not too much of a problem. We booked this cruise through travel company Iglu and must say the service was great especially the transfers very prompt & efficient. We were driven to our hotel right in the centre of Istanbul for our overnight stay before boarding ship next day. What a lovely hotel, The Sultania, very Turkish in style especially the bedrooms, very comfy. We did a bit of exploring that afternoon as we were within walking distance of the Blue Mosque & other sights although very hot it was very interesting. In cabin by 2.30 & a lovely size, bathroom was quite big we had a bath with shower plus a separate shower cubicle lots of cupboard space. We had originally booked an ocean view cabin but when we got our cabin number a couple of days before we flew we had been upgraded to a balcony on deck 8 & must say we did make the most of it. Part of our package was a 2 night stay in Venice, so once we had disembarked the ship which was very stress free we made our way to the water taxis were we were taken to our hotel, Carnival Palace, away from the hussle & bussle. Very nice hotel modern & nicely situated for water buses or walking to restaurants/bars We bought a 3 day water bus pass ( 40 euros each) so this enabled us to travel anywhere & worked out a lot cheaper than buying single tickets. We had a wonderful time in Venice very busy as always, this was our third visit to the city. All in all a fab holiday.
Riviera reviews
Ship: Riviera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 Jul 2013
Author: Brian Hodge
Summary:  Just completed a 10 day cruise (13 July) on this beautiful ship in a penthouse 1 suite. The ship decor was stunning, the cabin outstanding, the food tremendous and the service excellent. We didn't take a drinks package as we felt the price of drinks wouldn't warrant the daily cost of the package unless we drank copiously, this was a god decision as a decent Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc cost around $US 42 including the 18% tip charge. The only adverse comment I have relates to the cost of ships tours which we didn't use due to their expensive pricing and which, from comments made by other passengers who DID use them, represented poor value for money. All ship staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the relaxed country casual atmosphere was perfect with no need to dress like a penguin or to even wear a tie at any time. The all inclusive speciality restaurants were excellent as was the well named Grand Dining Room with superb food, service and menus in all of them. A superb cruise and I will use Oceania again, they have set a high standard for others!

All Other Oceania Cruises Ships

Insignia Nautica Sirena
Marina Regatta

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Just want to thank Alice for amazing service yesterday. Painless, efficient booking of my next cruise made it a real pleasure.

Regards ”

N Thomson
(September 2016)

Read more feedback