02038483614
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3614
We're Open

P&O Oceana Reviews

A great range of Oceana reviews written by our customers. To write your own Oceana review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 105 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (37)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (39)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (15)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (7)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (5)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Oceana Reviews

User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 19 Nov 2016
Author: Sybil Holgate Wilson
Summary:  Arrived home after a 14 night cruise to the Canary Islands. The cruise itself was lovely. I was travelling with five other friends two of us wheelchair users one with a scooter. They organised accessable mini coach for each of our excursions which was excellent. However we have never ever had such poor service as we had in the dining room. Six of us shared a table and the first three nights in the dining room we had to complain about the quality of the food. Although the waiter said this would be reported nothing was done, on the fourth night I could not eat the lamb it was so tough, when the waiter removed it he didn't even make any comment, until I pointed out to him why I hadn't eaten it. After these disasterous meals we retreated to dining in the self service restaurant where our able bodies friends kindly waited on us. On asking around the ship many people had the same complaint. On the very last night we were visited by a senior staff member as he had read our survey and so we repeated our list of complaints he said he would look into the situation. As this was the 14 th night it seemed a bit late and we told him so. Since returning two of our friends have cancelled their future booking with PO...and I certainly will not use them again.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 17 Oct 2016
Author: Janette Radley
Summary:  Just returned from a 2 week fly cruise. Eastern Med and Adriatic. Great itinerary. Superb weather. Our first cruise with P&O having cruised with Cunard &Princess previously. Flight with BA and transfers were excellent as was embarcation or so we thought. Our key card opened the door to a cabin already occupied by a couple in bed and as unhappy to be disturbed as we were to disturb them. 3 hours later we were found a cabin of the same grade and one deck higher. No explanation was given for their error and no apology was given. I won't bore you with the cabin problems suffice it to say that we made 16 trips to reception with key cards which needed reprogramming and had 4 visits from officers to reprogram the lock. Our cards were not kept with other cards to demagnetise them or with mobile phones. For the last 3 days of the cruise our cabin steward took to leaving our door not closed as she too was having problems with the lock. As there is limited space in the cabin safe our possessions and the room was not secure. Our experience is that when thinks are going well then Oceana is a happy friendly ship giving value for money and a memorable holiday. When things go wrong it is as if P&O staff are unprepared to acknowledge the error or problem and imply the fault lies with the passenger. We are still waiting for an apology for the cabin double booking and the door lock problem. 55 mins is a long time to stand waiting outside a cabin when you have been told help is on the way. So despite most of our holiday being lovely we are unsure whether we would book with P&O again, which is a shame.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Sep 2016
Author: Paula
Summary:  Just returned from a week on the Oceana, starting in Genoa and finishing in Venice, with stops in Livorno, Amalfi, Dubrovnik and a day in Venice. Had the best time ever on a fantastic ship, could not fault anything apart from the Wifi charges were a bit high. Staff were lovely and friendly, they could not do enough for you, entertainment was fabulous we saw some great shows every night. Food was lovely, we mainly used the Plaza buffet and the Ligurian, waiters in the Ligurian were great. Our cabin was on F deck with a window and was really nice, plenty of room and storage space. Excellent value for money and will hopefully be booking another cruise very soon.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Sep 2016
Author: Barbara Evans
Summary:  Just returned from the Italian cruise. Loved every minute of it. Food crew and all staff were faultless. Have now booked the carribean cruise, can't wait!
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 31 Aug 2016
Author: S R
Summary:  A bit of a delay with this review. We have just booked another cruise on Oceana next month so it couldn't have been that bad really! We had a 35 night cruise in Feb across the Atlantic. We had a terrible crossing Biscay in force 10 storm. Its true what other reviews are saying Oceana is tired, rust everywhere and frayed faded carpets. This didn't spoil our holiday one bit however. Our cabin was fine with some bathroom issues, the loo went out of action four times, the shower couldn't hold the temperature and was even worse after we reported it. Buckets in corridors catching water from the ceilings. We found the food/dining fine without fault. The buffet could get very crowded with very inconsiderate people. We found the entertainment fairly poor and flat, especially on sea days when an early morning stretch was the highlight! We thought the Headliners were poor ( the in house team) and didn't even bother to go to some of the shows. We liked the ship in general, the posts of call were very good. The crew were brilliant ( with the exception of one girl on the excursions team who was just unhelpful and rude, not just to us). Our fellow passengers were offish and seemed to think they something special ( some lovely exceptions) and we felt that at the time we would not be returning to P and O because of this. We have cruised with two other cruise lines and we felt this was the worst experience we had encountered. However and P and O are a very good price and their cruises have great ports of call. We have booked a Med cruise this time and really hope for a different experience this time, fingers crossed. Will let you know
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 Aug 2016
Author: R Martin
Summary:  Just returned from a week on the Oceana. We were made to feel special on this beautiful mid sized ship and would definitely return again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2016
Author: Brenda Leigh
Summary:  We have just got back from our first cruise around the Mediterranean and we had a great time, it was our first ever time on a cruise ship and we found it so relaxing and all the crew and staff were fantastic thay made us feel like royalty thank you so very much to you all and expecially to our steward who was fantastic, we are hopeing to book again for next year. And last but not least we thought the captain was great, very funny at time's but always professional.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 23 Jun 2016
Author: Kathleen Ravestein
Summary:  Wow just got back from our first ever cruise on the oceania. It was brilliant, very well organised, friendly staff, great food and great entertainment so don't be put off by negative reviews. It is fantastic for your money, thanks Iglu and p&o cruises.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 05 Jun 2016
Author: Francis Barry Clarke
Summary:  I went on the Oceana on May 4th - 18th 2016, I paid for a balcony cabin which I found very poor and the balcony disgraceful. Also I got fed up going to the top deck looking for a sun lounger only to find a towel reserving them, I was also charged £35 for a 100mins for Internet connection. Which was dreadful for a lot passengers it was a big money making profit. The entertainment was hit and miss and wants to be addressed. The Buffet on deck 12 was very poor and that wants to be addressed as well. I thought the gradutites where far too high at £5.50 each person each day so I cancelled them, because P&O should pay them not passengers. I kept every receipt that I spent on the ship but when I came to settle my account there was an extra 20 more items on the bill, which I was' nt pleased with. Good points of the ship was the service was excellent, The fine dinning was excellent.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 27 May 2016
Author: Helen
Summary:  We were on the Genoa to Venice 7 night cruise in May 2016. Never had such an efficient embarkation process, left Gatwick just after six in the morning and was onboard for breakfast. This gave us time to visit Genoa as well which we had thought we would not be able to do. I enjoyed all of the ports that we visited and the weather was pretty good for May. The ship was tired looking, but I had no major issues with that. We had booked a guarantee cabin - and I don't think that it could have been worse being directly above Starlights, one of the main entertainment venues - but that is a risk you take with a guarantee cabin. What I did object to was that with a queen bed layout it was impossible to walk around the bed. The bed was 30-40cm from the wall, but the bottom corner of the bed was against the wardrobe. As I have a knee condition the only way that I could get onto the bed was to roll across it! There wasn't even a bedside table. I spoke to reception, who did not want to know which was disappointing. The food in the buffet was very average, but OK. It did get very crowded at times. The biggest problem to me was that they did not label many of the dishes - which is something that could easily be rectified. We had Freedom Dining which worked well for us. One surprising problem was that on sea days there were just not enough sunbeds, people were walking around for ages looking for beds. They kept reminding people not to reserve beds, that they would remove towels etc., but nobody ever seemed to do this. On one day all beds were reserved or occupied by 9.30am!! I have never seen this before. The staff were great (with the exception of reception). Finally the entertainment was excellent, the best of any cruise that we have been on. We did enjoy the cruise very much, but on balance due to the food and not being able to get into bed easily I have marked it 4

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback