Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3614
We're Open

P&O Britannia Reviews

A great range of Britannia reviews written by our customers. To write your own Britannia review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 70 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (27)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (20)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (7)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (5)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (7)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (4)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship

Latest Britannia Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 19 Oct 2016
Author: Mrs J L Tindall
Summary:  We went on this beautiful ship in September for my birthday. It was the best holiday and ship we have ever been on. The staff was so friendly and they couldn't do enough for us. The restaurants were amazing but our favourite was the Sindhu restaurant we went in there twice and it was amazing, never have we tasted Indian food like that. Our cabin was beautiful we had a balcony it was kept to up to such a high standard our cabin steward was just the best (Valens). I am a gym fanatic and it is outstanding, swimming pools also. Destinations were beautiful too apart from Naples we didn't like it there but we are not complaining just don't want to go back. Evening entertainment amazing saw Peter Haworth again, we saw him last year on the Oriana just wonderful. Ships photographers were great too we had some lovely photos taken. A huge well done to everyone who made this such a special holiday we really didn't want to disembark.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Sep 2016
Author: Mary Malham
Summary:  We went on Britannia in May 2016. It was lovely. Food excellent. Only thing I found different to previous P&O Cruises cabins were roomy and lovely. Sunbeds had no cushions on
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Aug 2016
Author: Dee Cairns
Summary:  We were concerned over mixed reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised. Check in very friendly and efficient. Cabin more spacious than others, balcony is slightly smaller but adequate. Bathrooms much better with proper shower doors and luxury toiletries from The White Company. Staff we experienced were exceptional. Entertainment was of excellent quality. The Cookery Club/Chefs Table was fantastic with Nico and his team Food was very good, teenage daughter did prefer RCC but I didn't. Crows Nest and Library were my favourite areas. Only downside was a small % of passengers who moaned about everything and were just downright rude at times. We had one who blocked out a double table so she wouldn't have to sit next to anyone, another tried to stop others accessing seats next to her in the theatre and a guy in the restaurant who complained loudly and clicked his fingers at the staff every time he wanted something, even if they were waiting on other guests. In summary, loved P&O, loved Britannia, loved the ports. Staff were great, shame on that small % of passengers who believed they were superior, acted in such embarrassing ways and refused to find joy in anything.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Aug 2016
Author: Drew Roberton
Summary:  We ha dan excellent week sailing the Norwegian fjords. Spacious cabin, good food and entertainment. Minor irritation was the lifts and toilet facilities. Also the onboard WiFi seems to have timing issues - it adds minutes on to your usage. Also beware of the accounting. Even though I paid my onboard spend in full with the card I registered P&O I had outstanding authorizations on my card for a week and P&O did nothing about it and more to the point didn't care either.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 Jul 2016
Author: Gavin
Summary:  Britannia Review (B617 – Fjords back to back with B618 – Guernsey) Sorry, it's a long one... If you don't want to read, let me just say this: we thought we wouldnt like Britannia after reading some reviews but we actually loved her! We booked B617 as our honeymoon cruise and decided to also do B618 so friends could join us for the final two nights. We have done several short cruises before, so know what to expect from P&O but after reading the reviews for Britannia we were slightly worried, but prepared to make the most of it. I'll base this review mostly on the main cruise and will touch on the differences we noticed between B617 and B618 at the end. If you want to see our video, its here: Embarkation & Disembarkation (and Change over day): We arrived earlier than we were supposed to and it was busy in Ocean Terminal. We were given our lettered card and sat patiently waiting to be called, check-in was smooth and efficient as was security. We still managed to get on before our allotted time – as P&O say they are not going to make you wait but will give priority to those that turn up early. So all good. Change over day we just collected our new cruise cards from reception and had a wonder around the ship – by midday everything was open as normal again, so that wasn’t too bad. We also didn’t have to do Muster Drill again – bonus! First impressions of the ship: Wow! We love the décor and the star burst in the atrium was amazing – everything so clean and fresh. Many say there appears to be no atmosphere in the Atrium - but we don’t agree with that, we loved it! We found the ship quite easy to navigate considering its size. There lack of midship stairs didn’t really bother us too much as we were close to the forward ones. The lifts are another story, or should I say the people using them! People would not look at which direction the lift was going and would get in one to go up and come back down, or worse still, give up and get out early or give up waiting and the lift would then stop for no reason. We did try to avoid them but sometimes its nice to be lazy. The pools were all open and clean, the main pool area was always busy, the quiet zone was a bit better. There was loads of sunbeds but I could imagine the best ones would fill up quick on a sea day somewhere hot and sunny. The aft decks were dirty and sooty even though they were cleaning them often – this is the only let down we could really find. There were flakes of soot – thankfully it was not an area we needed to visit often, just when having a little walk. I hope P&O have plans to resolve this somehow..?! Cabin: We were in F104 (F/9th deck, forward, HE grade, Balcony with Shower but without sofa). The cabin was light and airy, with good décor. There was a large TV, one bedside cabinet and tea and coffee making facilities. The hairdryer was nice and powerful and the fridge did a good job at keeping our wine cool. The balconies were ample for us – smaller than other ships but we could both comfortably sit out there. It had 2 chairs and a table with doors each side that could be opened if you also had the cabin next door. There was lots of hanging space and a further cupboard with the safe in it between the bathroom and bedroom. They have the new lifejackets that have a strap that go between your legs, so practice before you go down to muster! The bathroom was clean and the shower was great too – with the glass door. The shower is bigger than our cube shower at home! Our cabin steward was Ayjay who worked hard and always had our room made up when we were out, bought us clean wine glasses daily and even organised things like an ice bucket and extra Champagne glasses for us when we had friends coming onboard – best steward we have met so far. Stewards you would walk past in the hall always give a hello and were friendly. We did find there was some vibrations during docking and also when the anchor was being dropped, but this was expected and as we were always up around 7am this was ok. Food: We dined in the Epicurean on the first night – the food and service in there was excellent. We also had Eric Lanlards afternoon tea here on a sea day but unfortunately it was far too sweet tasting for us, not something we would do again. We also tried Atul Kochhar Sindhu, again excellent food and cocktails. For breakfast we used Room service – this was very good and was delivered on time. We also had the hot breakfast in the MDR, the P&O breakfast was delicious. Our main dining room was the Meridian, as we were freedom dining we were always given a page for a table of 2, but by the time we were coming to the end of our drink we were getting called to dinner, perfect timing. Service and food in there was up to the usual P&O standard, very happy with it. We ventured in the Horizon a few times, could be a bit chaotic in there but the food was good. Midnight snacks here were also excellent. Handwashing facilities were operational with maybe only 1 or 2 taps not working but staff were on standby with hand gel or requesting you washed your hands. We looked at the Grab and Go, the selection looked good but didn’t try it. The burgers and hot dogs from the Lido Grill were very tasty, we had a lunchtime snack there a few times. We also enjoyed Afternoon tea in the Oriental – give me a constant supply of tea and I'm happy. During B617 we ordered 2 platters of Canapés to be delivered after muster on B618 as a welcome to our friends – these were mostly fish based and some of them were huge- tasty and well worth the £11 per platter (each platter served 4). Bars and Entertainment: We didn’t really go to see shows as this is not out cup of tea. We did pop our head in the Live Louge to see Badness and the Ventriloquist but they were too hot and busy for us, guess you need to be there early and not 10 minutes after they start as was in our case. The service in all the bars was excellent, though we did find you often had to ask for a menu, especially in the crows nest - no real bother though. I tried to work my way through the Gin menu in the crows nest, really liked it up there. While waiting for our pager to go off we would visit the Blue Bar as this was close by and had a really good feel about it. Quite a bit of time was spent in the Glass House. We had a few wine flights and food pairings. We also did a wine tasting here with Albert, he was excellent – we don't know much about wine so we did learn a lot from that midday session. The cost of this was £15 with 5 small glasses of wine and nibbles - about 2 hours long. That night Albert spent time with us talking some more about wine and trying to convert us in to Red wine drinkers (we always stick with the same old white wines) - he was excellent. A good tip: if you want to try a wine just ask for a taster and they will give you a tiny glass to try it, no need to be scared of trying a new wine there! Brodies also has a wide selection of Beers for thouse who don’t like the grape. Spa We took out a spa pass, £199 for both of us for the first 7 nights. Wasn’t worth it to be honest as we could have just had a day pass or two, but saying that had they sold out and not made day passes available (as we have had happen) would have been disappointed. The facilities within the spar were good, a hydro pool, hot beds, water beds, Sauna, 3 mood showers, a light sauna and a steam room. Only improvement would be maybe complimentary tea and coffee Retreat We spent one day here, £25 per person – after climbing 550m mountain we took full advantage of jacuzzi and bar service. Snacks and afternoon tea are also available up here. On a summer cruise, I would guess It's well worth the money to guarantee a sunbed and get away from the busy areas. On our port day, there was less than a dozen of us up there. Now, to finish off, I will return to the back to back aspect of the cruise. During B617 we had an amazing time and loved the ship, but once on B618 – the atmosphere completely changed. It was a party cruise, so that was expected but you could sense the staff were tired and rushed, they just were not as attentive as they were on the 7 nighter. The real let down on this was the guests! Stags and Hens, some who had no respect for the staff or Ship (c'mon, we even caught some guy about to urinate in the main pool area behind one of the fake leafy walls – think we got his attention quick enough so he didn’t!) - so because of this, we would never do a 2 night cruise on Britannia again. So overall, an amazing ship that exceeded our expectations – we would do it again tomorrow if we could! For those that have doubts about Britannia, don’t - just go with an open mind and you will love it!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 30 Jun 2016
Author: Dee
Summary:  me and my husband went on this ship on November 2015 to the carribean. It was our first cruise and wow it was the best holiday we have had! The treatment was outstanding and we look forward to doing it again for my 50th.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 26 Jun 2016
Author: C A Thornton
Summary:  Having just returned from a 2 week cruse to the canaries. On the brittania. I have enjoyed the cruise very much. But I found the food rather mundane, not as expected. The cabins were very comfortable. Balconies were a Little small. The ship it's self was very nice. As you would expect of a new ship. Staff seemed tired.The worst part was that their was an out break of MRSA. Which was brought to the ships attention In our first week. Everything was done by the ship to stop it spreading, but it did. We assume it was on the ship when we boarded it was still their when the cruise was over. It was my first time with P&O, not sure if I will sail with them again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Jun 2016
Author: Chocolate Cup Cake
Summary:  Our first cruise to the Norwegian Fjords in April. A wonderful experience from the moment we embarked to the moment we drove out of Southampton a week later. Didn’t have to think and plan anything, so that equals relaxation for me. Embarkation in particular was a doddle. We chose freedom dining which suited us perfectly. We could be sociable on a shared table or sit quietly together as the mood took us. We didn’t have to wait for a table at any time. Food was excellent at all times in the Meridian restaurant. Food also good in the Horizon buffet but this got a bit busy at peak times. Entertainment was varied and high quality. We always found a seat at whichever venue we chose. The LED stage screen in the theatre is amazing and provides an immersive experience in conjunction with the side repeat displays. Super performances from the company who played three different shows during our week on board. House band Pulse excellent. Highly recommend the Limelight Club for an evening meal and show. We saw Eric and Little Ern who were very funny and uncannily like their namesakes. We were blessed with clear dry days on all our days in port and bright sunshine on most. Flaam, Bergen and Alesund were all stunning and very different. Stavanger harbour area was lovely, but the trip to Egersund we pre-booked from there disappointed. A long way and only a half hour look around the Town. The promised chocolate factory is a shop with a kitchen area behind the counter. Cabin small but perfectly formed and the bed very comfortable. No complaints at all. Our cabin attendant was discrete and courteous as were all staff we spoke to on board. Beer (most important) premium brands and only slightly more expensive than back at home. Britannia presents internally unpretentious elegance in a kind of contemporary deco style. Beautiful finishes complement all public areas. Other ships may offer more bling, but I can’t think of anything to criticise about the internal décor of Britannia. The only negative observation we would make would be to repeat other reviewer’s comments regarding a minority of ‘experienced cruisers’. They really got on your pip after a while, perpetually moaning, requesting special meal preparations for the day ahead and negatively comparing their many previous voyages. Staff had to be so patient. From our experience of this cruise, P&O provide an excellent balance of cost and value. If you want truffled foie-gras with Waldorf’s at every sitting and someone to carry you physically round the ship, cruises 10 times the cost are available. Newbie Britannia cruisers can skip over the gangplank in confidence. They are in for a great experience on a truly excellent modern ship. If we can get a good deal, Britannia round the Med next May is our first choice next cruise.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 14 May 2016
Author: Patricia Boyle
Summary:  well were do I start booked our cruise with Leroy from iglu cruises can say he was very helpful but did explain that he had never been on the Britannia but was due to have a tour of the ship the day after we booked. well we boarded the ship on the 7th November we were a party of 4 2 of which were frequent cruisers and my husband and myself it was our first time well were we impressed yes at first but this soon diminished food not anything to write home about entertainment well what little there was absolute disgrace no atmosphere on board ship British staff not interested on passengers daily entertainment consisted of trivia quizzes either on food and drink or music nightly entertainment food drink and music quizzes I kid you not as this was our first time we were very disappointed we had 2 cabaret shows which lasted 45 minutes and we had the Britannia show on the lido deck which consisted of the mad hatter a dance troupe and a few people encased in large plastic balls a bloody joke that's all I can describe it as. well would I consider going on this ship again no not even if they sacked all the entertainment staff got rid of the cooking classes marco pierre white and the likes not unless you were buying there book or paying for cooking lesson all I can say is Britannia get your act together or you will be going down a slippery slope.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 12 May 2016
Author: Chris Moss
Summary:  02-05-2016 Southampton France,Spain and Channel Islands. Embarkation was smoothly done pax given boarding card on arrival and called forward in rotation.Plenty of seating while you wait to be called. No delay on boarding directed straight to our cabin where our steward Joel promptly introduced himself and throughout he provided a great level of unobtrusive service. Sometimes I have felt that I shared the cabin with the attendant but Joel had it spot on. Balcony cabin E235 was fine, nicely decorated and in perfect condition with no wear marks. We did not pay for a deluxe so did not have a sofa but a single armchair with a separate chair at the dressing table. We had the bed configured to twins as we have found this gives us more standing space in the past.There was a 42 inch flat screen on the wall with a decent selection of TV and Movies supplied with the odd couple of movies charged at £2.99 but mostly free. Bathroom well equipped with the added plus of a glass shower door so no plastic curtains trying to strangle you and good quality personal care products supplied. Entertainment was first class particulalry the resident troupe and guest vocalist Roy Locke. The entertainment manger was good without being manic. The theatre was used to provide 3 shows a night a great idea on a ship with so many passengers. We had freedom dining which was ideal only had to have a pager once and even then only for 7 or 8 minutes no mean feat when we always ask for a table for two. I hate sharing and having to wait while someone decides if they like broccoli or not ggrrrr! All the meals we had including the Horizon buffet were really good and I could not find any fault. Room service was impeccable except one morning where the order must have dropped off the door handle but a quick call soon resolved that. Crew were experienced with the utmost courtesy, obviously being human beings some were more obliging than others but I firmly beleive if you are nice to folk you get it back The public areas bars shops and atrium are bright clean and spacious and give an upmarket impression without being too glitzy. Excursions and port visits were fairly smooth but the ports themselves are playing catch up and trying to develop their infrastructure to speed up embarkation and disembarkation of these high capacity vessels. Complimentary shuttles were provided at all ports so no spend was required if you want to do your own thing. The only down side is the usual, although we met lots of lovely people there were the odd cruisers who could moan for Britain, indeed many of them seem to whinge away on these forums and spoil folks holidays. To put things in perspective I am a large grumpy 64 year old ex coach driver so if P&O can please me then I am sure a reasonble person like you will have a ball.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Just want to thank Alice for amazing service yesterday. Painless, efficient booking of my next cruise made it a real pleasure.

Regards ”

N Thomson
(September 2016)

Read more feedback