02038483614
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3614
We're Open

P&O Britannia Reviews

A great range of Britannia reviews written by our customers. To write your own Britannia review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 86 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (31)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (21)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (9)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (6)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (11)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (8)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Britannia Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Oct 2016
Author: Alan Hawkins
Summary:  Being fed-up with the frustrations, delays and discomfort of flying and hanging about airports on fly/cruises my wife and I decided to sail from Southampton on the new Britannia, the largest P & O ship at present with up to 3,700 passengers. Embarkation was busy but well organised and soon we were in our cabin. This was attractively decorated and had a flat screen TV, a settee, a glass fronted shower in the bathroom and a small balcony. As we were on a Saver fare we had been allocated this cabin a couple of weeks before sailing and put at the stern of the ship – presumably because the Select fare passengers had already booked the central cabins to save themselves a long walk. Our cabin was conveniently situated for two of the dining options but I estimated that it was about 600 feet to the forward lifts for the theatre, library etc. The sea was smooth during our passage through the Bay of Biscay (in both directions) but our cabin suffered from a vibration from the engines as we sailed along. We were lucky to be able to sit in the sun on our balcony on several occasions. We were allocated freedom dining and never had to wait for a table (unlike our experiences on other cruise lines). There are three restaurants and you can use some for a relaxed breakfast also. The quality and taste of the food was excellent. The service was amazingly speedy and efficient. The waiters were very friendly and well trained (some in Goa - an old P & O tradition). We did not feel the need to try the speciality restaurants and therefore pay the supplement. We tried the buffet one evening and on that occasion the food was dried out and unpalatable. One of advantages of cruising with P & O is the reasonable prices of the drinks on board. A fraction of the prices on US ships (despite P & O being owned by Carnival) – and no automatic 18% gratuity! Currently in Brodies (the pub) onboard you can select from the ‘Great British Beer Menu’ featuring 70 different bottled beers, ales and ciders from 56 UK counties. An amazing selection. There was even the opportunity to try 3 selected beers, served in ‘third’ glasses for little more than the cost of one beer. Most US ships don’t offer much in the way of bitter type beer at all. The decor of the ship is mainly dark browns, greys and beige. The signage throughout the ship is very poor as many signs are small and often hidden. The main complaint from the passengers was the wait for the lifts, which were too small and totally inadequate for the number of passengers. There were quite a lot of wheelchair users who had to squeeze in with other passengers. The theatre was rather small for the number of passengers so the shows were usually packed full some time before each performance. The introduction of a digital background screen, now standard on many new and refurbished ships, is more versatile than scenery flats - but we found the effects totally distracting when it is used for displaying flashing images and psychedelic patterns behind the performers. Unfortunately for us the Headliners, who used to present slick shows based on musicals and theatre, seem now to have transformed into a pop-group, belting out numbers whilst performing energetic aerobics. No doubt for a younger audience. However several solo acts were very good and the resident live band was versatile and tuneful. We were unhappy about the cost of the wi-fi on board, which was charged on a 24 hour basis instead of the number of minutes used, making the cost for occasional use prohibitive. When we recently travelled with Princess Cruises they credited us with our past P & O cruises towards their loyalty scheme, which put us on their Elite level, which includes some free wi-fi (and some other excellent benefits) . When we return to P & O they ignore our Princess cruises on their loyalty scheme (despite both lines being owned by Carnival) however they do give a discount on the onboard expenses. Sometimes the ship berthed some distance from the main cities/towns visited and a shuttle bus was needed that reduced the time available as it takes a long time to bus in over a thousand passengers. Often the duration of the stay was short as you had to be back by 4.30pm. There was a good programme of quizzes, including the late night Syndicate quiz which was well supported. The entertainment staff were all very professional and in particular Paul had a quick wit which produced many laughs. The line-dancing was also very popular. Most British passengers like dressing up on the formal nights but I did see one tattooed man wearing a white T shirt on one formal night! We had a very enjoyable cruise, despite both of us catching colds on the voyage. Quite a number of fellow passengers complained about the size of the ship which seems strange when there is no secret about it when you book. Most fellow passengers however were very pleasant and we enjoyed meeting them and chatting.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 23 Oct 2016
Author: Alison Pincott
Summary:  Our Strictly cruise to the Canary Islands June 16 was amazing. The cabin was fab, food was brilliant, entertainment was out of this world. The enthusiasm and dedication that was put into the shows were above and beyond anyones expectations and the team of dancers and entertainment manager should be commended for such results. The cabin staff couldn't have worked any harder than they did, so again we thank them for that. There were a couple of pools to lounge by, one being family and the the other one quieter. The ship is huge, nice array of shops, many restaurants to eat in, every hour of the day can be filled. If we had to grumble about anything, then it would be a few holiday makers themselves, yes some things do go wrong and i'm afraid they will have to just live with it. Staff did their very best on everything, unfortunately a few just don't appreciate it. Lots of dancing, the Strictly Come Dancing Celebrities were just fabulous darling....provided dance classes, more than happy to have photos taken with holiday goers, they were friendly and fun. There was an auction of a strictly come dancing dress that Georgia May Foote wore on halloween 2015, monies raised for MacMillan Cancer, I am delighted to say I won and raised monies for this wonderful charity which is close to my heart. Thank you to everyone who made our holiday perfect.
P&O Britannia reviews
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 19 Oct 2016
Author: Mrs J L Tindall
Summary:  We went on this beautiful ship in September for my birthday. It was the best holiday and ship we have ever been on. The staff was so friendly and they couldn't do enough for us. The restaurants were amazing but our favourite was the Sindhu restaurant we went in there twice and it was amazing, never have we tasted Indian food like that. Our cabin was beautiful we had a balcony it was kept to up to such a high standard our cabin steward was just the best (Valens). I am a gym fanatic and it is outstanding, swimming pools also. Destinations were beautiful too apart from Naples we didn't like it there but we are not complaining just don't want to go back. Evening entertainment amazing saw Peter Haworth again, we saw him last year on the Oriana just wonderful. Ships photographers were great too we had some lovely photos taken. A huge well done to everyone who made this such a special holiday we really didn't want to disembark.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Sep 2016
Author: Mary Malham
Summary:  We went on Britannia in May 2016. It was lovely. Food excellent. Only thing I found different to previous P&O Cruises cabins were roomy and lovely. Sunbeds had no cushions on
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 21 Aug 2016
Author: Dee Cairns
Summary:  We were concerned over mixed reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised. Check in very friendly and efficient. Cabin more spacious than others, balcony is slightly smaller but adequate. Bathrooms much better with proper shower doors and luxury toiletries from The White Company. Staff we experienced were exceptional. Entertainment was of excellent quality. The Cookery Club/Chefs Table was fantastic with Nico and his team Food was very good, teenage daughter did prefer RCC but I didn't. Crows Nest and Library were my favourite areas. Only downside was a small % of passengers who moaned about everything and were just downright rude at times. We had one who blocked out a double table so she wouldn't have to sit next to anyone, another tried to stop others accessing seats next to her in the theatre and a guy in the restaurant who complained loudly and clicked his fingers at the staff every time he wanted something, even if they were waiting on other guests. In summary, loved P&O, loved Britannia, loved the ports. Staff were great, shame on that small % of passengers who believed they were superior, acted in such embarrassing ways and refused to find joy in anything.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Aug 2016
Author: Drew Roberton
Summary:  We ha dan excellent week sailing the Norwegian fjords. Spacious cabin, good food and entertainment. Minor irritation was the lifts and toilet facilities. Also the onboard WiFi seems to have timing issues - it adds minutes on to your usage. Also beware of the accounting. Even though I paid my onboard spend in full with the card I registered P&O I had outstanding authorizations on my card for a week and P&O did nothing about it and more to the point didn't care either.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 10 Jul 2016
Author: Gavin
Summary:  Britannia Review (B617 – Fjords back to back with B618 – Guernsey) Sorry, it's a long one... If you don't want to read, let me just say this: we thought we wouldnt like Britannia after reading some reviews but we actually loved her! We booked B617 as our honeymoon cruise and decided to also do B618 so friends could join us for the final two nights. We have done several short cruises before, so know what to expect from P&O but after reading the reviews for Britannia we were slightly worried, but prepared to make the most of it. I'll base this review mostly on the main cruise and will touch on the differences we noticed between B617 and B618 at the end. If you want to see our video, its here: https://youtu.be/xbi-HNqxKLk Embarkation & Disembarkation (and Change over day): We arrived earlier than we were supposed to and it was busy in Ocean Terminal. We were given our lettered card and sat patiently waiting to be called, check-in was smooth and efficient as was security. We still managed to get on before our allotted time – as P&O say they are not going to make you wait but will give priority to those that turn up early. So all good. Change over day we just collected our new cruise cards from reception and had a wonder around the ship – by midday everything was open as normal again, so that wasn’t too bad. We also didn’t have to do Muster Drill again – bonus! First impressions of the ship: Wow! We love the décor and the star burst in the atrium was amazing – everything so clean and fresh. Many say there appears to be no atmosphere in the Atrium - but we don’t agree with that, we loved it! We found the ship quite easy to navigate considering its size. There lack of midship stairs didn’t really bother us too much as we were close to the forward ones. The lifts are another story, or should I say the people using them! People would not look at which direction the lift was going and would get in one to go up and come back down, or worse still, give up and get out early or give up waiting and the lift would then stop for no reason. We did try to avoid them but sometimes its nice to be lazy. The pools were all open and clean, the main pool area was always busy, the quiet zone was a bit better. There was loads of sunbeds but I could imagine the best ones would fill up quick on a sea day somewhere hot and sunny. The aft decks were dirty and sooty even though they were cleaning them often – this is the only let down we could really find. There were flakes of soot – thankfully it was not an area we needed to visit often, just when having a little walk. I hope P&O have plans to resolve this somehow..?! Cabin: We were in F104 (F/9th deck, forward, HE grade, Balcony with Shower but without sofa). The cabin was light and airy, with good décor. There was a large TV, one bedside cabinet and tea and coffee making facilities. The hairdryer was nice and powerful and the fridge did a good job at keeping our wine cool. The balconies were ample for us – smaller than other ships but we could both comfortably sit out there. It had 2 chairs and a table with doors each side that could be opened if you also had the cabin next door. There was lots of hanging space and a further cupboard with the safe in it between the bathroom and bedroom. They have the new lifejackets that have a strap that go between your legs, so practice before you go down to muster! The bathroom was clean and the shower was great too – with the glass door. The shower is bigger than our cube shower at home! Our cabin steward was Ayjay who worked hard and always had our room made up when we were out, bought us clean wine glasses daily and even organised things like an ice bucket and extra Champagne glasses for us when we had friends coming onboard – best steward we have met so far. Stewards you would walk past in the hall always give a hello and were friendly. We did find there was some vibrations during docking and also when the anchor was being dropped, but this was expected and as we were always up around 7am this was ok. Food: We dined in the Epicurean on the first night – the food and service in there was excellent. We also had Eric Lanlards afternoon tea here on a sea day but unfortunately it was far too sweet tasting for us, not something we would do again. We also tried Atul Kochhar Sindhu, again excellent food and cocktails. For breakfast we used Room service – this was very good and was delivered on time. We also had the hot breakfast in the MDR, the P&O breakfast was delicious. Our main dining room was the Meridian, as we were freedom dining we were always given a page for a table of 2, but by the time we were coming to the end of our drink we were getting called to dinner, perfect timing. Service and food in there was up to the usual P&O standard, very happy with it. We ventured in the Horizon a few times, could be a bit chaotic in there but the food was good. Midnight snacks here were also excellent. Handwashing facilities were operational with maybe only 1 or 2 taps not working but staff were on standby with hand gel or requesting you washed your hands. We looked at the Grab and Go, the selection looked good but didn’t try it. The burgers and hot dogs from the Lido Grill were very tasty, we had a lunchtime snack there a few times. We also enjoyed Afternoon tea in the Oriental – give me a constant supply of tea and I'm happy. During B617 we ordered 2 platters of Canapés to be delivered after muster on B618 as a welcome to our friends – these were mostly fish based and some of them were huge- tasty and well worth the £11 per platter (each platter served 4). Bars and Entertainment: We didn’t really go to see shows as this is not out cup of tea. We did pop our head in the Live Louge to see Badness and the Ventriloquist but they were too hot and busy for us, guess you need to be there early and not 10 minutes after they start as was in our case. The service in all the bars was excellent, though we did find you often had to ask for a menu, especially in the crows nest - no real bother though. I tried to work my way through the Gin menu in the crows nest, really liked it up there. While waiting for our pager to go off we would visit the Blue Bar as this was close by and had a really good feel about it. Quite a bit of time was spent in the Glass House. We had a few wine flights and food pairings. We also did a wine tasting here with Albert, he was excellent – we don't know much about wine so we did learn a lot from that midday session. The cost of this was £15 with 5 small glasses of wine and nibbles - about 2 hours long. That night Albert spent time with us talking some more about wine and trying to convert us in to Red wine drinkers (we always stick with the same old white wines) - he was excellent. A good tip: if you want to try a wine just ask for a taster and they will give you a tiny glass to try it, no need to be scared of trying a new wine there! Brodies also has a wide selection of Beers for thouse who don’t like the grape. Spa We took out a spa pass, £199 for both of us for the first 7 nights. Wasn’t worth it to be honest as we could have just had a day pass or two, but saying that had they sold out and not made day passes available (as we have had happen) would have been disappointed. The facilities within the spar were good, a hydro pool, hot beds, water beds, Sauna, 3 mood showers, a light sauna and a steam room. Only improvement would be maybe complimentary tea and coffee Retreat We spent one day here, £25 per person – after climbing 550m mountain we took full advantage of jacuzzi and bar service. Snacks and afternoon tea are also available up here. On a summer cruise, I would guess It's well worth the money to guarantee a sunbed and get away from the busy areas. On our port day, there was less than a dozen of us up there. Now, to finish off, I will return to the back to back aspect of the cruise. During B617 we had an amazing time and loved the ship, but once on B618 – the atmosphere completely changed. It was a party cruise, so that was expected but you could sense the staff were tired and rushed, they just were not as attentive as they were on the 7 nighter. The real let down on this was the guests! Stags and Hens, some who had no respect for the staff or Ship (c'mon, we even caught some guy about to urinate in the main pool area behind one of the fake leafy walls – think we got his attention quick enough so he didn’t!) - so because of this, we would never do a 2 night cruise on Britannia again. So overall, an amazing ship that exceeded our expectations – we would do it again tomorrow if we could! For those that have doubts about Britannia, don’t - just go with an open mind and you will love it!
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 30 Jun 2016
Author: Dee
Summary:  me and my husband went on this ship on November 2015 to the carribean. It was our first cruise and wow it was the best holiday we have had! The treatment was outstanding and we look forward to doing it again for my 50th.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 26 Jun 2016
Author: C A Thornton
Summary:  Having just returned from a 2 week cruse to the canaries. On the brittania. I have enjoyed the cruise very much. But I found the food rather mundane, not as expected. The cabins were very comfortable. Balconies were a Little small. The ship it's self was very nice. As you would expect of a new ship. Staff seemed tired.The worst part was that their was an out break of MRSA. Which was brought to the ships attention In our first week. Everything was done by the ship to stop it spreading, but it did. We assume it was on the ship when we boarded it was still their when the cruise was over. It was my first time with P&O, not sure if I will sail with them again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Jun 2016
Author: Chocolate Cup Cake
Summary:  Our first cruise to the Norwegian Fjords in April. A wonderful experience from the moment we embarked to the moment we drove out of Southampton a week later. Didn’t have to think and plan anything, so that equals relaxation for me. Embarkation in particular was a doddle. We chose freedom dining which suited us perfectly. We could be sociable on a shared table or sit quietly together as the mood took us. We didn’t have to wait for a table at any time. Food was excellent at all times in the Meridian restaurant. Food also good in the Horizon buffet but this got a bit busy at peak times. Entertainment was varied and high quality. We always found a seat at whichever venue we chose. The LED stage screen in the theatre is amazing and provides an immersive experience in conjunction with the side repeat displays. Super performances from the company who played three different shows during our week on board. House band Pulse excellent. Highly recommend the Limelight Club for an evening meal and show. We saw Eric and Little Ern who were very funny and uncannily like their namesakes. We were blessed with clear dry days on all our days in port and bright sunshine on most. Flaam, Bergen and Alesund were all stunning and very different. Stavanger harbour area was lovely, but the trip to Egersund we pre-booked from there disappointed. A long way and only a half hour look around the Town. The promised chocolate factory is a shop with a kitchen area behind the counter. Cabin small but perfectly formed and the bed very comfortable. No complaints at all. Our cabin attendant was discrete and courteous as were all staff we spoke to on board. Beer (most important) premium brands and only slightly more expensive than back at home. Britannia presents internally unpretentious elegance in a kind of contemporary deco style. Beautiful finishes complement all public areas. Other ships may offer more bling, but I can’t think of anything to criticise about the internal décor of Britannia. The only negative observation we would make would be to repeat other reviewer’s comments regarding a minority of ‘experienced cruisers’. They really got on your pip after a while, perpetually moaning, requesting special meal preparations for the day ahead and negatively comparing their many previous voyages. Staff had to be so patient. From our experience of this cruise, P&O provide an excellent balance of cost and value. If you want truffled foie-gras with Waldorf’s at every sitting and someone to carry you physically round the ship, cruises 10 times the cost are available. Newbie Britannia cruisers can skip over the gangplank in confidence. They are in for a great experience on a truly excellent modern ship. If we can get a good deal, Britannia round the Med next May is our first choice next cruise.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback