Good afternoon, we have expert advice, cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals on the widest
selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6612

P&O Aurora Reviews

A great range of Aurora reviews written by our customers. To write your own Aurora review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 20 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (8)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (9)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (0)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line Cruise Ship Destination

Latest Aurora Reviews

12>
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 31 Dec 2013
Author: S Cooksey
Summary:  Never been with P&O before but have read many reviews about Aurora, some good and some not so good. Went for twelve days in November 2013. The ship was great, people friendly and food great. The ship was better than the reviews I had read, getting on and off the ship was great and had an excellent time.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 30 Apr 2013
Author: Mrs Nancy Chappell
Summary:  Just returned from a 20 day cruise flying to Dubai and cruising back to Southampton. Stops included Safaga for Luxor and Valley of the Kings. Sokhna for Pyramids, Sphinx and Sakkara, Transit of Suez Canal, Limassol, Haifa for Jerusalem and Bethlehem, Civitavecchia for Rome and Lisbon. It was the final leg of the Round the World Cruise and we booked it because we wanted to go to the places that were on this final leg. We had a very good cruise, good food, Not so good entertainment, excellent excursions, and good weather throughout. Passengers who had been on the cruise from the beginning (800) were getting ready for home and lots of them were saying that they had had enough and would be glad to get home. As we were only just starting on our holiday this was a bit off putting and I do not think we would choose the last leg of a cruise again for this reason. However, as I said, we really enjoyed our trip, our favourite being Jerusalem and Bethlehem but all our excursions were good and well informed, in fact too well informed as it was not possible to take in all the information given on each tour. The staff on the Aurora were excellent right from the top. Captain Neil Turnbull was the best Captain we have sailed with. His humour was infectious and he did two shows on stage in the theatre, one a cooking show and the other an interview. He definitely leads by example and I am sure is very well respected by all his crew. Our cabin (Balcony) was kept very well, always nice and clean. The waiters in the dining room in the evening were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. If you did not like something they would bring something else for you. The ship is getting rather old now and could do with a spruce up in certain areas but on the whole, it was a very comfortable ship and easy to find your way around. There were always lots of sun beds and the ship never looked as though is was full, perhaps the opposite. You could always get a bed in whatever place you wanted and sometimes there were only about 4 people up on the very top deck. The entertainment was weak and lots of the shows we had seen before on other P & O ships. We did not see the Cruise director until our 10th day aboard and someone told us he was busy doing paper work ready for arriving in Southampton. Sometimes acts on stage were not introduced which we felt was very bad. We prefer the bigger ships like the Azura and Ventura which seem to have much more atmosphere, but as I have said, lots of the passengers had had enough cruising and were wanting to get home which did not help things along. However, altogether we had a really lovely holiday and saw the places which we had been wanting to go to. The sights were amazing and something we would recommend to anyone. We are now looking forward to our next cruise. Bring it on!
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 28 Apr 2013
Author: Jackie Green
Summary:  Just returned from a 2 night mini cruise to Guernsey with P&O. The cabin was really comfortable (balcony view) and catered well for all your needs. The ship had various entertainment shows on offer however it was a little difficult to find out where these were. The only downside was that P&O don't offer many extras for free. Ice cream and soft drinks (cokes/lemonades etc) all have to be paid for, they only offer water as a free soft drink! Also the buffet area was very cramped and queuing was experienced on both days. Food was quite basic and didn't offer much of a choice however there was always something that you could have. The main table service dining experience was very well catered for and the breakfast was a fast and efficient service. Overall the cruise was great value for money however if you want a little more luxury and want more options available in the general buffet areas then I would recommend Celebrity cruises. They just have the edge on P&O with what is on offer and the service they provide to all their guests. Was a little disappointed that the reception staff were not as helpful as one would expect however on a 2 day cruise there is very little that can be offered especially when the ship is completely full. In summary, well worth trying this cruise if it's your first time as it gives you a flavour of what you can expect.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Apr 2013
Author: Linda
Summary:  We are going on the lovely Aurora for the second time later this month and, having been on larger ships Azura and Ventura along with Cunard's Queen Victoria, must say it is our favourite. We are going with two other couples, three of whom have never cruised before and I am sure they will be converts! Bigger isn't always better - I want to try Adonia too.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 17 Dec 2012
Author: Mr F.g. Waters
Summary:  My wife & I have just returned from a 23 night cruise on the Aurora, our first cruise on this ship, although we have cruised on other ships with P&O before. Without doubt, this ship & it's crew are a credit to P&0. We had a wonderful holiday with the entertainment on board very good, the food top notch & the price of drinks very fare. I drink lager & a pint of draught Stella worked out at about £3-50 a pint wich compared to other ships we have been on, was very good value. All the crew, including our cabin steward, our two waiters at evening dinner, waiters in the orangeary & in all the bars were all polite & very friendly. We met some lovely people on board and the ships captain kept all on board well informed of what was going on when we hit a bit of bad weather. The Aurora is so far, the smallest ship we have cruised on but my wife & I think that for all round value, enjoyment & friendlyness, the Aurora is very high up in our estimation, and as Arnie said, WE WILL BE BACK, a great holiday on a great ship.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 22 Nov 2012
Author: Kerri Mccaulay
Summary:  I worked on board this ship for two years and loved it. It was like a family on board. The ship is a nice size, as not too big and very easy to navigate, you don't get lost too much. It is an older ship, however the decor and amenities on board are perfect for P&O passengers. The food and service on board is superb and, as this is a smaller ship, the staff remember your name quickly and you get that familiar feeling with them. I have been with P&O a few times and love this ship the most.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 04 Sep 2012
Author: Richard
Summary:  Aurora Iberia August 2012 Surprised to see a virtually empty terminal for embarkation at 12.30, checked in and on board in 15 minutes!! The Captain did warn of storm force 7 or 8 on the first night and boy he was right, heavy seas and high winds made for a very bumpy night and following day, it wasn`t much better until late afternoon when it did calm down. Although around half the ship seemed to be stricken with sea sickness, i thought Aurora coped very well in the conditions compared to other ships we have sailed on. Vigo was stop number one, being a Sunday very little was open, but its quite a nice place to walk around, the weather was lovely around 23 degrees and sunny. Lisbon was stop number two, a busy city centre with a wide variety of shops and historical buildings, heavy police presence around the city, which we found quite re-assuring, given that Lisbon is well known for pick pocketing and petty crime, another hot sunny day after a cloudy start. Day at sea, warm and sunny with Dolphins swimming in the sea, wonderful sight!! Guernsey was supposed to be stop number three, but due to heavy sea swell the tenders from the ship were unable to operate safely, disappointing for us as it was the only port on the cruise we had not visited before, but we could see from our cabin the test run of the tenders and they were not coping at all well in the swell. The Captain made the decision to abandon the call and headed for Le Havre, the next destination, for an overnight stop. Le Havre has a great shopping mall "Les Docks" with many major designer stores and other retail outlets. The Town centre is rather spread out and a lot of leg work needed to negotiate the area. Pretty dreary day, cloudy and not that warm either for an August day. Right, the ship itself, its our first time on Aurora and not sure what to expect given the wildly differing reviews. In our opinion its not in desperate need for a re-fit, some public room furnishings are looking a bit tired, but nothing drastic. The duty free shop on board is a big bonus, Lite bottles of spirits for £10.00!! The other shops are Mayfair and Piccadilly which sell a range of clothing, gifts, perfumes etc at fairly high prices. The other little shop sells day to day items such as sweets, crisps, also a range of toiletries. Dining on board we found to be generally very good, the main restaurants were busy and the food very good, The Orangery for more casual evening dining was a bit hit and miss, average food with average quality, the breakfasts and lunches were much better. The Cafe Bordeaux was well worth the £7.50 a head surcharge for dinner, quality and service was supreme, has Marco Pierre White quality stamped all over it. Also we tried the Pennant Grill for dinner, again a surcharge but again well worth it, open decked restaurant, a very mild evening, excellent quality food served by willing waiters, would recommend to try dining here. Overall all the staff were helpful and with a smile, our cabin steward was very good, he done the job efficiently without ever being intrusive, top marks. We did have a water cut off one morning to the cabin due to a blockage elsewhere, but were un-affected by this, as we were off ship when the problem was rectified. Entertainment on board is generally very good, with two theatres providing evening entertainment and something going on in most other bars day and night. Seems a more relaxed ship than some others we have sailed on with P and O, child friendly with plenty to do for the younger ones, all in all a very enjoyable cruise despite missing the Guernsey stop. Please do not take any notice of other comments criticising this ship, there are no major problems: cabins are modern, bright and clean, more TV channels also added, food and entertainment is good. Book without hesitation. We will definitely be sailing again on Aurora
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 12 Mar 2012
Author: Scotsjoe
Summary:  Cruised the Caribbean on Aurora November to December 2011 my wife and I have cruised before on other cruise liners but I found the Aurora faultless there were the usual moaners on there who will find fault with the food the drink the accommodation smokers waiters etc etc the bar prices were excellent its not a moan but they don’t sell session lagers only Stella which is head banging lager we could bring our own booze on board and the duty free was so cheap great deal if you bought it on board you kept it to drink or take home. Made some great friends on board still in contact the waiters were great we had a good laugh with them the captain was a star he went round the ship talking to everyone even came and sat for 20 mins with us on the deck upstairs where we all smoked. One unfortunate thing that happened on the cruise was the left hand side of the ship was for smoking but on the way to the Caribbean the sun was on that side so all the non smokers came to this side and whinged because they wanted to sit there without us smokers around. The entertainment was great the crew were great they put on shows as well. Great selection of food highly recommend this ship and we are sailing on it again
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Feb 2012
Author: Ron25
Summary:  WE also were on the 5 weeks cruise departing from Southampton on Nov 2011, the ship was as steady as a rock I’m told this is one of the steadiest ships on the ocean no matter what like the seas are, we also met many new friends on this ship we had an excellent time, the 5 weeks past before you knew it. Food was very good we tried various restaurants, we were allocated the Meridan dinning room and had a table for 6 and everyone got on extremely well so much so we have already been to visit one of the couples, on our table, we also sampled the cafe Bordeaux which was very pleasant for lunch or breakfast very civilised compared the the orangy lideo, the best shows were put on by the staff, and yes as I see in other reviews the pantomime was the tops. I totally agree, we were on a deck and you didn’t here a thing you just thought you were in a 5 star hotel, staff were very polite and helpful, we have just booked another P&O cruise on the ORIANA going back out to the Caribbean in April.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 27 Dec 2011
Author: Tim Miller
Summary:  This was my first cruise; I went on a 5 weeks cruise departing on the 14th November 2011 which went to the Caribbean area and wow! Aurora is a splendid ship with good British officers and a mix from either Goa the Philippines crew who were simply faultless. Everything was just right including the quality of the food and the price of the cruise. I have already booked the January 2012 world cruise on Aurora. To my mind if you find faults it's probably a hobby or trait of yours. The shows were excellent and I would not miss the crew’s panto or the crews show for all the tea in China. I obviously met many people on board who all had fine words about the ship and it's worth noting it is considered very stable in bad conditions. A couple of people said they preferred another companies ships, I guess I should not really comment as I have not been on one, however the reasons put to me were quite trivial in almost all cases. I understand some ships and lines offer even more dining rooms / dining areas and bigger portions than others, but for me I put on enough weight as it was. I found the drinks price the same as pub prices which was also pleasant surprise. In all departments my expectations were either met or indeed exceeded.
12>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

You money is 100% guaranteed when you book a holiday with Iglucruise
Feefo logo
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

Vote for us in the Cruise International Awards 2014

Vote for Iglu as
Best Cruise Agent 2014

View Our Awards

View Our Awards Including
14 awards in 2013

What our customers say

"Hi I would like to thank IGLU CRUISE for arranging my latest amazing cruise and especially the private excursions you booked for us, the guides were fantastic and really made our experience in Mumbai and Colombo unforgettable.

thankyou again,

Gill & Rick.
(April 2014)

Read more feedback