Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0208 544 6612

P&O Aurora Reviews

A great range of Aurora reviews written by our customers. To write your own Aurora review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 45 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (17)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (21)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (5)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (1)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Aurora Reviews

User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 19 May 2015
Author: J. Schofield
Summary:  First time with P&O and on the Aurora. Cabin was fine, plenty of room for clothes. Restaurants were well fitted out, but choice of menus was limited when compaired to other cruise lines we have been on. Food was average and portions were small. Entertainment onboard was excellant and very professional. Ship did have problem with generators and some of the toilets would not flush. But this was probably due to passengers trying to flush away what they should not.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 May 2015
Author: S Favell
Summary:  This was a first cruise. Just a taster to see if we would become converts . On arrival at Southampton port our luggage was taken swiftly by the attendants and we were ushered to the main departure lounge. It was well organised and plenty of P & O staff ready to help. Our time slot was 1pm for embarkment but we arrived early , gaining us time for a quick coffee before we boarded. The whole process from being checked in having our photos taken and being issued with a ships pass card was far simpler then flying and ran so smoothly and we felt no stress or pressure. We were so surprised with the lay of the ship. It was managable and sign posted so clearly and again the staff were so helpful. We were advised that our cabins would be ready from around 3pm and shown to the lunch prepared in the Horizone resturant which is buffet style. Fabulous selection and so clean. The seating areas were clean and well maintained by the resturant staff. This gave us time to get our bearings and study the ships map, which is a must for first timers. On arrival to our cabin we were met by Donald our cabin attendant for the trip and given our dining option which was Freedom dining. Our room was well equipped with beach,bath,hand and face towels as well as beautifully soft robes and complimentary slippers, very nice. The bed was a queen and a good size and very comfortable. We had a small sofa, mini fridge with complimentary water on arrival . The room overall was very well decorated and a free safe to use was an added bonus. The wardrobes are spacious for two people. We later took a tour of the ship and we were so taken back by the various resturant and bars and the library was a relaxing place next to the Crows nest , where the view really is amazing. The cinema is of a good size to sit back and enjoy a movie in the very comfortable seats. We did visit the gym which had new and up today's equipment and an instructor on hand. We used the outdoor running track a first for us to run on a ship, fab. We didn't use the pool as weather to cold for us but families made good use of them and the jacuzzi's. In the evening the shows were brilliant, was worried as Butlins did come to mind! They were colourful, great music and the audiences were up and clapping , fantastic. From start to finish we had a famous time and not forgetting the food morning, brunch,afternoon and evening was of a high standard. ( take care as its easy to easy to over eat! Well I suppose that's what holidays are all about. ) Sadly our only down side was not getting into port at Brugge. The weather was deemed to be unsafe and the Captiain said a day at sea instead was unfortunate but necessary . Our itinerary had been changed four times in the run up to our holiday date again weather was the problem. I would have preferred to have done Brugge first and not missed out on that but sadly not only did we miss out on Brugge we also missed out on Guernseys Independence day ! However, we did not allow this to dampen our trip and YES we will be booking another trip. This time with some sun to enjoy the outside decks a little more next time.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 19 May 2015
Author: Joyce Gale
Summary:  Lovely ship and excellent service, our favourite as not to big. Went to Norway our five times been there a few changes not much over thirty years.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 28 Apr 2015
Author: Maureen Utting
Summary:  Our balcony cabin was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and well looked after by our excellent cabin steward Amir. The food was very good with a huge selection at all meals. The many bars were well staffed, as was the dining rooms. The entertainment was varied with many good shows. The information given about every aspect on board and for the ports was very helpful. The staff were the best I have come across on a ship. Nothing was too much trouble and they gave 150% service to everyone. I cannot praise them enough. This was our first trip on the Aurora and we will certainly be cruising on her again. Many fellow passengers had cruised on her many times which is a good recommendation.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 25 Apr 2015
Author: L J Lane
Summary:  We have just spent 24 nights on the Aurora [San Francisco to Southamton]. All ports of call very good please do not send us with British Airways again very poor
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 05 Apr 2015
Author: Kay Derrick
Summary:  We were allocated room c627 - a balcony which was perfectly adequate and which got the sun for most of the day. Booked a transatlantic cruise flying to Barbados to puck up the boat then st Lucia and Antigua and st Maarten, five days at sea then Azores and three more days at sea. Downside at the very beginning was that the plane landed and we were not told that we were getting straight on a coach for a 45 min drive to the port - boiling hot weather and no toilets or water until you got to the dock after a very bumpy ride. The hanger was extremely hot and many people were feeling very faint! However once on the boat it all melted away and we got our cabin (air condition). The islands and tours were very beautiful - however although we are pleased we have 'done' a transatlantic I don't think we would again - I would much rather have more time on the various islands. We were also allocated freedom dining - we had not had this before on our previous two trips but would whole heartedly recommend it; we never had more than a five minute wait so long as we didn't mind sharing a table ( which we didn't as we lived meeting so many new people) . The food was, as usual, excellent and I think we must have put on at least half a stone each ! The boot is going in for a refit so as soon as we docked at Southampton on Good Friday there were workmen on the ship - it will be interesting to see what the boat looks like after as although it was clean and tidy and very large - it was looking a bit tired in places. The booking of the trip through Iglu was painless and very easy and we will continue to use them (this is the third time of booking through them).
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Mar 2015
Author: Varley
Summary:  Although the weather was a bit ify and the sea a bit lumpy, this was in no way the fault of the ship.The days delay in sailing and the consequential omitting of La Corruna from ports of call was initially put down to heavy Atlantic seas but later 'rumoured ' to have been an engine fault. The compensation of £25 onboard spend plus two glasses of wine each ( if asked for) was perhaps a bit mean. However the food was very good and all the staff were pleasant and friendly and went out of their way to be of assistance. A criticism would be that at times the service at dinner was a bit slow and we missed the first performance of the show on three occasions but this might have had something to do with the open dining times and talking to so many different people(as well). The entertainment was first class and the Headliners were superb as were the speakers and most of the guest artists. Overall,an enjoyable cruise,the disappointment with the weather softened by the facilities of the ship and crew.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 19 Jan 2015
Author: Jeremy Henwood
Summary:  I sailed on the pre-Christmas 2014 cruise to Zeebrugge. I was interested in seeing if the refit had improved the Aurora. Possibly, because I downgraded to a balcony offer, far less than the original price, but from then on, things became bad. No information on departure times, no information on cabin allocation. The good part was the new Sindhu restaurant, which lifted the meals from mediocre to good, at least for one meal. Even the new so-called fast lugage system did not work. We were late departing and arriving at each port. Queuing to dis-embark at Zeebrugge and even more annoying queuing to re-board in the freezing cold for over 30 minutes. The whole organisation was amateurish, example having only one security post operating to board the ship.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 22 Dec 2014
Author: Julia Baynes
Summary:  Have just returned from a mini cruise to Bruges and had a wonderful, albeit far too short, time onboard Aurora. This was our third trip on a P&O ship (having been on the Azura and Oceana) and did not feel that it was quite up to the very high standard of the previous two. The ship has just been through a £30 million re-fit and the décor was outstanding. However, there were a few issues which definitely need addressing. The cabins were lovely but our friend's bathroom had a filthy & mould covered shower curtain. The coathangers in our wardrobe were a terrible collection of wooden, old wire hangers and plastic 'Next' clothes shop hangers! Not what I wish to hang my holiday clothes on! Food in the waiter service dining room was absolutely excellent but spoiled by the slow service of the wine waiter. We were onto our main course and had no wine. We asked them to delay the food until this had been rectified and the food was left sitting on the side - it then had to be returned as it was stone cold! None of these things were major but means that I have to mark down the experience we received.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Dec 2014
Author: Michael Bennoson
Summary:  Excellent food, service, entertainment and value for money. Ship was in desperate need of refurbishment which is now occurring in Hamburg after this last cruise .Staterooms were tired and furniture needed replacement as well as updating of bathrooms and carpets throughout ship. Would certainly cruise with P&O again.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

fv
Feefo logo
Iglu Best Price Guarantee!
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

We had a great time on the Thomson Spirit cruise which you booked for us at short notice. Having booked late Monday afternoon was impressed by service as we had our E ticket by Tuesday lunch. Thank you for a very efficient service

W. Dallas
(May 2015)

Read more feedback