02038483611
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3611
We're Open

MSC Opera Reviews

A great range of MSC Opera reviews written by our customers. To write your own MSC Opera review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 39 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (14)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (19)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (2)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest MSC Opera Reviews

1234>
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 14 Nov 2016
Author: Neil Burtenshaw Iglu Cruise Staff, Iglu Cruise Sales Consultant
Summary:  Nice ship, very long since her new section... Lively, fun and very European... Obviously aimed at the Italian Market but all Nationalities are made to feel very welcome. Italian, French, Spanish and English are main ones and in that order... For example the Pianist in La Carabela sang in both English and Italian (i preferred Italian!) Everything is translated however the main language onboard is English. MSC don't do constant announcements in the various tongue unless absolutely necessary, i'm Pleased to say... The food was superb! Freshly made Pizza and Pasta from 10am-2am, like MaMa used to make, the buffet food was very nice and international. The main dining was excellent and varied and tantamount to fine dining with Themed Evenings and three Gala Evenings in a 12 Night Cruise. No freedom dining here! (Unless you are Aurea or Yacht Club Level) Most people adhered to the dress code... The entertainment in the main Piazza was geared toward ballroom dancing and latin and ballroom dancing lessons were twice a day but for ALL ages and all ages got involved (the E Dancers are very young) The E Team were great fun and laid back and interacted like friends with the Guests, lot's of quizzes, bingo, sport games at the pool bar and the staff are generally very friendly if a little cheeky at times but in a nice way... Impossible to get bored! The Allegrissimo Drinks Package was Superb value and the drinks are international labels and good quality. Our Balcony Cabin was a good size although would prefer a sofa between the second bed and the Balcony for ease of access. Great and instant reaction from the air con and Bathroom was a very nice size, even for me! Good cupboard and drawer space for to heavy travelers and extra coat hangers were readily available. I removed my Tips from my account and wasn't questioned about this at all. Excursions were well organised, timely and good value. Couldn't fault the holiday at all!
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 03 Apr 2016
Author: Jane
Summary:  The ship was great - very clean, small but perfectly planned cabin. We had an ocean view on deck 8, this was perfect because the pools are deck 11, bars and restaurants deck 5. The food was excellent, and the drinks package was well worth it, with a huge range of cocktails, ice cream and water included, although the wines were a little disappointing. We always followed the dress code, but were a bit disappointed that many people didn't bother especially on the formal nights, which spoilt the atmosphere a bit. Second sitting was very late at 9.30 so we opted for first at 7pm, which was a bit early. Shows were quite dull. Pools were good and there are lots of sunbeds. We did our own thing at each port, and had no problem finding taxis to take us around Jamaica, Cozumel and Havana. We used Moby Dick tours for a great sting ray experience in Cayman. Embarkation was easy and well organised, as was disembarkation.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2015
Author: Tessa Ley
Summary:  Cannot believe some of the poor reviews. We travelled on the Grand Voyage from Southampton to Cape Town last October, 21 glorious nights on the Opera. Excellent food and great staff. Excellent entertainment. First cruise with MSC but not our last. Great value for money.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Dec 2014
Author: Paul Gribben And Gill
Summary:  This was an excellent cruise. Luckily we had a drinks package which was excellent value for money. Cabin was excellent. Cleaned daily. Food was generally good. Staff were friendly and attentive. Port stops could have been longer. Ship was in good condition. We both agreed we wouldn't hesitate to book another msc opera cruise.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 12 Oct 2014
Author: Debbie Crabtree
Summary:  Excellent value for money, could not fault for the money we paid. Rooms were cleaned twice daily, and there was practically 24 hours food, cannot believe that people could moan as there was such a variety to choose from. We ate in the restaurant each evening and had a different meal each night. There was entertainment each evening and yes they did announcements in each of the languages but that is only to be expected. Would definitely book with MSC again and would recommend to others.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Oct 2014
Author: Dunkym
Summary:  Having just returned from a 12 day European Cruise on MSC Opera and reading some scathing reviews of the ship I would like to record my amazement on how these reviews could possibly be justified. With regard to all the provisions of the ship and staff their attention to detail and passenger satisfaction were excellent. The cleanliness of the vessel and the standard of the food was superb.The Restaurant and cabin staff could not have been more courteous and caring. Embarkation and disembarkation could not have been handled better (in our case less than thirty minutes each). The only area that I think could have been improved on was the time ashore at each of the ports visited. Overall the cruise was fantastic value for money and I will certainly use MSC again.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 09 Oct 2014
Author: Patricia Edwards
Summary:  Second time around for this ship and itinerary. Was it better or worse, well bits of both. The entertainment was better than last year but that isn't saying much, last year was rubbish. Food on the whole not bad. This ship is going in for a chop and extension in May next year. I hope then they fit some stabilizers that work for the comfort of the passengers and crew when the Delaware rough. They must have had a lot of wasted food this year with so many passengers not leaving their cabins or even having cabin service. Many of the crew did not even know how to smile, not sure if this is their nature or if they are worried about their jobs for next year. Certainly won't be hoping for third time lucky on this ship.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 02 Oct 2014
Author: Pauline Whiteman
Summary:  My husband and I have cruised twice on the opera, and both times could find no faults. The crew were very polite and could not do enough for us. The food in main restaurant was very delicious and varied. The self service restaurant was a bit noisy at breakfast, but this was due to other passengers shouting rather that talking, MSC cannot be blamed for their behavior. We are sure other ships also have this problem. But in the main restaurant breakfast was much more refined, so people should go there instead. Excursions are a bit pricey but we always do our own thing, so no problem there. Our first cruise was to Norway, and hardly any children onboard, the last one was to Iberia and had a lot of children, the parents seemed to let them run wild its as though they do not care who their children upset as long as they have a good time. This is also not MSC's fault. So we would say, their are always people who will find fault, but we can honestly say we would not hesitate to cruise on the Opera again, in fact looking forward to seeing it when it has been lengthened next year, just hope it does not spoil it.
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Sep 2014
Author: Barbara
Summary:  My first cruise was spent aboard MSC Opera I went with three girlfriends and we had a fantastic time. We had two inside cabins, which included a drinks package and car parking I had read some bad reviews about the "Opera" which were to say the least "disappointing" So it was with some apprehension I boarded the MSC Opera on the 17th September 2014. From the moment we parked the car our holiday began! No heavy suitcases to lug about all the staff were very courteous our cabins were spotless the decor on the ship was delightful. The dining room staff looked after us and nothing was too much trouble. The food and drink was plentiful and varied the cabin steward looked after us, again nothing was too much trouble. The shows were good, sometimes not so good but the entertainment staff were excellent, very friendly, how they keep smiling hour after hour is amazing. If you are looking for value for money then I would recommend MSC I will definitely sail with MSC again. Down side: The inside cabins were adequate for two people, but for four too small. Would I recommend MSC Cruises? Definitely YES. Will I cruise again? Definitely YES
Ship: MSC Opera
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 29 Sep 2014
Author: Debbie Crabtree
Summary:  We returned from our first cruise on 17 September 2014 and were a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, however we have had a fantastic holiday and have met some lovely people. The embarkation and disembarkation were excellent. The ship was spotless and our cabin was cleaned twice daily and towels were changed in the evening when the bed was turned down. We found all of the staff we dealt with to be friendly and professional, however we too made the effort by trying to converse in their language, why do Brits feel that all other Nationalities should speak our language, given that we were on an Italian Ship. OK some of the shows were a little long winded after translation into five languages, by the end of the cruise we had picked up some of the words and perhaps some of the shows were not to our taste but we accept that the ship has to try to cater to everyones needs. The food was perfectly acceptable to us - not wow but then again we did not pay a wow price for the cruise. The Cheers drinks package was excellent and definitely suited our needs. The only complaint if there is one is that we did not stay long enough in the ports, which were mainly half days but Le Havre was brilliant and we got to spend time with the locals. We were seated for dinner with 6 other people who were all English speaking - again I feel this was a lovely touch by MSC. All in all we had a brilliant holiday and would not hesitate to book again and to the man who complained that all he could eat was cheese sandwiches I would suggest that no one will ever please him and he needs some therapy.
1234>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback