Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3611
We're Closed

MSC Lirica Reviews

A great range of MSC Lirica reviews written by our customers. To write your own MSC Lirica review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 13 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (2)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (3)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (5)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship

Latest MSC Lirica Reviews

User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 04 Oct 2014
Author: Riana Nelson
Summary:  The ship was lovely and so were the staff and service. Only feedback we want to leave is that we were disappointed with the entertainment staff since their ability to communicate in English was very limited. This at times made us feel excluded. Housekeeping and catering was fantastic and the staff brilliant. Was a great introduction to cruising - thank you to Peter from Iglu for helping to choose this first experience.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 29 Sep 2014
Author: John Dooley
Summary:  A lovely clean and roomy ship with a number of bars and all public areas spotless. We had a sea view room on the 9th deck. Cabin spacious enough but limited on wardrobe space for a longer journey. There is a safe and a small cupboard behind the mirror which we found on the last day after another guest at our table told us (a small sticker or a note in the room guide would have been ideal!). An expensive mini bar and bottled water is available in your room but beware it is not included in the Allegrissimo drinks package . Don't be tempted, there are plenty of `beverage stations` around if you want tea coffee or water. We paid 23 euros each a day for the drinks package . We easily got our moneys worth with wine at meals, lagers and cocktails through out the evening , plus ice creams and smoothies. A few brands such as JD and premium spirits not included but plenty of suitable alternatives. Heineken, Newcastle Brown, Amstel and Murphys bitter on draft and well kept . Bar and restaurant service ample if a bit slow at peak periods but no big deal (Im on holiday, no rush !). Restaurants and buffets all had an excellent choice of menus and plentiful. Also pizzas and grill bars on deck. One large pool split into 3 areas for either kids or adults with a fountain type area and hot tub. Always busy. No real language barrier except at Reception which is ironic as I would have expected them to be fluent in languages required onboard! As English, we were in the minority. Theatre shows revolve around latin American dancing and can get a bit `samey` unless youre into Strictly Come Dancing every night and some heavy accented singing into English which can grate after a while. Full marks for effort though and the mostly Italian and Spanish guests seem enthusiastic enough. Poolside entertainment a bit naff though with some audience participation which can be a bit squirmish!! Very Italian and child orientated but space to chill in the relaxing bars ( basically all the same, just different colour furniture) and most you can smoke in too but the air con copes well enough. Mixed age groups but a large group of Italian youths on the last night which caused a few raised eyebrows during dinner, not helped by the staff continuing to serve them alcohol even though a couple were definitely under age. As for dress codes , they print it in the daily newsletter but no one seems to take too much notice . Theme nights were Italian night , 60s/70s and Carnival. As you don't get notice until the day how can you pack? Hence not many took part. Overall - hardworking, mostly friendly crew, big on effort, low on choice entertainment, mainly ( loud, rude ) Italian guests. Our third cruise , 1st with MSC, and very hit and miss for my liking but as they say, you cant please all the people all the time. Me? I will stick with P&O or Cunard . TOP TIP - get a drinks package.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 08 Mar 2014
Author: Jan Taylor
Summary:  I have recently returned from a cruise in and around Dubai, sailing on MSC Lirica. The ship was excellent, very clean and the staff were attentive and pleasant. The only complaint I would have is that the food could have been better. I would have no hesitation in sailing with MSC again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 26 Feb 2014
Author: Margaret Edwards
Summary:  Returned from cruise to Dubai 15th Feb had a lovely cruise the Lirica is a lovely ship and the crew could not do enough for you. We would certainly cruise with this ship again.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2014
Author: Sue Farrell
Summary:  We have just returned from our cruise on the Lirica to Emirates. The ship is absolutely immaculate and furnished to a high standard. We loved every minute and the staff and facilities were great, cannot recommend highly enough.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 02 Dec 2013
Author: May Bell
Summary:  Just returned from a MSC cruise in Dubai, the ship was fine and food in the restaurant was good although up in the buffet we found the food was always cold. My gripe was you were asked to pay for water at the dinner table which has been free on all other cruises also the staff did not insist the guests use the hand cleanser before entering the dining room. Other than Abu Dabi the rest of the Emirates are not ready for tourism yet, there is not a lot to do or see especially Kashab MSC charges 5 euros for a bus to take you to the city only when you get there you find nothing but a few dusty shops no taxis so its not worth it.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 24 Jan 2013
Author: Pespii Toussaint
Summary:  Oh I love MSC lirica! It was a wonderful experience for us, especially my son and my nephew. The staff were lovely, they were very nice with the kids and the food was great, just that the drinks were too expensive. During lunch and dinner one should be served water or juice. Some of their policy in these matters should be reviewed. Most of we had lots of fun and would like to go back...
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 31 Mar 2012
Author: Dawn Richardson
Summary:  Cruise dates 10 - 31 March 2012. After booking this 21 day MSC cruise with from Dubai to Southampton I read a few reviews which made me feel I had made a big mistake. Gladly I can say that my own experience of MSC Lirica was very positive. All the crew were very friendly and helpful and I never experienced any of the problems which seem to have effected some other passengers. The restaurant and bar staff were always very keen to help and I never felt we were being rushed in any way. The balcony suites are very clean, stylish and well cared for. In addition, they are larger than the ones I have seen on many P&O ships. The beds are also very comfortable and the baths in there rooms were double the size of my previous ones on a P&O Ship. The public areas were also modern and stylish and very clean. None of my family had any serious issues with any of the food on board either. The ship is run by an Italian company so you have to expect that some of the food will be Italian or at least European. My daughter used the kids club most of the days on the cruise and enjoyed it. They have a varied programme for the children which includes going to the evening shows in the theatre. The evening entertainment was generally of a high standard. Of course, the entertainment team had to cope with dealing with at least 4 different national groups on board (British, German, Italian and Spanish), and I thought they did a good job of it. The in-cabin TV service needs to have more TV channels in English. Also having the same 6 films on the movie channel for 3 weeks is not good and needs to be improved. On our cruise about 50% of the 1700 passengers were German or Austrian and this seemed to cause a few problems for some of the British guests. People have to appreciate that Germans are different to the British, as are Italians and Spanish. If you don't like mixing with Europeans, then book cruises with other companies who cater for purely British tastes. As for saying that Germans are ignorant, well I can safely say that I also met some very ignorant British passengers on the ship and their sole purpose on the cruise was to complain about everything. I am unsure why someone claiming to be a passenger on the same cruise is saying that many of the goods bought in the on-board shops is fake. All the items we purchased were genuine and very well priced. Like some other passengers I was also effected by the decision not to go to Abu Dhabi. I did check this out as I heard all the rumours that were being floated around. The Abu Dhabi port authorities stopped the ship going to Abu Dhabi and it had nothing to do with MSC saving money. All I can say is that my family had a very positive experience aboard MSC Lirica and I would certainly book another cruise with them. I think if you go on holiday with a positive attitude and are willing to mix with other nationalities, then you will have a great experience. Some people just want to complain and they could do that just as well by staying at home. MSC are not Cunard (and don't charge Cunard prices) but they are improving all the time. In summary, a great cruise which was enjoyed by the whole family.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Nov 2011
Author: Delia Caneppele
Summary:  I cruised on the Lirica around the Mediterranean in August 2011 and it was the most amazing experience ever. From the minute you step onboard the ship you feel like you are living in a dream of pure 5 star luxury, with one of the incredibly freindly MSC staff taking your bag to your cabin and another member of staff introducing themselves as your cabin attendant to cater for your every need. The cabin was cleaned twice daily and there seemed to be staff constantly polishing the gold banisters and mirrors on this esquisite looking ship. All the staff were amazing, helpful and got to know you on a first name basis, particularly the English rep, our waiter and the kids club staff. The children settled into the kids club straight away despite there not seeming to be any other English kids and my son cried on the last night when I said he had to say goodbye to the kids club staff as we were leaving the next day. The food was fantastic- quality Italian dishes, the only quibble is that as always with Italian food there was a lot of pork on the menu which limited choices for my children who are Muslim. The excursions, although a bit pricey, were really informative and interesting. At some ports like Rome or Majorca, however, I found it was more cost effective to organise my own excursion, but this was not possible in ports like Marseille where the ship was docked too far away from any public transport. The evening entertainment was varied and lively, I wasn't that impressed with the cabaret to start with but it seemed to get better as the week went on. Drinks and photos were a bit pricey but with quality restaurant meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner you can't really complain. You could also have breakfast brought to your cabin for free. The itinerary was really good, although some days the ship docked early at the port meaning an early start which was tiring to say the least. It was a bit of a whirlwind adventure, if I did it again I would probably not go off the ship every single day, but spend a couple of days relaxing onboard instead. Fantastic weather as well, so I got a lot of sunbathing in on the top deck sun loungers, in between dipping in the pool or sauna. Would definitely recommend :-)
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 10 Nov 2007
Author: Tim Benson
Summary:  Nice clean well run and maintained ship. helpful staff. Good food. Bit expensive for drinks, and extras charged whenever they could. Eating areas too small, so often had to wait for food and tables. Some bar staff a bit grumpy! Entertainment dire !

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... can I just say a big thank you for the way our booking was dealt with, you were so helpful and Iglu obviously know how to look after their customers. Great service which makes me want to use Iglu again.

Thanks ”

L Holdsworth
(October 2016)

Read more feedback