02038483608
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3608
We're Open

ms Ryndam Reviews

A great range of ms Ryndam reviews written by our customers. To write your own ms Ryndam review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 39 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (16)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (14)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (7)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (1)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest ms Ryndam Reviews

1234>
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 19 Jun 2015
Author: Susan
Summary:  This was our first cruise and we enjoyed it more than we thought we would - though a week was long enough for us! Everything about the Ryndam was excellent - no complaints about anything. Cabin A Deck 801 was quiet, near the stairs and lifts and had a beautiful big window. Some reviews I read complained about the noise from engines in this cabin we all we heard was a hum, which can be heard all over the ship. Dress code worried me before we went but there was no need. Yes, men do need a suit, shirt and tie for formal nights but ladies can wear just about anything - though it is nice to get your glam rags on once in a while. Other nights are quite informal - especially in the Lido. One last thing I would point out is that HAL do try to take £300 per person for onboard spending - I did not know this was to happen and my bank would not authorise it - which caused a little trouble. Tell your bank before you leave about the above and see the Front Desk about reducing the amount - they are helpful. All in all really enjoyed ourselves and will probably go on another cruise - a shame it will not be on the Ryndam as its a lovely, old fashioned and smallish ship.
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2015
Author: Shirley Robinson
Summary:  Just back from a cruise round Norway. Had a great time despite poor weather. We appreciated the on €350 board credit from Iglu, although Holland America don't make it easy to use as you can only access it once you are on board. As I wanted to book trips and restaurants prior to departure (which cost in excess of €700) I had to pay for them up front and then try to get them to refund the on-board credit once I was on board (as instructed by their help line). This sounds easier to do than it turned out, and until I get my credit card bill I'm not convinced it will have been done correctly. We also appreciated the 3 bottles of wine from Iglu, which were waiting in our cabin. The staff on board were happy for us to take them and drink in the restaurants. We also appreciated the 2 €50 soda cards, however, despite our best efforts we only used about €30 dollars on one, and the other card went unused. Unless it's one big family booking, one €50 card would be ample for two adults on a one week cruise, so Iglu could save some money there. Overall I'd be very happy to book with Iglu again. Thanks.
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2015
Author: Weeves
Summary:  We managed to find a vacation with IGLU and they gave us a normal discout. As normally Royal carrib or Celebrity customers, we were keen to try a different brand. the ship was lovely, but decor was a little tired (being refitted / sold to P&O Australia this autumn). My cruise was a week to Norway, the entertainment was very good and the cabins of good size, the bars varied and all good - with a classical lounge, jazz, piano and accoustic guitar / jazz. the only problem the ship was very quiet after 11:30 - 12(midnt) and disco not very good. bar prices various prices with average G+T about $5-50. Excursions were very expensive compared to booking when you arrived. Food was good, but not as we expected, for a highly rated carnival brand, we have had better.
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 26 May 2015
Author: Anita Acton
Summary:  This was our first cruise and we were delighted with every aspect of Ryndam and its crew. The food was excellent and all arrangements went smoothly. Great cruise experience!
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 May 2015
Author: Diane Perry-smith
Summary:  This is our third cruise on this ship and we are so sorry that Holland America Line is selling it on. From the minute we arrived at Harwich, with their most efficiently organised car parking, to the disembarkation 12 days later, the cruise was superb. I don't have enough superlatives to describe the way this ship is run. The crew is happy as well as efficient, the food exemplary, the stateroom staff so willing to helping the entertainment varied and professional. A good time was had by all!
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 25 Jan 2015
Author: Valerie Walsh
Summary:  On the MS Ryndam, January 18 to 24. Dining room table #128 and cabin 346. My husband and I just returned from an 8 day cruise on The Ryndam. It was for Traditional Jazz Fans and we have gone on many of them, all on Holland America Lines, except one. This cruise which began on January 18, was outstanding. The reason was the incredibly good food and the amazing staff. At every point, the cabin stewards and the rest of the staff were attentive and very friendly. But, the best were our servers in the dining room. The care they took was impeccable and they remembered from the first day our preferences. We only asked for certain things at our first seating and they were always given to us, every day after that. They remembered our names and were wonderfully attentive and caring every day for the whole cruise. We have never felt too pampered and cared for.
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 12 Sep 2014
Author: Brian
Summary:  Our second cruise on the Rydnam was as enjoyable as our first. Whilst we have cruised on larger and more modern ships, apart from rather slow service in the restaurant, the lack of variety of entertainment and rather surely front office staff, we have no complaints whatsoever re quality and choice of food, plus the standard and cleanliness of the entire ship and attentive staff. Our booking with Iglu also couldn't have been smoother.
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 03 Sep 2014
Author: Teresa Graham
Summary:  We sailed the Fjords 23/09/14 It was spectacular scenery with some of the best views we have ever seen. The ship itself was a bit of a let down, it certainly was not a 5 star ship. We have sailed on both RCI, Celebrity and there is no comparison. The food in the main Dining Room was well below average, and very disorganised. We had to wait at least 30 mins to be served on most nights and that was after waiting around in the queue for about 10-15 minuets. The shows in the theatre were quite good, although their didn't seem to be enough seating as it was extremely small for the size of the ship. The whole ship needs a complete make over. We had a veranda suite and it was really worn and dated. We were quite shocked to be honest. The food in the Lido restaurant was really nice but quite dated and the atmosphere was more like a cafeteria. We wouldn't consider a cruise on this ship again, but we may try one of the newer ships .
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 02 Sep 2014
Author: Patricia
Summary:  My first ever cruise booked with simplicity, helpful staff over the telephone. Cannot fault any aspect of the cruise from arrival at Dover and parking system where bags are taken from you and a very simple check in process, to the service and quality of food, the wonderful crew and the elegant ship itself. I cannot wait to book another cruise for next year.
Ship: ms Ryndam
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 01 Sep 2014
Author: Brian Jackson
Summary:  A smaller, older ship but still very well maintained, sadly this ship is to be sold on next year to P&O Australia and unfortunately replaced with a larger ship, we seem to be loosing the original concept of cruising, not everyone wants big and loud! Anytime dining onboard is a farce, it caused huge chaos when people turned up to dinner with no tables available for the rest of the evening, giving you no choice but to eat in the buffet restaurant, not good. We had great expectations from Holland America, our travel advisor assured us they were a step up from Princess and Celebrity, our first experience with them left us feeling that this is not the case, however we would book a Holland America cruise again in the hope that they could prove our travel advisor right. The Norwegian fjords cruise is definitely one not to be missed, absolutely awesome.
1234>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback