02038483604
Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Closed

Magellan Reviews

A great range of Magellan reviews written by our customers. To write your own Magellan review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 74 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (20)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (24)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (11)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (10)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (5)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (4)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Magellan Reviews

Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 24 Jul 2017
Author: Seamus Kavanagh
Summary:  Just finished a trip to France and the Channel Islands and the Isles of Scilly. The trip started in Dublin which is a great plus for us as we live there. The cabin we booked with Iglu was up the front of the ship. But when we got aboard we were given a cabin on the port side amidships. Unfortunately for us was that there was a large motor above us. The noise was dreadful. When we complained about it we were given Ear plugs. That didn't work. We moved the bed from the window towards the bathroom side of the room so that the noise was not as bad. Otherwise the trip was very good. However one passenger had a bad fall in to a tender taking us ashore in St Mary's there was quite a swell running at the time. Would I go back again? Well maybe if I got a better cabin.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 18 Jul 2017
Author: Sue
Summary:  Just returned from the river and gardens cruise sailing out of Liverpool. It was our first time with this cruise line, having usually cruised with P & O. So expectations were on the low side. On first impressions we were pleasantly surprised. Good sized cabins, clean corridors and public areas. Good dining choices although the content of meat/fish in dishes is clearly well thought out and minimal keeping the costs within budgets. The dessert dishes are varied but contain lots of mousse. Great service around the ship which was refreshing. Sadly our main disappointment was the daily entertainment. Not enough of it unfortunately. The evenings are better, but during the day it is sparse, and does not compare to other cruise lines, surely this could be easily rectified? The prices are comparible with others, although the lack of day entertainment would make us reluctant to cruise on the Magellan again.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2017
Author: Jenny Heron
Summary:  Having just returned from our first cruise, I have to say that I was very impressed with the Magellan. The cabins were bigger than I thought they would be. Ours was an ocean view on deck 6. The shower was more powerful than my own one at home, and always as hot as you preferred. The food was absolutely delicious, from breakfast to the nighttime buffet. Always an exceptional choice at each course. The staff can't do enough for you. Always a cheery smile. If I had to make a negative comment, it would be that maybe the optional tours seem to be a bit rushed but having said that, maybe they are just so you get to see the most on your "whistlestop" tour of each destination. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Will definitely be cruising again in the future.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2017
Author: K Hemming
Summary:  after just returning this morning after our 11 night stay myself + my husband really enjoyed it, no heirs - graces just very friendly ship, the staff were very friendly, helpful & polite.did have passengers complaining about weather first 2 days which they seemed to blame on ship as we know the weather is in mother nature's hands, after this the weather was fine and sunny sometimes windy, we have the tan to prove it ! our only negative was raffles bistro, Danish crispy bacon, + good British sausages please ! we thoroughly enjoyed our first cruise on Magellan an would sail with them again hopefully next year !
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 25 Jun 2017
Author: Susanne Gauci
Summary:  Friendly helpfull staff,everything well organized,delicious food,nothing to fault,we went to the norwegian fjords on the 20th may 2017 on the megallen,thank you cruise and maritine for making this cruise so wonderful,will be back some day
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 16 Jun 2017
Author: Pam Scullion
Summary:  Spent 7 weeks on this ship on its round the world cruise, got off in Sydney. Enjoyed the whole experience, first cruise so had nothing to compare it with. Did not want to go on one of the massive cruise liners as travelling solo. Made some really good friends and most of the crew were really friendly and professional. Am considering another cruise on the Magellan next year.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Jun 2017
Author: Stewart Addley
Summary:  Hi all, I just had my 1st solo cruise, I enjoyed Magellan. The single inside cabin was a very good size. The food was good you may have to go looking for breakfast as some times only one of two dinning rooms was open. We had a very good sailing around the English channel with good weather. One of the bad points was we got into Rouen at 18.00 and left at 23.30, so not much to see or do in Rouen. The shows where just about passable, but it was a nice way of spending an hour. It was best to take the drinks package at £17 per day as a beer was £3.30 you do the maths. All the other ports on the holiday where good places to see. As I said it was my 1st solo cruise have done the Thomson Spirit with my late wife, so Magellan was at the same standard but with set dinning times. The staff where very friendly. I enjoyed it so much I booked for next year.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 08 Jun 2017
Author: Lorna Warren
Summary:  Travelled with friends on the Mediaeval Cities of France trip. Visited the cathedral in Antwerp which contains paintings by Rubens, a very pleasant easy to walk trip. At Rouen from the ship we walked along the Seine into the city , about 25 mins. Yes ,it was evening and most places were closed but we enjoyed the beautiful architecture. We didn't visit Le Havre itself as we joined the tour to Giverny and Monet's garden. Absolutely beautiful in late May. Our cabin was perfectly adequate and there were three of us ! Yes walls are thin, we learned that John Noakes had died via the television of the cabin next door. Housekeeping staff are second to none, everything spotlessly clean. We ate in the restaurant and found the food excellent with plenty of choice and once again the staff could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed the entertainment on a short cruise in 2016 but were disappointed this time not so much by the content but by the entertainers themselves. They just gave the impression that they would rather be somewhere else. That didn't apply to the Carry On group of actors who showed what professionals should be. Also have to agree with previous comment about the reception staff. Service with a smile was sadly lacking. We DID enjoy the cruise but it would only be the restaurant and housekeeping staff that would tempt us back.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 06 Jun 2017
Author: Phil Tootill
Summary:  The positives, the food was incredibly good, we ate in the Waldorf and every scrap of food was eaten, the service (with a smile) could not be faulted. Starting with the Matre de, nothing was too much trouble. So we booked through IGLU, our first dealings with this company, being honest it really depended on which member of staff answered the phone as to what kind of service you get. We parked at Newport then a coach took us the four hour drive to Tilbury, both ports can be improved for cruise passengers, but everyone appeared to be doing the best job they could do. We had white luggage labels so we're the second lot of passengers to board. Passengers, mostly old and in a lot of cases infirm, a problem with gangways away from the UK. Our cabin on deck seven was 7051, very tidy room but as we found out throughout our cruise, the walls were very thin, so we could hear a lot, especially in the mornings. We sailed on Sunday evening, with a lot of sea/river time on this cruise, the bars took a lot of our time, experiencing the ship and then the entertainment. The shows were not too bad I suppose, the entertainment director gave his all, but........... The shows were not really long enough, the dancers were very good and the ships musicians were capable enough, the female singers were not the most cheerful, mostly without a smile and often off tune. The last show, music of Queen, was awful, not killer Queen, but killed Queen. The entertainment staff also were available running quizzes and the bingo, whilst available more than our previous Cunard cruises, we were spoiled last year with a P and O cruise where the entertainment staff were of a West End standard, Magellens entertainment staff tried but failed unfortunately. Our visits, Antwerp was a lovely visit, lots to see and do during the day, however we had to be back on board for the night and almost all day cruise up the river Seine to Rouen, the Seine was a nice river to cruise along and it was interesting watching shore side residents and drivers, stopping to wave and take photographs. A pity then to find Rouen shut? A couple of bars and resteraunts were open, but after less than an hour ashore, that was it. Finally a visit to Le Harve, which whilst rebuilt after 1945, it was and is a shopping town really. We sailed back (slowly) to Newport, docking early Friday morning, then up very early for breakfast and disembarkation. All in all we had a good cruise, a party of four adult couples enjoying a taster cruise for one of the party. Scores, staff 8/10, entertainment 5/10, food 10/10, visits Antwerp 9/10' river Seine 7/10, Rouen 3/10, Le Harve 7/10. We have booked through Iglu for our next cruise but they will have to improve
Magellan reviews
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 09 May 2017
Author: Crouch Ray
Summary:  Just arrived back from mini cruise .Not a pleasant experience at all .My party included two disabled friends with mobility issues. A complete nightmare from the outset with no real help or consideration given to my disabled friends. The checking in process was very chaotic and extremely stressful for all of us. No suitably informed staff to assist , the staff had little consideration of the feelings of the all the party members which made us all feel very much a burden on others. The ship is not suitable for the disabled or the infirm. Lifts not working being made to wait around in long unmanaged queues in doorways and stairwells was ridiculous and hazardous causing us to miss several meals. A total lack of interest from the staff when questioned on issues. The life boat muster drill was farcical with no assistance for us and then being direct into an area full of stairs and prevented from using the lifts. No one of our party attended the drill after all the hassle which was apparently in noticed. Worrying !.The holiday was in fact NOT !. Please be more honest with customers and say that you do not cater for the disabled.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Marco Polo
Astoria

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"Dear Iglu, Just to advise, we greatly enjoyed our holiday and every arrangement booked by yourselves worked well and exceeded our expectations, thank you..”

John Rogers.
(May 2017)

Read more feedback