02038483604
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Open

Magellan Reviews

A great range of Magellan reviews written by our customers. To write your own Magellan review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 60 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (17)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (22)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (6)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (8)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (4)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (3)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Magellan Reviews

Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 19 Nov 2016
Author: Tony Flynn
Summary:  Well I told you this time last year that I went on Magellan to the Canaries on my own for the first time due to the passing away of my wife and that I enjoyed the cruise, just returned from the same cruise again on my own, well I should not say on my own because once again I have met a lot of people including staff that I can now proudly say are my friends, what a ship what a atmosphere loved it and am now going on the Christmas 5 day cruise and meeting up with friends from 2015 and present friends this year, loved every minute of it, thank you.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 02 Oct 2016
Author: Edward Grigg
Summary:  This was our first cruise so didn't know what to expect. I would compare the ship to say a good standard 4 star hotel.... The food was excellent and we was very well fed... the drinks were cheap espically the cocktails.... the entertainment team were very friendly and good quality... all of the guests are extreamly friendly... the only negatives I would say are that I found it hard to sleep at night so had to catch up during the day... this was due to noise and the movement of the boat during the night.... also the reception staff seemed really miserable... all other members of staff were brilliant.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 26 Sep 2016
Author: Peter Pendle
Summary:  We have just returned from a 12 day Baltic cruise in September. We were blessed with wonderful weather and calm seas and had an absolutely fabulous time. We can't agree with many of the criticisms in other reviews. The ship was excellent and just the right size - not too big or small. The staff were helpful and attentive - with very few exceptions. The food in the main restaurants was of a very good standard and the entertainment (not really our thing but we went to some of the shows) was fun. There was lots of activities for those that wanted it (we didn't) and lots of space for those that wanted to relax and read. We enjoyed all of the places visited but only did a couple of excursions preferring to do our own thing. Those we did do were well organised if a tad expensive. The drinks package is well worthwhile and we drank to much. I guess the average age of passengers is around 60 and we were a little worried that we would be out of place but it wasn't really a problem - there were plenty of younger passengers as well. What wasn't so good - not much really. The cabin walls are paper thin but we only had a problem sleeping one night and a tap on the wall resolved the problem. Raffles cafeteria gets very busy at times and is a little like feeding time at the zoo so best avoided. The gym is small so you have to choose you time to visit (normally best during breakfast hours). But these are really all minor gripes and didn't spoil our cruise. We had a sea view cabin on level 6 and (apart from the thin walls) were really impressed. Large with more than enough storage space. We likes CMV and we liked Magellan and will almost certainly use them again.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Sep 2016
Author: Elizabeth Shawhulme
Summary:  Just returned (August 27th) from 12 days cruising the Baltic and St Petersburg and it is absolutely true when people say what wonderful service the staff on this cruise line give. It was super to see the Captain and his chief officers interacting with passengers and I loved visiting the Bridge and having my photo taken with the Captain. My Cabin Steward - Alfred was delightful and couldn't do enough to make sure my cruise was unforgettable. Similarly the waiter at evening meal was incredibly attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I had worried about going on a cruise as a solo traveller but I'm hooked and will definitely be booking again and with Cruise and Maritime. If you are looking for huge swimming pools and flumes and children friendly facilities, then this is not for you. But if you are looking for old fashioned good service, great food, lots of activities and entertainment to suit all tastes then look no further.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Aug 2016
Author: Bev Clarke
Summary:  My friend and I cruised with CMV Baltic cruise on the Magellan, leaving Newcastle on 6th May 2016 The ship was fantastic, spacious, lots of good quality entertainment and facilities. We loved the evening shows which were of a high standard. We were in cabin 7012 and found it to be immaculately clean, a very good sized cabin with a very nice ensuite. Housekeeping was excellent, our cabin steward Magda was very helpful and looked after us perfectly. The food was delicious and so much choice. The staff were happy, very friendly and helpful. I would travel again with CMV, they are excellent value for money.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 02 Aug 2016
Author: Hazel Warrington
Summary:  Sailed on the Magellan on Baltic Cruise in June and don't really have any complaints. The worst thing about the whole cruise was the temperature of the ship. It was just so cold. Passengers were sitting in the lounge areas with coats and the show lounge was just too cold unless you had something to cover your arms. A lot of people complained and the staff did adjust the temperature in some areas. The cabins too, unless the aircon was turned down or off was uncomfortably cold. Everything else was good - staff, entertainment and food. The excursions were enjoyable, although in St Petersburg we felt we spent too much time on the ship without the opportunity to experience more of the city. You can't simply ft in all the trips and as you cannot go ashore without a visa we spent more time on board than we thought we would. Would sail on Magellan again.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 30 Jul 2016
Author: Wendy Stephen
Summary:  Just returned from a CMV Baltic cruise on the Magellan. The ship was fantastic, spacious, lots of good quality entertainment and facilities. The evening shows are of a high standard and for the perfect duration. We were in cabin 4056 and found it to be immaculately clean, a very good sized cabin with an equally good ensuite. Housekeeping was second to none that I've experienced. The food was delicious and so much choice. The staff were happy, very friendly and gave a personal service. I have never been so pampered on a holiday, nothing was too much trouble. I have only been home a few days and have already booked to travel again with CMV, they are excellent value for money.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 04 Jul 2016
Author: Lionel
Summary:  We went round the British Isles in June 2016 and had cabin 4018, it was right above the engine and the whole cabin shook with bad vibration and the noise was unbearable. When we complained at Reception they told us that the Captain would turn the engine down on that side of ths ship! Eventually we got moved, our cabin steward told us it's not unusual for passengers to request a move from this area of the ship. Food is very average. The service is OK but as a wine drinker I couldn't find anything I wanted to drink on their tiny and expensive list. Wifi is practically non-existant and expensive. The reception staff are the worst I've ever encountered ANYWHERE. They take miserableness to new levels. Disappointing and has put us off bothering to go on another cruise.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 10 Jun 2016
Author: Catherine Burns
Summary:  Treasures of the West Indies November 2015 35 nights Transfer at Victoria coach station disorganised needed more staff Check in at Tilbury excellent very quick, escorted to cabin. Luggage arrived quickly. Formal evenings was on the second day when we had been in Amsterdam, because of late arrival. Excurisons were delayed so returned to ship not enough time to get ready. It would have been better on one of the days at sea. Ship well appointed and very clean. Itinerary was excellent with lots of interesting ports of call. Staff friendly and efficient. Good cabin size, but needs to provide shower hats. Entertainment was very good. The ship staff worked very hard. Comedian pass his sell by date, sexist ,racist jokes are not acceptable.Could not complain with the food, you can order steaks or anything you wanted.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 26 Apr 2016
Author: Jp Holroyd
Summary:  This was my first, and last, cruise. I was not able to get a good night sleep 7 out of the 8 nights I was aboard. Totally ruined the experience. If you search YouTube for cabin noise on Magellan you should find it. The cupboards creaked throughout the night, and kept me from sleeping. There was also a lot of vibration throughout the ship. When I asked the steward I was told this is in every room. The ship was full, so unable to change rooms. We had a room with bunk beds available, this meant it was not possible to sit up in bed. The room was a little small (Inside cabin) and beds were a little soft. Shower room is also small, although I was impressed with the shower pressure. Shower curtain is a little annoying if the ship is moving (don't leave anything on the floor!) It is kept clean, and rooms are done twice a day. In the restaurants the food is OK, think of posh wedding food. Mass produced and not great, but not terrible. We tended to eat breakfast and dinner in Raffles, although it is very busy. This was a buffet. The gym is not actually that bad, could maybe invest in another yoga mat, and maybe a multi cable machine. Entertainment was average, with a range of ability levels. I enjoyed Raul's Jersey Boys. John, the head entertainment was pure cheese! Highlight of the trip was probably the bingo. On the Norway cruise you are dropped off at a few ports, all tourist traps, ready to take as much money off you as possible (£9 a pint!). Bugbear of mine is the automatically added tips, which is obviously to top up the wages. The ship is old, despite having a refurb. Maybe other 'newer' ships are better, but I think I'll stick with flying!

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Marco Polo
Astoria

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback