02038483604
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Open

Magellan Reviews

A great range of Magellan reviews written by our customers. To write your own Magellan review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 77 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (20)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (25)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (11)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (10)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (6)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (5)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Magellan Reviews

Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 12 Sep 2017
Author: Adrian
Summary:  We recently went on the Rock the Boat cruise aboard the Magellan. The music was great, too much to listen to. However, the ship was appalling. There was a permanent smell of sewage which was very prominant on deck 4, but could be smelt all over the ship at times. When this was reported to staff they just said sorry and carried on. Nothing was done about it at all. If you were sat in the Waldorf Restuarant amidships you had a waft of dead fish from the gallery.unpleasant to say the least. The food was mediocre at best and the buffets.....if you didnt want plastic reformed ham, lettuce and plastic cheese, then forget it. It would appear that the Magellan is due a complete refit in November which may explain the smells but not why we had to put up with it. Service in some parts of the ship was excellent but lacking in others. The cabin was given the once over daily but not really cleaned, we had a dust on the mirrors and water bottles all the cruise! The music was brilliant though, just not enough time to hear all the bands perform. Would we do it again, yes , but not on this ship or on the CMV line. If this was an example of their customer services then no way. This cruise has put us off CMV completely. Never again the appalling lingering smells ad lack of good food. there isnt a 0 star or else it would have got it
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 06 Aug 2017
Author: Sailorman
Summary:  We just came back from a Cruise on Magellan to the Faroes, Iceland, Shetland and Orkney. Fascinating intinery. The ship itself is not new but is well kept - yes there is the odd glitch but the food, the staff from cabin steward to Captain are really good - cheerful and friendly. One exception was a lady on reception but we all have off days! 10 / 14 days was just about right for us on a ship of this size but 3 weeks is just about our lot on any cruise, thats our personal preference. Will we go again - yes we will. They are really customer orientated and we will look at one of their cruises maybe taking in the Channel Islands and Ireland simply because of this. If you are looking for a problem its mostly your fellow cruisers - some really overweight moaners , makes me wonder what sort of palaces some people live in themselves
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 04 Aug 2017
Author: Stanley Stoker
Summary:  just retuned from Iceland . Food good, rooms clean.. The rest was dire.. The shows were poor, why were the films on when we were on excursions ?. I do not like bingo, or watching bartenders making cocktails, the lectures?? .. Ended up sitting in my cabin watching the TV .
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 24 Jul 2017
Author: Seamus Kavanagh
Summary:  Just finished a trip to France and the Channel Islands and the Isles of Scilly. The trip started in Dublin which is a great plus for us as we live there. The cabin we booked with Iglu was up the front of the ship. But when we got aboard we were given a cabin on the port side amidships. Unfortunately for us was that there was a large motor above us. The noise was dreadful. When we complained about it we were given Ear plugs. That didn't work. We moved the bed from the window towards the bathroom side of the room so that the noise was not as bad. Otherwise the trip was very good. However one passenger had a bad fall in to a tender taking us ashore in St Mary's there was quite a swell running at the time. Would I go back again? Well maybe if I got a better cabin.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 18 Jul 2017
Author: Sue
Summary:  Just returned from the river and gardens cruise sailing out of Liverpool. It was our first time with this cruise line, having usually cruised with P & O. So expectations were on the low side. On first impressions we were pleasantly surprised. Good sized cabins, clean corridors and public areas. Good dining choices although the content of meat/fish in dishes is clearly well thought out and minimal keeping the costs within budgets. The dessert dishes are varied but contain lots of mousse. Great service around the ship which was refreshing. Sadly our main disappointment was the daily entertainment. Not enough of it unfortunately. The evenings are better, but during the day it is sparse, and does not compare to other cruise lines, surely this could be easily rectified? The prices are comparible with others, although the lack of day entertainment would make us reluctant to cruise on the Magellan again.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2017
Author: Jenny Heron
Summary:  Having just returned from our first cruise, I have to say that I was very impressed with the Magellan. The cabins were bigger than I thought they would be. Ours was an ocean view on deck 6. The shower was more powerful than my own one at home, and always as hot as you preferred. The food was absolutely delicious, from breakfast to the nighttime buffet. Always an exceptional choice at each course. The staff can't do enough for you. Always a cheery smile. If I had to make a negative comment, it would be that maybe the optional tours seem to be a bit rushed but having said that, maybe they are just so you get to see the most on your "whistlestop" tour of each destination. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Will definitely be cruising again in the future.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2017
Author: K Hemming
Summary:  after just returning this morning after our 11 night stay myself + my husband really enjoyed it, no heirs - graces just very friendly ship, the staff were very friendly, helpful & polite.did have passengers complaining about weather first 2 days which they seemed to blame on ship as we know the weather is in mother nature's hands, after this the weather was fine and sunny sometimes windy, we have the tan to prove it ! our only negative was raffles bistro, Danish crispy bacon, + good British sausages please ! we thoroughly enjoyed our first cruise on Magellan an would sail with them again hopefully next year !
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 25 Jun 2017
Author: Susanne Gauci
Summary:  Friendly helpfull staff,everything well organized,delicious food,nothing to fault,we went to the norwegian fjords on the 20th may 2017 on the megallen,thank you cruise and maritine for making this cruise so wonderful,will be back some day
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 16 Jun 2017
Author: Pam Scullion
Summary:  Spent 7 weeks on this ship on its round the world cruise, got off in Sydney. Enjoyed the whole experience, first cruise so had nothing to compare it with. Did not want to go on one of the massive cruise liners as travelling solo. Made some really good friends and most of the crew were really friendly and professional. Am considering another cruise on the Magellan next year.
Ship: Magellan
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 11 Jun 2017
Author: Stewart Addley
Summary:  Hi all, I just had my 1st solo cruise, I enjoyed Magellan. The single inside cabin was a very good size. The food was good you may have to go looking for breakfast as some times only one of two dinning rooms was open. We had a very good sailing around the English channel with good weather. One of the bad points was we got into Rouen at 18.00 and left at 23.30, so not much to see or do in Rouen. The shows where just about passable, but it was a nice way of spending an hour. It was best to take the drinks package at £17 per day as a beer was £3.30 you do the maths. All the other ports on the holiday where good places to see. As I said it was my 1st solo cruise have done the Thomson Spirit with my late wife, so Magellan was at the same standard but with set dinning times. The staff where very friendly. I enjoyed it so much I booked for next year.

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Marco Polo
Astoria

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)

"Leighanne has been excellent dealing with my various queries this year. She has been kind and informative and obtained what i think is a good deal for me in October. She is persistent and very informative, so even when my 1st deal fell through I felt confident enough to approach her for this present Crystal cruise...”

I.G
(July 2017)

Read more feedback