02038483618
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3618
We're Open

Grandeur of the Seas Reviews

A great range of Grandeur of the Seas reviews written by our customers. To write your own Grandeur of the Seas review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 24 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (9)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (9)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (4)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (1)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Grandeur of the Seas Reviews

123>
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 18 Oct 2013
Author: Tom Wilkinson
Summary:  My girlfriend and I just finished a cruise to Bermuda on the Grandeur of the Seas. While we have no complaints about the service, we were a little let down. We have only sailed with Carnival before and had always been told that Royal Caribbean were better. That was not the case for us. The food in the Windjammer was good but not as good as the Carnival ships we've been on. The dining room service staff and food were great, no complaints there. No comedy club? What's up with that? Our housekeeping staff made us feel like we were imposing by asking for a couple of wine glasses for our room. Also, it seemed to take hours to get our rooms cleaned while on other cruise lines it seemed like minutes. I don't blame the staff but it appears as if the company had cut back in housekeeping staff. Some of the staff were less than outgoing in other areas of the ship while service was great in other areas. No consistency. There was a Russian girl in the Windjammer who jumped to my assistance when I said my girlfriend wasn't feeling good. She instantly became a mother hen and got a plate with bland food, even offered to take it to the cabin. Some of the staff were amazing - others less so. We were in an interior cabin and the bed seemed cheap and hard. The shower was so tiny you couldn't really bend over - much smaller than other cruise lines we'd been on. Also we were surprised there was no laundry room to do laundry. It was a great cruise and we would sail with Royal Caribbean again but we wish the service was consistently great.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 10 Sep 2012
Author: Will Foran
Summary:  Just return from Grandeur of the seas . It was a lovely cruise ,we had a Royal Family suite for eight people. It is not big enough for eight people, we had only two sun loungers for four of us. We couldn't believe they even charge you for the soft drinks and water in the room, when you pay for a suite. Also they give two chairs at a table outside , what are the other guests meant to do sit on the floor. We had a table of four in the main restaurant and it really was meant for two ,we couldn't move we were just put anywhere. Bars very good and the major of the staff very friendly. We have done eleven Royal Caribbean cruises , we feel they need to just think outside the box a little more as it would make a big difference. The Leaders need to look at some of the staff in the paying restaurant as they have some with very bad attitudes and some with great customer care skills. Reward the good ones and get the ones who don't want to be there out as you only get one chance to make a difference.
User Rating: 1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6
Date: 15 Jul 2012
Author: M R Johnson
Summary:  After 12 days on board I find it not difficult to say that the ship is let down by "company" policy. Everything on board was at cost, no prices shown. All staff went out of their way to be helpful but unless you were content to drink or gamble each evening there is nothing else to do. The theater was mostly closed during the day when it could have been used as a cinema. The cinema screen was outdoors near the swimming pool, films shown during the day could not be seen clearly because it was too light and could not heard because the pool area was quite noisy as you would expect while in the evening it could be seen but not heard because the volume turned down and there was still a number of children / teenagers using the pool and gathering around the pool area. The show that were staged were okay just! certainly not the top rating that was given them by a "cruise director" who gave me the impression that his image came first. He waited until a nearly full house was seated with drinks in their hands before he announced that the show was cancelled one evening when he was aware of the problems around mid-day there was no attempt to stage a substitute show, this happened with several "entertainments" that was arranged and cancelled without warning, shows often overlapped other arrangements. information when given, verbal or written was incomplete and late. I was to learn that a number of American's on board was also dis-satisfied with several points of their vacation. the company policy of "gratuities" is an insult, a gratuity or tip is and should always be the right of the customer to give or withhold according to the service given.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 05 Jan 2012
Author: Gillian Hague
Summary:  Cruised on the Grandeur in October last year for my 40th birthday. I went with my parents and my daughter who’s 15. I couldn’t fault the experience at all loved every minute of it and wished I could have stayed on longer!! the food was excellent and the staff couldn’t do enough and it was no trouble at all; they certainly do work hard. I was very sad to leave the ship in Palma :( but hopefully will return one day fingers x.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 09 Nov 2011
Author: Rochelle Evans
Summary:  Our trip was from Palma and we visited Barcelona, Gibraltar, Malaga and Ibiza. Barcelona is a great place to see, and on this itinerary we had a long day there as we did not leave until 7pm. Ibiza Town is a lovely town too, right by the harbour, and as we did not leave until midnight we were able to experience some of the local night life. In Gibraltar we took a ship tour to the Rock and saw the Apes! The tour was very good value for money, though the weather was disappointing as it spoiled our views from the top. Malaga was also a good place to visit and we enjoyed wandering round the centre. The shop offered a deal on shuttle bus tickets to take you into the towns which were quite a walk away from the port. The ship was very good. Good choices of food and extremely helpful staff. We do actually prefer the slighty larger ships, but were still very pleased with this one. Would definitely travel with Royal Caribbean again. Iglu do some great deals on prices too, would definitely book with Iglu again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Nov 2011
Author: Aswin Vora
Summary:  I travelled during 10th Oct 2011 to 16th Oct 2011. Group of twelve people. Over all it was good value for money, there is good choice for non veg food, for vegan very limited choice. The basic room was nice and clean - with all necessary towel and hair dryer provided, room service most time is free. I found lots of activities on board - on board facilities were good.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Nov 2011
Author: Joseph Fairbairn
Summary:  My wife and I spent our honeymoon on the Grandeur of the Seas this summer and it was fantastic. We enjoyed a week of utter bliss and relaxation. Our days started with a wonderful breakfast in the Windjammer restaurant and were amazed at the feast that lay before us, a feast for the eyes as much as for the palette. During the day we either reclined by the pool in the solarium, taking advantage of the invigorating jacuzzis, had a refreshing dip in the saltwater swimming pool or joined other guests in visiting some of the wonderful locations we stopped at around the Spanish Mediterranean. My wife and I enjoyed the 5 star cordon bleu evening menu every night, especially the formal evenings when we were at sea. overall I cannot think of a better way to spend a honeymoon or enjoy a de-stressing holiday experience. I would thoroughly recommend (and have) Iglu, Royal Caribbean and the Grandeur of Seas.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 07 Nov 2011
Author: Heather Rushton
Summary:  Sailed on the Grandeur in October and was very impressed. This was my second cruise with Royal Caribbean, having previoulsy sailed on Mariner of the Seas I was aware that Grandeour was much smaller and older. However, it did not disappoint! Ship was still lovely. We had an interior cabin which was perfectly sufficient for a week's cruise where we were out of the cabin most of the time. We found all of the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially the dining room staff. The food was great with a varied menu selection in the dining room each evening. Drinks prices were as expected. Cocktails were quite healthy measures so I didn'y feel short changed. The main difference that I found between the 2 cruises was the standard of entertainment in the theatre each evening. This was much better on the larger ship - we only went to the theatre once this time. Being a younger person, I found that although there were bars open late, they were pretty much empty after about 11pm. Being as we had a busy itineray and were up early this wasn't too much of a problem. Ports of call: Cannes, Florence, Rome and Palermo. The best port of call for me was Florence. We did the Taste of Florence tour run by RCI. It lived up to its name and was a whistle stop tour and very busy in Florence, however we did get to see all the sights and due to the distance from port to Florence, it was the best we could have done. We had enough time to enjoy a meal in Florence. Prices for food were similar to UK. In Civitavecchia we got the train to Rome, which I was apprehensive about but having done it once wouldn't hesitate to do it again. €9 return includes use of metro which takes you directly to Colesseum. The worst port was Palermo - Sicily was very busy and dirty and not much there to do. If you are looking for something to do on your own in Palermo, I would recommed doing the tour of the Teatro Messina, the largest opera house in Italy which is very impressive. Not much else to do. Overall, I would recommed this ship and itinery, especially as the ship is being refurbished in 2012.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 07 Nov 2011
Author: Pooja Kapoor
Summary:  We did a seven day cruise around Spanish cities and had a wonderful time. The ship in itself was full of facilties with swimming pool, shows and climbing wall on board. Food was fantastic and there was always an Indian choice on the menu. The staff on board were very good and everyone gets royal treatment. It is a good family holiday with enough activities for children. The shows were very good and created in such a way that whole family could enjoy them. Over all a good family holiday. I would recomend it to anyone. However the rooms were very small so don't take too much luggage and choose a room with window if you have claustrophobia.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 06 Nov 2011
Author: Joseph Canetti
Summary:  Going on 7 days cruise respite due to looking after my wife of 52 years I was sad. But going to dinner on 1st night met 4 lovely people and they cheered me up and was able to enjoy cruise. The staff were wonderful always smiling and helpful. Waiters were first class and cabin steward kept cabin clean and tidy. Only complaint was having to pay same price for myself as for 2 persons. Could do with single cabin, but enjoyed cruise. A good selection of people all similar easy to talk to. Been on 4 cruises and there was no us and them. Also quietest boat ever been on, no sound at all from waves, just drifted off to sleep not surprising with all the food. Surprised however that a lot of people didn't go to restaurant for evening, they went to Windjammer where we had breakfast, nothing wrong with that food was good. I am 78 and to me getting "dressed up for dinner" is an essential part of cruising. We had 8:30 sitting and had great food, chatted till 11pm and no-one pushed us out, had lovely time. Thanks for everything. Sad I couldnt take take my wife but it wasnt possible for me to look after her.
123>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback