Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3607
We're Open

Fred Olsen Braemar Reviews

A great range of Braemar reviews written by our customers. To write your own Braemar review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 46 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (19)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (20)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship

Latest Braemar Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2016
Author: Patricia Peck
Summary:  Looking forward to my next cruise to Caribbean in March 2017! My 5th time on this lovely Ship.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 01 Aug 2015
Author: An Eighteen Year Old
Summary:  I am eighteen years old. If you are over the age of 60, you may actually read this as a six star review for the Braemar. I'll start by saying that without exception every single member of staff on board I encountered was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and there was a lot of it. All inclusive drinks package is incredibly good value for money. We cruise the Faroe Islands, Iceland and Norway, and enjoyed all seven ports very much. There was a lot to be enjoyed about the Braemar and it seemed everyone on board was having a great time, and I did thoroughly enjoy myself, as did my family. However, my parents (45), my brother (15) and I found that, frankly, this cruise was not targeted at us. The clientele for the Braemar, despite the fact it was a school holdiay, is very elderly. Of course that's fine, but it also means that everything onboard the Braemar is designed to suit the needs of it clientele, which of course is totally fair. It just means that if you are like my family (especially my brother and I), you may find some things on the Braemar frustrating. Firstly, breakfast finishes at 9 on port days and 9:30 on sea days. I'm sure that any of your teenage children (or grandchildren) will tell you that this is obscenely early for a holiday. If like me, you want to stay up until about 2 every night chatting and drinking, this is difficult to get up for. What is more annoying is that food is served only between certain hours. Lunch is at twelve, meaning thers is a 3 hour gap on some days where no food is available. Not ideal if you've missed breakfast. Secondly, although almost without exception everyone on board was very nice, as a teenager I struggled to make friends, simply because there wasn't really anyone my age. I always have made friends on holdiay, but was unable to on this one. I had a drink with some of the younger staff throughout the fortnight, such as a musician, the kids club staff etc, and that's about as far as I got. (They were lovely though.) So you, or your children, may struggle to make friends, simply because there aren't many candidates. Also, if I had made friends, thers would have been nowhere for us to go after about 12. I stayed up to watch the aforementioned musician pretty much every night. This will give you an idea of the average clientele. He literally had as many requests to turn his music down than he did for songs. By 12, the pub in which he played, and indeed seemingly the whole ship itself, had gone to bed, probably ready to get up for the obsenely early breakfasts sittings. Anyway, the thing with cruises is that even when they're "bad", they're incredible. I did have a great time, and if you and your young family want to see these parts of the world and the Braemar is your only option, I can assure you, you can make the best of it and have a brilliant holdiay. However, I personally can't see why a family like mine would chose the Braemar for a set of ports that a more family-orientated ship would cater for (such as the Canaries). And to reiterate, if you are elderly yourself, there is nothing at all wrong with this cruise.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 06 Jun 2015
Author: Long Time Cruiser
Summary:  Really enjoyed cruise had all inclusive but had to pay for many drinks all so latte coffee so why all inclusive misleading?? Some people felt cheated, Excellent staff food good would have liked more to do like a film on sea days tv programs poor had to pay for films need a new ship but small a bit more stable no shakes as you turn.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 01 Jun 2015
Author: Carole Dudson
Summary:  My first cruise so nothing to compare it with but I had a great time as a single traveller on this cruise to the fjords. The food was excellent, the ship was small enough for me to be able to chat to lots of people and there was a lot of entertainment/ talks/ lessons to keep me busy. I enjoyed learning ballroom dancing and going to the diverse range of talks eg whale and dolphin watching, the Tower of London, pearls and opals were all very educational. The fjords were stunning although the tours were quite expensive so I did a lot on my own eg guiding myself around Bergen. I will definitely do another cruise but it is a pity it is all so expensive for a solo traveller.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 May 2015
Author: Cheryl Reese
Summary:  Our first cruise was with Fred Olsen on the Braemar for two weeks around Carribbean. We were not disappointed, could not fault anything. Have been on two more cruises since with different companies but not a patch on Fred. Im pleased to say that we have just booked a long weekend crise on Braemar to Rouen & Paris in june. Cant wait.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2015
Author: Anne Louise Briggs
Summary:  We had an excellent cruise on Braemar to Hamburg, Amsterdam and Antwerp. The staff were very attentive indeed and we enjoyed the enrichment lectures. The only problem was that the gangways are generally very long, so any disabled person should ask for assistance getting on and off the ship. When we asked for help we got it.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 19 Mar 2015
Author: Julia Lineker
Summary:  This was my first cruise on my own, my first with Fred Olsen since losing my husband. I chose the Caribbean and Fred Olsen as the ships are smaller and the reviews were good as well as sounding friendly. I had been to the Caribbean several times on larger ships, so knew where I was going apart from Cuba . I loved the ship and met some wonderful new friends, the food was fantastic and the restaurants all friendly , I was lucky to have great dining mates every night and looked forward to dinner and there company on the later dining which I felt better than the earlier as you did not have to rush after a busy day. I enjoyed it so much I considered staying on and sail back to Southampton, however the only staff who were not very friendly or helpful were the Fred Olsen holiday reps I asked if it would be possible but one girl said they wouldnt know till the end of the cruise and it would be in the daily paper, she didnt take my name or cabin number, I waited and nothing in the daily news so I asked again ,this girl said I was too late. I was disappointed and annoyed at there lack of enthusiasm, they need to take some lessons from the waiters and other staff. However this did not put me off and I have now booked a further three back to back cruises next year from Jan to march. If anyone is considering traveling alone I can highly recommend Fred Olsen cruises, there was no problems getting a dubbed, never had to que in the restaurants which were spotlessly clean. The cabin had plenty of storage for one, dont know how four would manage, very clean only criticism was the shower curtain which hugged you. Looking forward to returning next year. Flights were on time and I sat beside the same very lovely couple both ways.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Mar 2015
Author: John Potts
Summary:  Excellent cruise but major problems on first day at Manchester and Barbados Airports. At Manchester queueing at the gate for over an hour. Sat on the plane for over an hour waiting for drinks to be loaded. At Barbados there were no coaches and we were stood on the tarmac in the heat for 75 minutes. Yes, on the tarmac, 30 yards from the plane. No seats, not even something to lean against. Once on board everything was great.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 13 Mar 2015
Author: Roger Glover
Summary:  Very nice ship, although the cabins are small and the theatre is not a good design. The crew were excellent and the food was up to Fred's usual high standard. All in all a very enjoyable trip.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 29 Jan 2015
Author: Brenda Scott
Summary:  We have just returned on a cruises on Braemar in the Caribbean. Flight with Monach was good and on time. Quick and easy embarkation. Cabin on deck 4 was very clean and looked as if it had been recently decorated. Staff very friendly always smiling unlike some of the passengers. Food although not quite as good as it was was still excellent. Drinks package was well worth taking with good quality wine and spirits seved. Entertainment was poor. Only three caberet acts in two weeks. A singer magician who you could see everything in his hands but a comedian who was excellent and kept us laughing all through his performance. Tours desk were unhelpful and in my opinion should not be doing the job. Guest relations person was so helpful and pleasant even finding the information we required for us that the tours should have done. All they said was they only sold the tours . We were in the Caribbean but did not have a steel band onboard. A strings quartet which most of the time sounded like we were on the Titanic. The cruise director did bring a local steel band on in Antigua after there was so many complaints. This made for a great time on deck with most people joining in . The cruise show was great and there were some really good singers. The islands we visited were great and we went to Cuba where most of the ship went to the Tropicana which was unforgettable. Would I sail with Fred again, Yes but on the Balmoral not the Braemar if the same cruise director was on there. He didn't really do his job as far as I was concerned. The weather was exellent and the captain had a great personality which I beleive made for a very happy ship crew wise.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Just want to thank Alice for amazing service yesterday. Painless, efficient booking of my next cruise made it a real pleasure.

Regards ”

N Thomson
(September 2016)

Read more feedback