02038483607
Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3607
We're Closed

Fred Olsen Braemar Reviews

A great range of Braemar reviews written by our customers. To write your own Braemar review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 50 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (22)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (21)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (3)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Braemar Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 04 May 2017
Author: Jeeti Johal Bhuller
Summary:  This year March 18th 2017 for the first time, I booked a sailing ion Fred Olsens Braemer for two weeks for a Norway in the winter cruise. I had never travelled there and enchanted looked forward to this cruise. It was amazingly awe sinpiting. The ship is called a small ship, more intimate I a mother told than the larger ones. Amenities were wonderful, dining as expected, service was good, the staff were attentive when callled upon, and the entertainment enjoyable, its a spectacular event in its entirety and maintains a certain dignity whilst bringing together everyone from the captain and his hierarchy to each passenger on the ship. The weather was magnestisingky icy cold, the views wordlessly spectacular, it's amazing how an aaprray of mountains can be so magnificently beautiful in their ancient regal splendour , like a parade of giant monoliths stood firm in a changeable world. The ports were delightfully quaint and excursions hugely adventurous and unspeakably enjoyable. The stormy waters caused a delay at BODO and Tromso was bypassed but now I am reliably informed, I have very completed the arctic circle, travelled to the North Pole. Rough seas do little to less the ineffable sailing pleasure of cruising, and the onboard community by the end of each cruising are afmly acquainted with one another. A deliciously indulgent luxury I afford myself.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 20 Nov 2016
Author: Edda Turner
Summary:  Have just been on a mini cruise Southampton to Lisbon , enjoyed the experience very much, have cruised many times on the Olsen ships, and every time the crew, food and the service has been second to none. My brother himself a sea Captain decided on a cruise , he has been so impressed he cannot wait to book a longer cruise on the Braemar. Well done Fred.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2016
Author: Patricia Peck
Summary:  Looking forward to my next cruise to Caribbean in March 2017! My 5th time on this lovely Ship.
User Rating: 2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6
Date: 01 Aug 2015
Author: An Eighteen Year Old
Summary:  I am eighteen years old. If you are over the age of 60, you may actually read this as a six star review for the Braemar. I'll start by saying that without exception every single member of staff on board I encountered was very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and there was a lot of it. All inclusive drinks package is incredibly good value for money. We cruise the Faroe Islands, Iceland and Norway, and enjoyed all seven ports very much. There was a lot to be enjoyed about the Braemar and it seemed everyone on board was having a great time, and I did thoroughly enjoy myself, as did my family. However, my parents (45), my brother (15) and I found that, frankly, this cruise was not targeted at us. The clientele for the Braemar, despite the fact it was a school holdiay, is very elderly. Of course that's fine, but it also means that everything onboard the Braemar is designed to suit the needs of it clientele, which of course is totally fair. It just means that if you are like my family (especially my brother and I), you may find some things on the Braemar frustrating. Firstly, breakfast finishes at 9 on port days and 9:30 on sea days. I'm sure that any of your teenage children (or grandchildren) will tell you that this is obscenely early for a holiday. If like me, you want to stay up until about 2 every night chatting and drinking, this is difficult to get up for. What is more annoying is that food is served only between certain hours. Lunch is at twelve, meaning thers is a 3 hour gap on some days where no food is available. Not ideal if you've missed breakfast. Secondly, although almost without exception everyone on board was very nice, as a teenager I struggled to make friends, simply because there wasn't really anyone my age. I always have made friends on holdiay, but was unable to on this one. I had a drink with some of the younger staff throughout the fortnight, such as a musician, the kids club staff etc, and that's about as far as I got. (They were lovely though.) So you, or your children, may struggle to make friends, simply because there aren't many candidates. Also, if I had made friends, thers would have been nowhere for us to go after about 12. I stayed up to watch the aforementioned musician pretty much every night. This will give you an idea of the average clientele. He literally had as many requests to turn his music down than he did for songs. By 12, the pub in which he played, and indeed seemingly the whole ship itself, had gone to bed, probably ready to get up for the obsenely early breakfasts sittings. Anyway, the thing with cruises is that even when they're "bad", they're incredible. I did have a great time, and if you and your young family want to see these parts of the world and the Braemar is your only option, I can assure you, you can make the best of it and have a brilliant holdiay. However, I personally can't see why a family like mine would chose the Braemar for a set of ports that a more family-orientated ship would cater for (such as the Canaries). And to reiterate, if you are elderly yourself, there is nothing at all wrong with this cruise.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 15 Jun 2015
Author: V. H. Dear
Summary:  Excellent service and great staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 06 Jun 2015
Author: Long Time Cruiser
Summary:  Really enjoyed cruise had all inclusive but had to pay for many drinks all so latte coffee so why all inclusive misleading?? Some people felt cheated, Excellent staff food good would have liked more to do like a film on sea days tv programs poor had to pay for films need a new ship but small a bit more stable no shakes as you turn.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 05 Jun 2015
Author: Mrs Webster
Summary:  Had a great time on our mini cruise to Amsterdam, all we expected and more. Could not fault anything. Delayed disembarking due to high winds, but fred Olsen were extremely efficient in dealing with this and keeping us informed of the procedure and kept the restaurants open until disembarkation. Highly recommend. Can't wait to go again.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 01 Jun 2015
Author: Carole Dudson
Summary:  My first cruise so nothing to compare it with but I had a great time as a single traveller on this cruise to the fjords. The food was excellent, the ship was small enough for me to be able to chat to lots of people and there was a lot of entertainment/ talks/ lessons to keep me busy. I enjoyed learning ballroom dancing and going to the diverse range of talks eg whale and dolphin watching, the Tower of London, pearls and opals were all very educational. The fjords were stunning although the tours were quite expensive so I did a lot on my own eg guiding myself around Bergen. I will definitely do another cruise but it is a pity it is all so expensive for a solo traveller.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 May 2015
Author: Cheryl Reese
Summary:  Our first cruise was with Fred Olsen on the Braemar for two weeks around Carribbean. We were not disappointed, could not fault anything. Have been on two more cruises since with different companies but not a patch on Fred. Im pleased to say that we have just booked a long weekend crise on Braemar to Rouen & Paris in june. Cant wait.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2015
Author: Anne Louise Briggs
Summary:  We had an excellent cruise on Braemar to Hamburg, Amsterdam and Antwerp. The staff were very attentive indeed and we enjoyed the enrichment lectures. The only problem was that the gangways are generally very long, so any disabled person should ask for assistance getting on and off the ship. When we asked for help we got it.

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Iglu Cruise 10 years
Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.


What our customers say

"I booked my first ever cruise on Tuesday 5th September 2017. After lengthy searching and much deliberation we booked through Iglu. So far, I am incredibly happy I booked with Iglu. This being our first cruise Debi proved very helpful. I was [also] very impressed with the level of assistance offered by Connie. She answered my questions and put my mind at rest. I am very impressed with all aspects of dealing with Iglu and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your support. "

D.L
(September 2017)

"Leighanne has been excellent dealing with my various queries this year. She has been kind and informative and obtained what i think is a good deal for me in October. She is persistent and very informative, so even when my 1st deal fell through I felt confident enough to approach her for this present Crystal cruise...”

I.G
(July 2017)

Read more feedback