Good morning, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3607
We're Closed

Fred Olsen Black Watch Reviews

A great range of Black Watch reviews written by our customers. To write your own Black Watch review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6 (from 23 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (10)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (9)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (1)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (3)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Black Watch Reviews

123>
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 May 2016
Author: Gill Carlton
Summary:  My husband and I have just returned from a cruise to the Fjords on the Black watch. We have done a lot of cruise holidays and I would say this was one of the best. The ship was immaculate, the staff very helpful in all areas, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, well presented and tasty. The entertainments team were good and worked very hard. We will definitely go on this ship again.
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 14 May 2015
Author: Jean Brown
Summary:  Returned on Monday from a short cruise on the Black Watch a Fred Olsen ship. Although this was our 22nd cruise it was the first time with the Fred Olsen Line and we loved it. OK the ship was old however the cabin was clean and spacious, the food good and the drink cheap. Enjoy a flutter at the casino? We were surprised at the cheapness 50 pence to play the table and £2.00 to play Black Jack...excellent. We went to the disco and stayed until 2am on both nights. Loved the fun. Loved the people. In all We had, my daughter and myself a fantastic time.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 Feb 2015
Author: Viv
Summary:  First cruise on this ship Jan/Feb 2015. A lovely trip made all the better for the excellent service and facilities. So much to do on the days at sea, particularly the guest entertainers and guest lecturer. Never enough time at the ports but how lucky were we - beautiful blue sky and calm seas round the Horn. Thanks Cap'n!
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 18 Jan 2015
Author: Wendy Ford
Summary:  Lovely small friendly ship. You quickly get to know your way around and get to know the crew (and they you!). The 'In Search of The Northern Lights' cruise was great although we did some of the shore tours a lot cheaper than the ship offers. The ship does tend to creak and groan in rough sea but it sort of adds to its charm! Has a lovely gym which made me wish I'd taken my gym clothes so don't make that mistake if you like to use a gym.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 30 Sep 2014
Author: Juliet Lonie
Summary:  We had our first cruise on the Black Watch it was everything and more than we expected. Our cabin was clean, had adequate storage space and comfortable. The food was excellent with choices for all tastes. The staff were excellent in all areas. I could not fault any of the tours booked in Stockholm, Tallinn, st Petersburg or lines.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 16 Jul 2014
Author: Ed.
Summary:  Fantastic cruise to Spitz Bergen.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 29 Nov 2013
Author: Lucinda
Summary:  Had an excellent time on the 8 night trip to Spain and Portugal. Really well looked after and lovely weather especially for November. Wonderful staff on board. Took the all inclusive package for alcohol. Highly recommended. Really enjoyed the food too - needed something to soak up the booze! Guest speaker Edwina Currie - brilliant. One downside - very poor film choice - repetitive and dull but overall would really recommend.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Sep 2013
Author: Susan Robson
Summary:  We went on a 4 night cruise on the Blackwatch in August from Newcastle to Bergan then to Kirkwall in Orkneys , then sailed into Rosyth to depart on a coach back to Tyne to collect the car, we had a great time onboard and met some lovely new friends. The entire cruise was really relaxing, the weather wasn't good when we got to the ports of call, but that did not spoil the holiday, we were looked after by all the staff and the shows were very good and the comedian was very funny. Hope to go on the ship again , a big thank you to the restaurant waiters & a very big thank you to the hard working cabin staff on deck 4
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 14 Apr 2013
Author: Graeme Jeal
Summary:  My partner and I have just returned from a 31 night cruise on Black Watch, flying to Dubai and cruising back to Southampton. The first thing to say is that the cruise represented excellent value, and any criticisms need to be considered with this in mind. The itinerary was also very good and adventurous. I had looked at a similar cruise on Queen Victoria, but that did not stop at nearly as many different ports of call. Black Watch is an old ship, and does show its age. I did not find this a problem except on deck, where the sun-loungers are uncomfortable and could do with replacing and there is a problem with smuts from the funnel. The food was very good and plentiful; meals are well presented and there was always an extensive choice. Service in the bars and restaurant was good and drink prices fairly reasonable. The cabin was acceptable, particularly having regard to the price paid, and the service good. The entertainment was a bit disappointing overall. The in house troupe were generally good (one singer, James, was excellent) and the classical artistes giving daytime recitals were also very good. However, the evening entertainers were rather poor until the last leg of the cruise when we were joined by a group called the Rockafellas, who performed songs of the 50s and 60s, and who were really great - they certainly got the audiences going! The ship had been doing a round Africa cruise before calling in at Dubai, so some passengers had already been on board for 50 days when we joined. Unfortunately, some of these "all-rounders" seemed to think that put them in a class above those who joined in Dubai and there were a lot of snobbish remarks being made about the newcomers by a vocal minority. One comment overheard was that "the riff-raff got on board in Dubai" - rude and uncalled for. This did lead to bit of an atmosphere between groups of passengers. Quite frankly, Black Watch is not a ship to be snobbish about. Would I go on Black Watch again? Yes, but I probably would not want to join a cruise midway through because of the above. The itinerary, the food and the value for money are all compelling arguments to cruise again on this vessel.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 02 Apr 2013
Author: A Shah
Summary:  We have just returned from a cruise on Black Watch sailing around Africa, the Indian Ocean, Red Sea, Suez Canal and the Med. before disembarking in Southampton. We were on Black Watch 10 years ago and have been on other Fred Olsen ships, our favourite being Balmoral. Black Watch is a very old lady - the public areas are spacious and well furnished and well maintained. The lifts are rather slow. There were lots of passengers who were not happy with their cabins, and even passengers on deck 8 were compaining of noise and brown water coming through the taps. Some complained that their cabins were unsuitable for 2 passengers and they were clearly unhappy as they had paid a premium price for cabins on that deck. On lower decks some passengers complained of noisy cabins so it is worth checking out in detail before booking the cruise or clearly request for quiet cabins. We were lucky to have a cabin mid-ship for the first sector we did and it was perfect and though it was an inside we were happy with it and had peaceful nights. For the next sector we had to change cabins and the one allocated to us looked as though it was due for a refit - luckily we managed to change to a quieter one. Otherwise, the crew members throughout the ship seemed happy doing their work and this reflected on their positive attitude. We were lucky to have super Dining Room waiters and our cabin stewardesses were great. Some passengers said they had never seen their cabin stewardesses. The entertainment in general was good but the Theatre layout is not too good - so some people would not be able to see well from their seats. There were lecturers on board and so were other activites like art and crafts and bridge. All seemed to be popular. There are two self-service launderettes and they are a big plus point when you are on long cruises. One pays a nominal fee for their use. Foodwise I would say it to be fair - they did their best to cater for special requests. There were theme nights and also themed dining in the Buffet restaurant. Local entertainers were brought on board on several occasions - I suppose this being part of the world cruise, it was a plus point. We did sail through the "pirate" zone and precautions were taken accordingly. This brought some entertainment and something to talk about. One thing to bear in mind is on several ports we had to pay for shuttle buses and at one port even though we were not allowed to walk at all in the port, it was compulsory to pay for that service. The plus point is for Gold Members who have the perk of free shuttle service. All in all it was an enjoyable cruise with like-minded fellow passengers - and there was plenty to do on sea days. One big point that is lacking is entertainment on TV is very limited.
123>

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Just want to thank Alice for amazing service yesterday. Painless, efficient booking of my next cruise made it a real pleasure.

Regards ”

N Thomson
(September 2016)

Read more feedback