02038483604
Good afternoon, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Open

Discovery Reviews

A great range of Discovery reviews written by our customers. To write your own Discovery review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6 (from 27 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (6)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (8)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (4)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (6)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (1)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (2)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Discovery Reviews

123>
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 27 Sep 2014
Author: Roger Mills
Summary:  Originally the cruise was advertised as being the other way around , ie calling at Amsterdam first ,but later this was changed to the itinerary that I've listed .This alteration meant that our actual time available in port was severely curtailed and ruled out for instance in Honfleur, a visit to Monet's garden. Falmouth was lovely and the locals laid on a bus shuttle, goody bags all round and made us VERY welcome. My partner and I availed ouselves of a £5.00 off voucher in Rick Stein's fish restaurant! The weather was gorgeous. Honfleur was visited the next day but only for a brief stay. It was very expensive and packed with holidaymakers and tourists, although one cannot deny the attractiveness of this little place. On Wednesday after a seemingly endless journey up the river Schelde to Antwerpen, we had again just a few brief hours to take in the delights of the Grote Market and the beautiful cathedral. The most disappointing aspect of the cruise was the sudden change of berthing plan from Amsterdam to the distant IJmuiden. A shuttle service was provided, but many passengers only had enough time for a quick 1 hour river tour, then back to the ship. All in all, very disappointing , although we ate well, the ship herself is quite delightful ,and the staff helpful and courteous. The "formal dinners" and Captain's reception were memorable. I would go on a similar cruise again, but only if we had more time to actually do something at our ports of call. Otherwise, what's the point ???
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Sep 2014
Author: Graham Hughes
Summary:  Excellent four day cruise to Eire and Isles of Scilly. Staff were so friendly and accommodating, food was superb, cabins kept very clean and tidy. Excursions were very good although one was descibed as a short walk to an onward boat to Caldey Island off the coast of Tenby. For those of a senior age or had difficulty in walking the return walk to the coach would have been very taxing. This has since been reported back to the excursion team. More time could have been given to look around Tenby after Caldey Island which was excellent. Everything on the cruise was done very efficiently from boarding to embarkation that left the passengers not having to worry about or carry their baggage. Overall Discovery was a tremendous experience enhanced by friendliness and efficiency.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 14 Aug 2014
Author: Mrs Lesley Kemp
Summary:  Just returned from a cruise to the Arctic Circle up to North Cape. The cruise was brilliant and the passengers so friendly. The crew and all involved on the ship were equally as friendly, helpful and could not do enough for the passengers. Yes, the Discovery, poor old girl, is getting a bit long-in-the-tooth and may be a bit battered round the edges, but she plied through hurricane Bertha back to Leith an got us there safe and sound. Although we missed our last port of call of Alesund, it was best to get home safely. The food was plentiful and well done and if anyone couldn't find something they liked, then they really are picky. Our first cabin was so noisy from engine noise that we could not sleep for two days, but it was sorted to our great satisfaction by the lovely Chris who got us settled into another cabin further forward which was so much quieter - what a joy! Sadly she is to be leaving her life with Cruise & Maritime in October. I want to wish all the crew, staff, entertainers, one and all the very best for their future cruising wherever that may be.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Aug 2014
Author: Jacqueline Blockley
Summary:  Just returned from my first cruise ever. I decided to try a cruising holiday to the Baltics as a treat for my 50th birthday with my best friend (and travel companion for the past 10 years) as we hadn't been on a cruise holiday before. Overall, it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The guests were mainly retired, approx. 90%, so my friend and I felt like the "young ones". Everyone we met were friendly and interesting to talk to. Our cabin on the Bali deck was perfect. Powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds too. Cleaning staff were brilliant. Our room was immaculate. Plenty of storage space too. The food was absolutely excellent and plenty of choice. It was like eating in a 3* Michelin restaurant...what a treat! All catering and bar staff were attentive and accommodating, and quite entertaining too! We travelled 21st July to 2nd August so weather was absolutely brilliant...everyone had a lovely tan. Cocktails in the Jacuzzi was a memorable experience! We tried not to use the lifts as it was good exercise climbing the stairs to the lido deck (5 decks above) for our coffee first thing in the morning. The entertainment staff put on good shows every night in the Carousel lounge, Discovery lounge and brilliant music was played in the Discovery Theatre by the violinist and pianist. The dance floor was used, especially by me and my best buddy. Sister Sister had us laughing with tears running down our cheeks. They're singing was good too. Bingo was exciting and a good selection of films were shown. Overall, there is plenty to do on this cruise ship and all staff were stars...especially Victoria the dancer and Richard from the Seven Seas restaurant. I would recommend this holiday for a memorable experience.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 13 Jul 2014
Author: C Dale
Summary:  A super little ship, a bit tired in places but small and friendly everything functions efficiently. Food is excellent and staff go way beyond their expected duty to ensure an enjoyable holiday. Probably not the best ship for young people or children but caters brilliantly for the more mature passenger looking for a well run, organised holiday with entertainment suited to the 50 plus age group. I highly recommend this ship for a leisurely relaxing holiday for the discerning traveller. It is a pity this ship is about to be decommissioned, a refit would be better. There are too few small cruise ships available for those people like me who dislike the current monsters requiring route maps to traverse.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 08 Jul 2014
Author: Ashok Chandra
Summary:  Excellent ship and very helpful staff, including the Captain. The entertainment was very good. Being a comparatively small ship we came to know other passengers well.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6
Date: 29 Jun 2014
Author: Callaghan
Summary:  Lovely cruise to the fjords. Friendly, helpful staff. Well run excursions. Plenty of entertainment, particularly enjoyed the exercise and tai chi sessions. We shall be back again!
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 27 Mar 2014
Author: Mike
Summary:  Ship is now over 40 years old and shows it. She does not ride well in rough seas and on our trip listed to port. Crew were first class as was the food. Would not suit young passengers as there is little to occupy them. Trips were very expensive as was any onboard medical treatment. The pools are 5 feet deep and too small to swim in - unless the seas are flat calm they are all but useless. Cabins were 'compact' and those numbered 7 had a view of the lifeboats! Evening shows were very good.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 20 Nov 2013
Author: Carol Reads Ale
Summary:  Great 22 night cruise September/October 2013. Super stops, good excursions, lovely food and company ,reasonable entertainment. Poor lectures, but very little time anyway due to packed itinerary. Captain did a great job, we sailed comfortably throughout. Our 3rd trip, hope it is not our last .Excellent value for money.
Ship: Discovery
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 24 Oct 2013
Author: D.young
Summary:  Had an excellent Baltic cruise with a very helpfull, friendly and hard working crew.
123>

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astor Columbus Marco Polo
Astoria Magellan

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... I would just like to thank you for your caring, professional and friendly attention to my partner's anxiety regarding our Christmas cruise on Ventura. I won't bore you with the details...but you made one hell of a difference.. thank you x  ”

R. T.
(November 2016)

Read more feedback