Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3600
We're Open

Costa Serena Reviews

A great range of Costa Serena reviews written by our customers. To write your own Costa Serena review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 4.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 64.5 out of 6 (from 20 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (6)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (8)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (1)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (4)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (1)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship

Latest Costa Serena Reviews

User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 23 Mar 2015
Author: Rafiq Alarakha
Summary:  WE HAD A WONDERFULL CRUISE ON COSTA SERENA the food was lovely and the crew was very very helpful. We would recommend our friend and relatives and yes Indian food was served in ship which came as a surprise from the crew members
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 22 Mar 2015
Author: Malcolm Mcguigan
Summary:  The ship was excellent but the service was less so. The only place that the service was good was at evening dinner. In other places at other times the service was generally poor. The prices of drinks and snacks is excessive and one is left with the feeling that Costa are out to take as much money from the passengers as possible. If you drink the only realistic way to make costs sensible is to take out the all inclusive option. The daily service charge is ok except that the service is poor and they then add 15% to everything that you buy. Also two days are lost if you board late and disembark early on the last day but you still pay the service charge. Boarding took place at 3 pm but rooms were not ready until 8 pm which if your flight was in the morning meant a whole day sitting about. Will never book a Costa cruise again because of these points. Ship great, what you would expect, but feeling of being ripped off lingers.
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 16 Mar 2015
Author: Ann
Summary:  I didn't have high expectations so wasn't disappointed with the ship. There was no welcome onboard but generally the ship is fine. The cabin was spacious as it was a disability cabin with a good hot shower room. The cruise was only 2/3rds full so not too crowded around the ship on a sea day, but would imagine it would be very busy when full. The staff were generally friendly but the service in general was basic as was the entertainment. The passengers were mainly Italian and got involved in the dancing, nightclub & activities. I have been on a few cruise lines which are much better than Costa. This cruise was OK but let down by the restaurant. The food quality was poor, of low quality. The desserts were generally angel whip type and afternoon tea had a very poor selection: one small cookie or a piece of sponge in 1 inch squares! The breakfast selection was good. The restaurant food was never served hot; it was always luke warm on a cold plate. It may taste a bit better if it was hot. The "extra charge" pizza restaurant served good hot pizzas. The bar service and drinks were good. The cruise was only chosen for the ports of call in the Gulf, which I really enjoyed. Try to pre book some tours eg local Omani Khasab fjord trip in a Dhow was 20 euros, 70 euros booked on the ship. I had a good holiday but Costa would never be my first choice.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 09 Mar 2015
Author: Marjory Burnett
Summary:  First time with Costa. Shows & food fine. Cabin was a really good size & great storage space for clothes. Better than any other staterooms we have been in. Only drawback was the long wait at the port in Dubai before we boarded (15.00) & did not get our room until 20.30. After an overnight flight landing in at 8.00am this was not a good start to the cruise. We would like to do the same cruise again but would fly a day earlier. Other than that had a great time.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 20 Feb 2015
Author: Alison Kinnen
Summary:  This is my second cruise with the Costa line, the first one was on the Fortuna. Most things on the Serena were up to the standard of the previous cruise, however I do have one small issue...having purchased the drinks package I found the serving of the wine especially at dinner very poor, there were no bottles in ice buckets and the waiters all had to queue up at a bar to be served individual glasses, which on some occasions took forever. This was not good service for the passenger and kept the waiters tied up waiting for drink. I was led to believe that this practice had been brought in two weeks prior to our departure, not a good move! Apart from that the whole experience on board was excellent and I would certainly use them again (and hope they've sorted out the wine issue!)
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 18 Feb 2015
Author: Elaine London
Summary:  Great cabin, clean and comfortable bed and well lit, however it was noisy. 6371 is just off the main lobby area and the music from the bar below could be heard until about 1.30 am. Nice cabin staff. The rest of the ship? Really gaudy decor. Food OK, good in dining room and patchy in buffet. Downside, only food in dining room most nights, no buffet so some nights when in port late you had to eat on shore or go back early. Not sure why they couldn't put a buffet on most nights like other ships. Assume it's because they have pared costs to the bone. Drinks pricey, they are out to make as much from you on extras as they can. However, canny cruisers know how to avoid this. Main dining room staff excellent. Embarkation not until 3pm and cabins not ready until 8pm. However,I sneaked down to mine at five and it was nearly ready and my case was there so sneaked in. If you are on an overnight flight then I would suggest going a day early and getting a hotel which would make it less stressful. I had to hang around from ten am to three after not much sleep. Usual problem with crowded sun bathing areas and people reserving beds and never using them. Overall the ship was crowded most of the time. There did not seem to be any quiet space. Good shows in the evening. Overall I got a cheap deal and for what I paid it was great value. I would not choose to cruise costa (my second time with them) as they are cheap and cheerful, but knowing what I was letting myself in for it was OK.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 15 Feb 2015
Author: Ianbev
Summary:  Just returned from a 8 night cruise with Costa in Dubai, the ship was good and the staff great. The food was good, plenty of pasta and pizza. The afternoon tea was a bit of a let down and no evening buffet, meant that if you didnt like the evening menu you had to go and pay for the special restaurants or more pizza . Cruise ports were good and the weather was great , (30 degrees ) . We were not allowed onto the ship until 5.00 pm after arriving at Dubai at 7.30 am, this meant you had to hang around the port all day or go of into dubai to see the sights or go shopping. This was ok if you were prepared for it, if not it could be a long day. Would travel with them again, the time in the ports were good and the overall cruise was just what we wanted, winter sun. Make sure you get the all inclusive package as its worth every penny .
User Rating: 3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6
Date: 15 Feb 2015
Author: Lloyd Powell
Summary:  Was picked up from hotel at 11:30 stating ship was leaving at 5pm infact ship was not leaving until the next day. We were told due to other ships in port boarding will be after 3pm but you can't get into your cabin until 8pm so was told to go away and come back,if we had known that we could have had another day in Dubai. With regard to the ship food was either cold or they run out. Previous cruises we have been on had 24 hour pizza, ice cream all free on the Serena you had to pay for pizza if you wanted it late at night, there was no ice cream. Lady on our table ordered a bottle of wine when they gave her a taster the wine was off but would not change it because they had opened it. Went for the drink package 99 eu for 20 beers and worked out I got 2 free, big deal. As our clothes had been in cases for 2 days I asked for an iron but was told no due to health and safety,what about the hairdrier they supplied and my phone charger,so had to have clothes laundered at a cost. Where you havent to pay 12eu a day for the staff you do not get the personnel touch from individual staff,there not bothered if they serve you or not. On the plus side the ship was very clean and the entertainment was first class.Would I go again, not with Costa.
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 12 Feb 2015
Author: Emlyn Jones
Summary:  This was our first cruise. We were dismayed within the first 24 hours to hear English passengers saying "worst cruise ever" and worst "cruise line ever". As we had nothing to compare we feared the worst and were apprehensive. The reality, as we discovered, was that Costa Cruises and their staff could not have worked harder or tried harder to please. They gave the impression of being well trained, properly instructed and keen to give a service. They were fantastic, efficient, friendly and pleasant. There were some things that were not to our taste but absolutely nothing we could complain about. Cabin was kept spotless every day and was made up every day whilst we were at breakfast. The ship was constantly being cleaned and groomed by staff. The meals ranged from very good to excellent. Not all the food was to our taste but let's be realistic - we couldn't complain and the choices were more than adequate. The entertainment we thought was a bit second rate but with some good exceptions. I'm not sure that cruising is for me but would go again and certainly would use Costa Cruises. My wife is sure she wants to go again and wants to book the same cruise for next year. Thank you to Costa Cruises and their staff for making such constant and professional effort.
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 08 Feb 2015
Author: P Sullivan
Summary:  Four of us just back from a week cruising UAE, from Dubai. Our overnight flight got us into port early morning, but we weren't able to board ship til 3pm, so we got taxi to Atlantis Palm and paid to spend day on beach in Nasimi beach club. Couldn't get access to our onboard room til 8pm, which all in all with no sleep night before we found hard as everyone was exhausted and lots of people complaining as a result! Found embarkation a challenge, but disembarkation was slicker. Next time would def arrive day earlier to port and have one night in hotel before boarding ship. Ship was lovely, staff were generally pleasant. Onboard shopping and bars were good. Entertainment was aimed at their clientele of over 65's, so if you like ballroom dancing all good. Lots of Bavarian type music which was odd. Lunar bar was aimed at Italian clientele, so couldn't follow much of entertainment. Travelled with my parents who are over 75's who loved the Nightly shows. Food was great, evening dining we thought was very good. Ship was extremely clean and outside room was fine. Loved Dubai and Abu dhabi, lots to do and see. All in all would recommend for over 65s, but def not for teenagers!

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.

Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Just want to thank Alice for amazing service yesterday. Painless, efficient booking of my next cruise made it a real pleasure.

Regards ”

N Thomson
(September 2016)

Read more feedback