Good evening, we have expert advice,
cruise reviews & exclusive cruise deals
on the widest selection of cruises
online... about Iglu.
Search Site / Enter Cruise ID
Expert Advice and Booking
0203 848 3604
We're Open

Astor Reviews

A great range of Astor reviews written by our customers. To write your own Astor review click the link on the right.
Average rating: 5.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 65.5 out of 6 (from 7 reviews)

6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6     (3)

5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6     (4)

4 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 64 out of 6     (0)

3 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 63 out of 6     (0)

2 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 62 out of 6     (0)

1 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 61 out of 6     (0)

Search For Cruise Reviews

Cruise Line
Cruise Ship
Destination

Latest Astor Reviews

1
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 25 May 2016
Author: Stuart Farrell
Summary:  Travelled from Sydney to embark on the Astor for the return cruise southbound. I had a 46 day party meeting new friends including the friendly crew. It was such fun enjoying the tropical sun from our first port of call Madeira. Perfect cruise for anyone who loves good food, entertainment and fabulous destinations. Well done to all who sailed and next time will be on my to do list again .
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 11 Jun 2015
Author: Robert
Summary:  This was our fourth cruise with CMV but first on Astor. We thoroughly enjoyed the British Isles Discovery cruise. The ship was spotless, the staff and crew all friendly and helpful. The meals were excellent and the organisation very good. The evening enterainment (as with all CMV cruises) was brilliant. The Cruise Director (Toby) and his team worked hard to make the whole holiday enjoyable. We preferred the slightly smaller size of Astor (we have previously been on Marco Polo and Discovery) and the layout was better. There were just sufficient announcements and the whole experience was very relaxing. We enjoyed the locations visited which included Isles of Mull and Skye and especially liked the Isles of Scilly (helped by brilliant weather). Dublin was good (we used the Hop Oh Hop Off City Tour Bus) and a visit to the Guinness factory is recommended (it's one of the HOHO stops). The last port of call was Honfleur in France which was fascinating and very picturesque. We have enjoyed all our CMV cruises and those to Norway on Marco Polo were the best because of the stunning locations, but Astor is a superb ship and this plus the friendly crew made this cruise particularly memorable for us. We would recommend CMV and Astor in particular.
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 12 Aug 2014
Author: Tracy Quinn
Summary:  We were so happy to hear that Astor had been contracted to do three seasons departing from Fremantle, we have done two cruises the first season and have another two for the up and coming 2014/2015 season . We can't say enough about this ship, the staff are so lovely and I have become great friends with quite a few. The food is amazing and always lots to do or just relax. If there were any concerns they were addressed immediately, nothing was ever too hard. We love the idea of the smaller ship, you don't get lost in the crowd and you are always made to feel like a VIP. I just hope that CMV stay longer than 3 years :-)
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 25 Apr 2014
Author: Lesley Emelia Green
Summary:  After having travelled on 35 ships, both cargo and passenger, very upmarket and middle range, I am more than impressed with Astor. The cabins, service, cleanliness, attention to detail and some of the most obliging and friendly staff I have ever encountered on a ship. Must not forget the amazing food and entertainment, and with two pools (one inside and one outside), I was in my element - I cannot rate this ship highly enough. An amazing hairdresser onboard, hope she is still on for my next trip. It is also a big bonus that one can exercise in the Wellness Centre pool without having to pay, and oh, they have these amazing warm beds to lay on after coming out of the pool. I travelled recently Fremantle to Capetown and enjoyed every minute of my time onboard and certainly wished I was going on to Harwich. I will certainly be doing another line voyage with Astor. Thank you to the team who made my journey one of the most amazing I have ever had.
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 13 Apr 2014
Author: Mark
Summary:  I was prompted to write this review after seeing a couple of negative ones. We were a group of 10 that went on the Astor in March 2014 for a 3 night cruise to nowhere (Busselton). My Comments: Boarding was very smooth and quick. Took about 20 minutes from arrival at terminal to cabin. Cabin: outside twin, very comfortable and very very clean. Meals: overall would rate 4 out of 5. Good food and service, with a great wine list including western Australian wines. The ship: is what I would call boutique – a small vessel with about 600 passengers when full. The public areas had a really nice feel and our favourite spot was the Captains Club bar. Having been on a few P&O ships, by comparison this one was very very clean – the public toilets spotless as well. Entertainment: again very enjoyable, though the sound system was not balanced promptly on the 2nd night’s performance. Disembarkation: probably my main criticism was the queue to drop off your cabin key, confirm you have paid the bill and retrieve your passport/photo ID – this took about 30 – 40 minutes. Disabled access (wheelchair) – as with many ships of this style and age – I noted the corridors are not ideal (not wide) for wheelchairs, and the lift takes ages. Would I recommend to others? Yes
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 6 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 66 out of 6
Date: 29 Jan 2014
Author: Rosemary Bowler
Summary:  I with my sister went on a 5 night cruise on the Astor. What a gorgeous ship, absolutely fantastic. No problem with embarkation/disembarkation. Great crew, nothing too much trouble for them. Our accommodation was very comfy and roomy. Slept very well. Fantastic dining - meals etc just delicious and beautifully presented. Entertainment was great and the people are very talented with terrific singing. The drink prices weren't too bad for the ones I had. I do not like Esperance very much but we had the chance to meet up with two of our cousins who showed us around. Albany is my favourite country town and we had an enjoyable time doing some shopping and eating. I was very impressed with the control of health and safety onboard, and I always kept my hands sanitized and washed as well. We would love to travel on the Astor again, on a longer cruise. So hopefully this may occur again in early 2015. Many thanks for the wonderful time onboard.
Ship: Astor
User Rating: 5 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 65 out of 6
Date: 03 Jan 2014
Author: Terry
Summary:  My wife and I just completed the three night Astor New Years cruise, our first. I found it almost faultless. We booked late and enjoyed the comfort of cabin 408 (outside with window) on the Baltic Deck. The first night was very relaxed and prior to dinner we enjoyed a few drinks in the Captains Club lounge. The atmosphere was fantastic. This followed with a delicious meal in the Waldorf Restaurant. The choice and service was excellent. Following the meal we moved to the Astor lounge and enjoyed two to three hours of very professional and fun filled entertainment in a very relaxed atmosphere. This was the case for the three nights. Following the shows we ventured to the rear decks of the ship for party time. We were very impressed. The DJ's choice of music was fantastic. After the first night we found ourselves anchored just off Busselton in Geographe Bay. We found that there were many planned activities but also time to relax. The New Years Eve party which was held following the entertainment in the Astor lounge was brilliant. Once again the music was great which made the night a huge success. The atmosphere was incredible and allowing the staff to mingle with the passengers I thought was an excellent decision. This cruise has given me and my wife a taste and I plan to do more. Overall the food and the service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a most enjoyable trip.
1

All Other Cruise and Maritime Ships

Astoria Magellan Marco Polo
Columbus

Book with Confidence

We are ATOL Holders and members of ABTA for your financial protection.


Search Cruises
Your Shortlist

You do not currently have any cruises in your shortlist.

View Our Awards

View Our Awards

What our customers say

"... Just want to thank Alice for amazing service yesterday. Painless, efficient booking of my next cruise made it a real pleasure.

Regards ”

N Thomson
(September 2016)

Read more feedback